We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We opted for an all inclusive package-all of our six trips in the package we chose were great and we had no problem whatsoever in meeting up with our guides each day. There was always an "activity sheet" for all the guests posted the night before with all the info needed for the next day.
Breakfast each morning was excellent, the lunches that were packed for us each day were perfect.
The lodge was very clean, the rooms were great, and Steve and Monika and staff could not have been any nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leophipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words. So glad you guys had a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

We love to make our guests dreams come true or even exceed them.

Take care, Steve and Monika, Proprietors
Soldotna B&B Lodge, Alaska Fishing Charters, K-Bay Charters
"A Bit-of-Bavaria" directly on the Kenai River providing Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

Our 1 week stay at the Soldotna B&B Fishing Lodge was the most awesome vaction I've ever had! THANK-YOU Steve and Monica! Also a tip of my cap to their staff! In a word, PERFECT! MAY god Bles you both and your daughters

Room Tip: The only view we had was of mountians, and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hookedinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words. So glad you guys had a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

We love to make our guests' dreams come true or hopefully even exceed them.

Take care, Steve and Monika, Proprietors
Soldotna B&B Lodge, Alaska Fishing Charters, K-Bay Charters
"A Bit-of-Bavaria" directly on the Kenai River providing Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The hospitality and service were excellent. Steve and Monika went the extra mile to make sure everything went smoothly for us. Our itinerary was very well organized - they provided breakfast for us each morning regardless of when we had to leave - even 4:30 one morning. They also provided our lunch to carry each morning, which for me was a special lunch with dietary constraints. Each evening they were available to vacuum pack and freeze our fish, no matter how late we returned. The rooms were very clean and well kept.
Steve and Monika are very friendly and interesting. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words. So glad you guys had a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

We love to make our guests' dreams come true or hopefully even exceed them.

Take care, Steve and Monika, Proprietors
Soldotna B&B Lodge, Alaska Fishing Charters, K-Bay Charters
"A Bit-of-Bavaria" directly on the Kenai River providing Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We were now for the second time in the best located B & B Lodge. The lodge is directly beside the Kenai River, which is famous for its huge king salmon and its strong Red Salmon Runs. The owner Monika and Steve Anderson are great hosts and they meet each desire. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with television, etc.. The breakfast is extensive and offers a daily variety, for e.g. French Toast, Pan Cake with fruits or Egg Benedict, etc.. Monika and Steve are glad to give tips and help with the planning of trips (e.g. whale-watching, fly-outs, etc.). And they may do also the bookings, if desired.
In the lodge are all amenities for the guests available, such as Barbecue grill, rain clothes, vacuum devices, etc.. Generally the processing of caught fish is very good organized and after filleting, vacuum packing, etc., the fish will be frozen in the cold storage room and specially packaged in Styrofoam boxes for the transportation or shipping.
The entire service around the fishing is organized very well, and just as Steve provides insider tips (e.g. for trout fishing, etc.) for example, you can also get permits and book guided tours (such as a boat tour with "Swiftwater Bill", highly recommended) organized and booked directly in the lodge (fishing tackle is available on the boat and in the Lodge, if required).
Very good is also the accessibility to the banks of the Kenai by the stairs and a walkway, where new platforms were added. This is very helpful, especially when in the summer the (very productive) fishing for Sockeyes starts.
Noteworthy is also the location in Soldotna, where you really can get everything what you want or need. For fishing tackle, I can mention here the Trustworthy Hardware Store. In the positive sense of rustic, but with a good, rich assortment at good prices.
I can also highly recommend fishing from Homer. The boat tours can be booked in the lodge (ask for "Mike Mann´s", highly recommended) and ensure a great fishing experience. We have this year booked a "triple" for example, i.e. Black Rockfish, halibut and king salmon on one tour. On these tours everyone will catch his fish and especially for the fishing for Rockfish and halibut success is guaranteed. This year we have even seen humpback whales, otters and other animals on this boat tour. At this point I have to mention the many elks and other wildlife (very many bald eagles), we have seen during the vacations. Among other experiences we had a cow moose with two calves directly at the lodge (about 1-2 meters from the house) "as guests".
Finally I can say that it was a thoroughly successful vacation and I would like to come back to the B & B Lodge as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheggi_Deutschland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words. So glad you guys had a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

We love to make our guests' dreams come true or hopefully even exceed them.

Take care, Steve and Monika, Proprietors
Soldotna B&B Lodge, Alaska Fishing Charters, K-Bay Charters
"A Bit-of-Bavaria" directly on the Kenai River providing Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The stay at the lodge was wonderful! The staff went out of their way. (above & beyond )
to make our stay fantastic!! The fishing charter guides were friendly,helpful and they know where the fish are!!! We had the BEST time ever! To sum it up in one word,
"WOW"!! Reading a review is one thing, but being there is another!
So,If you are looking for that perfect Alaskan vacation, Contact Steve & Monika at the Soldotna B&B and let your adventure begin!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4094CHAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Charles (aka Chaz),

So glad that you two had a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

We love to make our guests dreams come true or even exceed them. We hope that we did in your case.

Take care, Steve and Monika, Proprietors
Soldotna B&B Lodge, Alaska Fishing Charters, K-Bay Charters
"A Bit-of-Bavaria" directly on the Kenai River providing Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

For my Son's graduation present from college, I purchased the Father/Son fishing package from the Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge. The package included a week's stay at the lodge, and a guided trip on each day. My Son and I are both avid fishermen, and we had always dreamed of fishing in Alaska. Needless to say, we had very high expectations. Our stay at the lodge, as well as the fishing and sightseeing, ended up being exactly what we had hoped for. The owners Steve and Monica set us up with top notch guides and made us feel at home. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SportsAfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I went to the Soldotna B&B Lodge with my father and son to do some fishing. Steve helped arrange all of our fishing excursions. The silver salmon fishing excersion to Wolverine Creek with High Adventure Air was outstanding. We caught our limit. Fish were about 12 pounds each. We saw many bear there. Don't miss this trip! We went on 4 excursions and took one day off. The excursion yielded many fish. We took back 220 pounds of fish filets. On our off day, we stayed at the lodge and fished off the dock where we caught Sockeye salmon. This was as much fun as an excursion. We stayed in a room with three single beds. There was a bathroom and a shower across the hall. It was very workable and not as inconvienent as I thought it would be. A hot breakfast was served every morning. The food was very good (except if you go on an excursion you will get a 6 inch Subway sandwich). There is a great restaurant down the street called Buckets. It is casual and has sports on the TVs. Go there and have the fried Halibut which is outstanding! We ate there three times and had the same thing every time. Steve was available at all times to answer questions and help with any needs we had. We definitely would stay there again.

By the way, they are all fluent in German at the lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlbrunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Escape For Two
Escape For Two
#2 of 12 in Soldotna
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
4.8 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range: $169 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing