We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a "One Stop Lodge"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenai Riverbend Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As told in other reviews, you can stay in the new lodge (about 200 yards from boat ramp check in lodge). What's good about the lodge if you stay there vs cabins is you walk downstairs to breakfast in the morning, or coffee anytime. Drawback is the rooms facing the fire pit. At night, some guest sit around the fire late and you can hear them. Don't miss the fire pit. This is Alaska so if you see people at the fire pit - join them. If there are 3-5 of you, then get one of the cabins. The cabins have their own deck, BBQ,Freezer, mini kitchen (microwave, refer, sink, coffee maker). 1st floor has separate bedroom, small open area with table, couch, tv and bathroom/shower; 4 single beds upstairs. They come thru each day and clean/make beds. Donnie and his family (including grandma & kids) run a great lodge. You can get your fishing license from him; he'll set up a Halibut charter; arrange with river guides to take you out from the cabin/lodge (everything is "on" the river) for fishing on the Kenia for Salmon. If you know the river and how to operate boat, you can rent one of his rental boats. If you take a Taxi from the Kenai Airport it's about a $20-30 ride. He also has great deck area with fish cleaning table. He has wood paths between lodge & cabins so its easy walking from parking area and lodge (for breakfast). Ask him and for a few extra dollars he may fix you a bag lunch to take out the next day for fishing. Plan in advance. He fills up fast - a testament to how great a facility they have.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Excellent communication via email. Very upfront and fair. No games.
Very clean accomodations. Shower with good hot water and good pressure.
Stayed in Trophy Lodge.
Good continental breakfast (Pure Premium Tropicana OJ!, high quality jelly/jams, 20 different kinds of fresh cereals, good coffee with togo cups available)
Excellent fishing guide, we fared better and sometimes way better than the other boats we saw.
We started promptly at the time scheduled. We were fishing just a few minutes after getting into the water, centrally located to many fishing spots on the river.
Equipment was in excellent condition with fresh bait and any issues were attended to immediately and professionally.
Good propane grills available.
Fish handling was great, and the fish tastes amazing/fresh.

Overall A+. Highly recommend.

Don't know if I'll ever be in Alaska again but if I do, would definitely want to come back here.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank revengeofaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I read all the reviews listed below and I have to say my experience was not the same.I stayed at the old lodge so,maybe thats why me and my friend had a bad experience. I have to say it was our second time at River Bend. The first trip was above average but the fishing was epic. I think the fishing over shadowed the bad things. This years trip was a bust. The fishing was average ( nobody's fault) but the service was poor. It seemed if the people at River Bend could not provide the service and earn the money it would not be suggested. Furthermore, it seemed you had to drag information out of the staff. The old lodge is very rustic and nothing is free not even coffee or ice. Even motel 6 gives people free coffee ice. For the money river bend is just a hub that can book you charter or guided trips, with some time and a computer most people could book the trips they offer themselves. Furthermore, if the fish are not in or the river is closed there are nicer hotels for the same money in town. The oid lodge offers no food so all meals have to be eaten in town anyway. I would not recommend this lodge to anybody.

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge the old lodge is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Five of us stayed in one the cabins near the river and it was perfect. Rustic for sure, but great for a fishing trip. The beds were nice, everything worked properly, the breakfast served in the morning was "help yourself" and all you can eat. The staff at the lodge was the best part. We were treated like family and they did everything in their power to make sure our trip was comfortable, hassle free and enjoyable. Bent over backwards really. Thanks to Dohn for all his help and especially to mama for packing our fish! Not fancy at all and doesn't have everything, but the people made the difference. We used a guide, Kyle, who had a great relation with the lodge and we caught a lot of fish and had a whole lot of fun! The boats at the lodge looked great, new and were well maintained. I would certainly go back to Riverbend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huskerdood85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My brother and I stayed with Kenai Riverbend Resort again this year. This was our 4th trip. That alone should tell you that this is a special place. There are many options for places to stay and people to fish with on the Kenai Peninsula. The owners and staff at Kenai Riverbend Resort are determined to make your trip the best ever. When things go wrong - especially weather changes that affect your ability to fish, they go overboard to make things right. They are constantly managing the guests and their charters so that if something is missed due to weather, the guest has another option to consider. The cabins are comfortable and being right on the river is great. We love watching the people out fishing even we we are done for the day. The guides, whether for salmon or halibut are top-notch. You are treated like a VIP and it's a rare day that limits are not met. If they are not, it certainly won't be because the guide didn't try every trick they know. This year we did a fly-out trip with Talon Air that KRR set up for us. I highly recommend this trip - the other side of the Cook Inlet is a special place to visit and the fishing is awesome. We are already scheming about when we will visit Alaska in 2012. We know where we will be staying though -- Kenai Riverbend Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandraFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My son and I have been planning an Alaskan fishing trip for many years to celebrate his 21st birthday. As a result, we had a lot of time to research and plan. Our budget was somewhat limited and we wanted to make sure we went to a place that was serious about their fishing and provided a personalized experience versus a cattle car approach or charters only seeking a paycheck. We wanted to be on guided trips with as few people on the boats as possible and provided by guides who knew their stuff and who took you to the places for the highest probability of big fish (regardless if you caught them) as opposed to those where you could fill limits quickly on runts. We also did not care about a gourmet food extravaganza, there are any number of nice places to eat in the area (don't be surprised that everything is more expensive, it is, but consistently so across everything). Kenai Riverbend Resort is all of that and more. From the moment you get there you feel like one of the family. Everyone knows your name and not just the first day you arrive. The accomodations are outstanding, very clean and modern with a true lodge or Alaskan wilderness feel to them. Log cabins for larger parties and the log cabin style lodge for groups of two, all done in the same style and decoration. There is a big common room in the lodge for breakfast and socializing that has huge heavy beam and lacquered picnic tables. There is an outside fire pit for the evening as well. The pictures in the brochure are very representative of all the lodging and facilities, in fact, I don't think they fully capture how cool this place is. The lodge and cabins are all hooked together with elevated walkways to protect the plant life and to keep you clean. The setting is steps from the Kenai River (which is all private beach for use by the people staying there) and both tranquil and beautiful, which is particularly refreshing given Soldotna and Kenai are only 5 miles away in either direction and bustling towns with all the things you could want (and sought to get away from when you decided to come to Alaska). Staying in town would feel just like that, like staying in any other town anywhere else in the US. The resort is an oasis. The front office staff are super and personable, catering to whatever needs you have as best as humanly possible. The reds were running when we got there and we had brought our own reels. They gave us very nice poles, waders that did not leak, and a net to use throughout our stay without charge. They even let us refill our reels with fresh line for nothing so it would be more appropriate to the fishing we were doing. They provided us with answers to any question on techniques and lures we could dream up. The guides on our trips were all very knowledgeable and true fishermen in their own rights. The river boats had only 4 people on them and the saltwater trips had 6, plenty of room and not crowded at all. All the equipment and boats were top flight, safe and well maintained. The continental breakfast every morning was more than adequate and a welcome convenience when you had an early start. Coffee was available 24 hours and shared refrigerators were available in the lodge (it looked like each cabin had there own freezer on the porch to store fish?). Rooms were made up everyday by an attentive staff. The boys processing fish even knew our names and where we had fished that day when we dropped off our catch! They did a great job and when we left they boxed up our fish in very nice boxes and insulated liners that the airlines accepted as checked bags without any question. Everything was still rock hard frozen when we got home. One thing that is really nice and appreciated (and something to seriously keep in mind when you book charters with a limited schedule) is that by staying with them they will do everything possible to make sure you get to take your trips. For example, in our case, one of our saltwater trips was cancelled twice due to weather/wind. Given how tight the scheduling is and the limited capacity, you may not be able to get rescheduled with them or anyone else. Riverbend plans in a free day routinely to help accomodate rescheduling. Since we used up our free day on one of the reshedules that was also subsequently cancelled we were pretty disappointed that it appeared we could not get that trip in. This was particularly frustrating for us since those were one of the primary reasons we went to Alaska. Well, Riverbend to the rescue! They got us on one of there guided trips and we exchanged another of our river trips for that one. While we did ultimately not get to go on one of our fishing trips (they adjusted our bill accordingly and fairly), we did get to do all the saltwater trips we really wanted to take. If we had not been staying with them, I doubt this could have happened with anyone else, particularly if you were booking all your own trips independently. We were very appreciative of their desire and efforts to make our trip all that we had hoped, it truly was the extra mile and something only guests of there resort would have any chance of benefiting from. Certainly, there may be circumstances where they can not make it all work out, but I am convinced that will not be from a lack of trying or desire to do so. What more can you ask for! Bottom line, if you want to fish the Kenai area, including Cook Inlet and even Seward (a bit of a drive, but worth the time to fish with their guides), then book with Kenai Riverbend Resort. We loved it, it was all that we expected and more, the price was fair, and we are going back again with a larger party of friends. They really want repeat business (evidenced by many of the people we met there that have been coming back for years) and they got ours. You can stop looking, these are the guys you want to book with, the real deal. Thanks again Riverbend, we'll be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We bought a cheap styrofoam cooler for our room, turns out there was a stack of them there you can u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steepanddeep4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My dad, brother and myself had the best fishing experience of our lives! I'm from NJ and my dad and brother are from Atlanta and Kenai Riverbend treated us likes kings. The cabins are very rustic, as it should be, but very clean. The tv had 3 channels with rabbit ears (which was hilarious) but we came there to fish. We went out on the chartered boats and had the best experience with Brad. If you go there, please request Brad for your captain! His services can be described as Waldorf Astoria of the sea. My dad even caught a 100 lb halibut! Take it from me, best fishing and accommodations in Alaska!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cbod99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.0 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Riverbend Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Riverbend Resort

Address: Soldotna, AK 99669
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Kenai Riverbend Hotel Soldotna
Kenai Riverbend Resort Alaska/Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing