We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I'm in Soldotna on business and when I arrived, realized I hadn't booked a hotel. The chain I usually stay in was sold out and I found this B&B on Google. I called, they had rooms available and Steve, the owner, was so friendly and inviting on the phone. I checked in and the service was incredibly great. Ethan, who works here in the summer for the fishing season, showed me around and it really is so cozy and clean. It is right on the Kenai river, it is nice and quiet and Steve went out of his way to tell me about the history here and amenities, etc. There is WiFi, a great big living room with couches and fireplace, big kitchen, patio, back yard and continental breakfast in the mornings. Some rooms have private bathrooms and some have shared bathrooms. Make sure you specify your preference.

I'm so happy I stumbled across this B&B and will be staying here every time I come to Soldotna from now on!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleLisa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are so happy that you find our property inviting. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Just to let you and our other guests know, we offer a full breakfast served in our sunroom which directly overlooks the Kenai River from Memorial Day through Labor Day. This is typically considered our "main" season. We are; however, open year-round and therefore also provide a continental breakfast after Labor Day and before Memorial Day.

Thanks for writing such a nice review. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    13
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
54
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Summary: Stay here if you plan to fish, period.

It felt a lot like a remote fishing lodge, but right in the midst of prime fishing country with restaurants and stores nearby. Everyone at the lodge is very friendly and it was great fun swapping fishing stories with everyone we met. It's setup with some great common areas (indoor and outdoor) for visiting and relaxing after a long day fishing.

Pros:
- Has a great dock to fish from if the fish are running in the area (they were for us and we caught 14 in 2 days!)
- Very friendly staff that are there to help with any request, as strange as it may be.
- Will do special dietary requests for breakfast if you let them know ahead of time.
- Clean rooms, comfortable bed.
- Can process your fish right at the lodge (For a fee, but a nice service).


Cons:
- Bathrooms are across the hall from many of the rooms. They are very clean and there are plenty of them, but still are shared and across the hall which is a bit annoying.
- Would not recommend staying here if you're just looking to spend the night somewhere on the way to something else. It's a little pricey if you're not planning to fish. If you want to fish, however, it can't be beat!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnchorageTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Manager at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We just wanted to inform you and all of our guests that we do have rooms with private bath rooms if you prefer.

Thank you for taking to time to write a thorough review of our property/business.

We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you appreciate the ammenities and services that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Besides having our canoe,floatplane,driftboat,powerboat,halibut,and glacier trips go off successfully like clockwork,but the whole lodge ambiance was awesome! Steve,Monica and Bill saw to our every need. Our room was very comfortable and the food was exceptional! The Kings were shut off,but we were fotunately able to experience having one on! The real kicker was being able to continue to fish for sockeye on the lodges dock when we got back from our trips. My son Randy and I had the "Father-Son Trip of a lifetime"! This was due in most part to our hosts. An added feature of major convenience was having our fish processed and ready to ship right on site! The Kenai and surrounding rivers wre exciting to fish! We also saw a moose and calves on the back lawn, as well as other moose,black bears, a grizzly, humpback whales,sea lions,otters,eagles and many other various bird species for the complete outdoor experience! Randy and I have pictures that will last us a lifetime! I certainly hope to repeat this trip again in the future! What a beautiful and majestic state! Thank you all very much. Ron Grover

Room Tip: Get your sleep in before you get there.you won't want to go to bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rongrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are so glad that we met and exceeded your expectations. Sometimes our hard work pays off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a great experience with the Soldotna B&B. For folks from outside the region, it can be quite confusing to arrange a fishing trip, but Steve and Monika can help arrange local charters for a variety of lake, river and/or ocean adventures, for whatever type of fish you are interested in catching. Call them early (winter/spring) to figure out when to plan your trip for summer runs of Sockeye, King and Silver salmon. Guests can easily arrange to have their catch cleaned, filleted, vacuum packed, and boxed for shipping on site, as they have a large walk-in freezer.

The B&B itself is small, located right on the Kenai river, and has a dock where you can get some Sockeye action during a run. We also saw moose swimming in the river and in the yard behind the B&B. The rooms/decor are simple and fish-focused, but are also clean. Ours had a tv with cable as well, but we didn't use it. Breakfasts cooked by the owner and staff are excellent, especially the Eggs Benedict. At least some of the rooms, including ours, do not have a private bath, but there were several in the hall and we never had to wait to use one while we were there. The owners, Steve and Monika, as well as other staff (particularly Bill) were all very nice people to deal with. I would definitely return here for our next fishing adventure in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCR145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are so glad that you appreciated our efforts in organizing your package. We offer all kinds of custom packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Soldotna B&B Lodge. The room was very comfortable, the food was delicious, and it is located in a beautiful setting on the Kenai River. Steve and Monica were gracious hosts and very accommodating. My husband and grandson greatly enjoyed their fishing trips and found the guides to be first class. We're looking forward to eating the salmon! We highly recommend the lodge. Thank you Steve and Monica.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BooneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We think so too but it is great to see that you feel so as well. Take care, see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at the Soldotna B&B with my two children. We had a very nice room facing the Kenai river. 3 beds easily fit my family and the beds were very comfortable.

These rooms do not have a private bath though I understand some of the rooms do. There were multiple bathrooms just down the hall so this was never a problem. A separate shower room was literally right across the hall from me. We had some unseasonably warm weather for Alaska so the room got a bit toasty. Opening the windows let in a fair amount of noise early in the morning as people got off to fish.

The hosts Monika and Steven could not have been nicer. Anything you needed they were willing to help. We had really nice conversations with them and the other guests.

We did not use them to book fishing so I can't really comment on those services. Unfortunately king salmon fishing was heavily restricted by the state so many people didn't have much luck. But there are plenty of things to do in Soldotna and the B&B is pretty much in the heart of it all.

I'd stay here again if I returned to the area

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!!

FYI, we do also have rooms with private baths. However, the rooms with shared baths are also very popular because of the way everything is layed out. The shared baths are separate and individual and there are enough of them that there are no "queues". Also, every guest room with a shared bath does have a sink in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our recent stay was wonderful. Everything was taken care of for us. Monika and Steve went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. We stayed for 5 nights and fished 4 days. The guides we were provided were professional and very knowledgeable about the areas we fished and where to find fish. The accomodations although somewhat dated were clean and well kept and I would not hesitate to stay with them again. The setting on the Kenai river could not have been better. Centrally located in the town of Soldotna it was easy to get to everything we needed. The meals provided were good and hearty. Thank you Monika and Steve! We will be back.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in had a private bath, but no balcony. I would have given up the bathroom for a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are very particular about which guides we employ and that tends to show.

We also strive to provide a high level of service and high quality of service in everything we do.

Fortunately, sometimes the results speak for themselves.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
7.8 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
4.1 mi away
Caribou Crossing Cabins
Caribou Crossing Cabins
#8 of 41 in Soldotna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing