We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We spent several nights at the Alaska Fishing Lodge/Soldotna B&B with our family of four.
The Lodge was a perfect place for us, because it accommodated all our different needs.
We had a nice room overlooking the Kenai River.
Some family members wanted to go fishing with what turned out to a great trip with great guides.
Some wanted to go sightseeing and others relaxed at a nearby Spa.
Monika, Steve and Bill are great hosts. The guest room was comfortable and the common areas including a large living room overlooking the river and the large directly on the river were very nice.
They also have two large aluminium docks for river access.
We highly recommedn the Alaska FIshing Lodge/ Soldotna B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you very much for all the positive feedback! We really do care about what we do and try very hard to meet or exceed every guest's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the B&B for a week in September focusing on Silver Salmon fishing. The owners of this beautiful place offered a perfect service for us fishermen by organizing everything. A delicious 4 am breakfast, guide pick-up on the dock of the lodge, fishing gear, fish cleaning, filleting, vack-packing and sending home our fish.
The B&B itself is located directly on the river and offers very good bank-fishing possibilities with the appropriate "Alaska-nature-feeling". On the other hand it is in walking distance to the amenities of Soldotna.
The rooms are very clean and the whole lodge has a charming, home-like atmosphere. I did not miss the private bath, but others may. I therefore only gave 4/5 points on the room rating.

Room Tip: Try to get a riverfront room. The view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sockeye404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you very much for writing a review. We appreciate the feedback. We care very much about our guests and want them all to enjoy the bounty of Alaska. Certainly part of that experience is enjoying the comfort, convenience and beauty of our lodge. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed in Soldotna in order to take a flight-seeing fishing/bear-watching combo (don't do it - see my review of High Adventure Air), so we wanted a place that was not too expensive but looked nice. This place fit the bill. We got a very nice room with three beds (good, since we are four people) with a lovely view of the Kenai River. The place was nicely furnished and comfortable. There were no private baths in the rooms (something I was not expecting!) but the public bathrooms were clean and in any event we didn't see any other guests, so it was like we had the place to ourselves. I highly recommend it if you are comfortable sharing a bathroom. I must clarify that Soldotna B&B did not organize our flight-seeing trip, and I wish we had used them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Although we do have rooms with shared baths and private baths, this guest did not request a room with private bath. We recommend to all potential guests that if they require or prefer a room with private bath that they request it. We also have the policy that if a guest is unhappy with their room for any reason, we will either move them to one of our rooms that better meets their needs or we will offer/provide them alternative, comparable lodging at another property on the river. This of course presumes that the guest informs us during their stay that they are unsatisfied with their room. Otherwise how would we know?

As is born out by many of the reviews, most guests readily accept and enjoy the rooms with shared baths once they see how they are designed and located. There are never any "lines" and there are NO stalls. The restrooms and shower rooms designated for those rooms with shared baths are all "private" in the sense that they are only occupied by one individual guest at a time. Shower rooms and restrooms are separate so that guests showering do not prevent other guests from using the restrooms and vice versa.

For all of the guestrooms with shared baths, the restrooms and showers are directly adjacent to the guestrooms not on a different floor or a mile down the hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My son and I stayed at the B&B for a week in August 2011 for a fishing trip. We found the B&B to be clean and with good food. Steve and Monika who are the owners run a great place. I found the B&B on Trip Advisor and decided to stay there since it was highly rated. I now understand why. I prefer to stay in this type setting if possible (B&B). I found the setting to be very comfortable and a nice place to return to after a day of fishing. Everyone was hospitable. The fishing guides that were arranged we all good and we brought back close to 150 pounds of fish that we caught.
All in all, this is a great choice for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srbrundage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Well, we are glad at least someone thinks we are "Good People". No just kidding folks, we love making peoples' "dreams come true". As the reviews bare out, most of the time, we succeed! Thanks for all the fun and encouragement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We loved our stay at the cozy Soldotna B and B. We also booked a fishing guide who was very good, sorry cannot remember his name. they had all the gear we needed to fix up this city slicker for a great day on the river. The wife enjoyed the trip as well. Saw fish, moose, and caught many fish. We had catch and release, but still had a great time. It was nice saving the fish for the future.... the guide was knowledgeable, and new the river well. We even saw a bald eagle, and other flora and fauna. We would recommend this b and b to anyone.....the food, was great, with a nice German European flavor. It was a nice easy to reach site, and even stayed a second night. We found a coupon in the Kenai Passport which tipped us off to the place, and received a discount, which was nice as well.

Room Tip: Check local guides, booklets like the Kenai Passport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charleshaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

We appreciate all feedback - positive and negative. Of course, positive is always nicer!

Our German Linzertorte and Swiss Muesli are very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Monika and Steve are GREAT hosts. They took care of all the details, allowed us to make some changes to our schedule while there, and did it all in a very professional manner. My wife and I were there for the "Fisherman's Fantasy" six-day fishing package and it GREATLY EXCEEDED our expectations. We came away with an amazing 330 lbs of fish fillets! More importantly, we had a wonderful time fishing, enjoying the lodge, and soaking up the beautiful Alaska scenery. I'd recommend this trip to anyone serious about fishing!!!

Room Tip: We had a great room on the lower floor with a balcony overlooking the Kenai River. Wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

Repeat business is the ultimate complement.

We have a high level of repeat business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Spent time at the lodge with two daughters (14 &16) and son (10 along with wife. Kids first time to Alaska. They loved the lodge, the fishing and all the help they got from Steve, Monika, and Bill at the lodge. Fished the Kasilof, Halibut and did the fly out to Wolverine creek where they caught reds and saw bears.

Kids asked when we can go back. Lodge is clean, breakfast was great and fishing in front of lodge at night was great

Thank you to Steve & Monika, Bill and all the great helpers at the B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatFamCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

We are also family friendly!

We have infants to 90 year old guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Escape For Two
Escape For Two
#2 of 12 in Soldotna
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
4.8 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range: $169 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing