We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Fish Camp”
Review of Alaska Funny Moose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Funny Moose
Troy, OH
1 review
“A Great Fish Camp”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We just got back from a weeks stay at the Funny Moose Lodge. What a great time! The weather, company, fishing and lodging were all fantastic! George and Jim do a fantastic job running their camp and in doing so, create a great stay for everyone! I would recommend this trip to anyone. Keep in mind, you're here to fish. If you want luxury and pampering this place is not for you. Hell, if thats what you want, stay in your hotel room or on your cruise ship because Alaska is not for you. Alaska to me, is pure raw beauty. The cabins aren't much, but they are a perfect simple fit for an alaskan experience. Everything is clean and well prepared for your arrival. The guides and companies that the funny moose lodge works with are great! As long as you are considerate of others during your stay, you'll get along with everyone and have a great time!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt32gray32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
16
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alachua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was our 4th trip to the Funny Moose cabins. We have been just as a couple, with friends and with family. The cabins are clean, comfortable and convenient to all the planned activities. This trip we were given a newly built cabin with improved decor, games for families and friends and top quality cook and dinnerware. As for the activities, we highly recommend the Kenai Fijords tour and the Fly out Bear Viewing and Salmon Fishing trip. These were two of our favorites! The guides on all fishing trips were personable and professionable leading to lots of catching!! The Halibut and King Salmon fishing were second to none. For the traveler wanting a real taste of Alaska and not wanting to break the bank, we highly recommend George Stek and his crew at Funny Moose Lodge!!

Lisa and Stephen Weaver
Alachua, FL

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spwpmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We just returned home from Funny Moose Lodge. We had the trip of a lifetime. The cabins are very plain but were clean. George and Jim are great. The guides that they set us up with were all wonderful. We did four salmon charters, a halibut charter and did a fly-out. We loved every minute of our trip. We were there to fish...not have a luxery lodge. It is very hard core fishing everyday. We were very tired most days, but couldn't wait for the next day. I can't praise George and Jim enough and the guides that they set us up with. We would go back tomorrow ! Lou next door helped us with our fish and was a great guy to talk to also. Sherry Smith and Heath Smith

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahooqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Our stay at the Funny Moose Lodge was exactly what we expected. Truly a trip of my life time! It had always been my father's dream to go to Alaska and fish for salmon and halibut. So I brought my 72 year old dad and three friends to George's spot on the Kenai River. Upon our arrival we were met by ‘Jim', the lodge's concierge of sorts. He went through the details of how the camp worked, instructed us on the Alaskan fishing rules, and about the local bears. He had us fishing on the river about 30 minute after our arrival. He was tremendously friendly, funny, and informative. If you needed something, he was there to make it happen.

Funny Moose Lodge is nicely situated 15 miles outside of Soldotna. The efficiency cabins are by no means luxury hotels rooms. They are designed for those desiring to come to enjoy the glories of Alaska without paying the high costs of staying in a ‘motel/hotel' environment. Our cabin slept my party of five very comfortably and its simple nature was truly part of our vacation experience. Most those staying at the lodge would mingle in the evenings and share the day's adventures. Everyone always had great things to say about the fishing and their experiences.

Our three guided fishing trips were absolutely great. For those coming those visiting for the first time, bear in mind that Alaska is a BIG place and great fishing is not always close by. Halibut charters can be a hour or two drive to get to and worth the drive.

I highly recommend the package deals that George and the people at Funny Moose Lodge provide to all those that enjoy adventure, friendly people, and a great vacation. I have added a few pics of our trip. My only regret is that we only discovered the great microbrewery in Soldotna on the last day of our tip!

Dr. Ralph A. Latimer - Oklahoma City

  • Liked — The price and the people
  • Disliked — No oven in kitchentte
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisionDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Our long awaited Alaskan fishing trip was horrible. My husband booked thetrip directly with George. He never told us that we were staying down the road at the Buddha Lodge, he never told us that all the fishing trips were a minimum of 20 miles away, or that the halibut trip was 100 miles away, and that we had to be in Homer from Soldotna at 6AM, or that all the travelling was up to us. We spent about 5 thousand dollars on the trip, and we caught one 12 pound king salmon. No on can guarantee fish, but George should have been more forthcoming about how the fishing is arranged and about the miles that need to be travelled each day. The only bright spot in the week was at the Budda Lodge. The owners were friendly and accomadating, the food was okay, not great, and the bag lunches for fishing days were horrible. As a vietnam veteran, which George also is, my husband trusted him to provide a good vacation for us, and he did not. He also told us that we could not rent an SUV, we ended up with a small car (which he also booked, probably with a cut from the rental agency. Then, we get out there, and everyone that rented their own vehicles had SUV's. What a disappointment. We will return to Alaska when we can afford it, but for sure we will steer clear of the Funny Moose Lodge and owner, George Stek.

  • Liked — friendly owners at the Buddha lodge
  • Disliked — long travel for fishing which is what we went for
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank catieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimDicken, Asistant to the Owner at Alaska Funny Moose, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
I am sorry that the people did not have a good time. As to the vehicle they rented, well you get what is available in Alaska. George has made arrangements with a rental agency to keep the costs down. He gets so many vehicle rentals per summer, and if you book late then you are stuck with what is left.
If you rent your own vehicle expect to pay around $100 a day or MORE. George gets vehicles for our customers at a rate of aroudn $350 to $400 a week. As you can see this is less than half what you would pay if you booked outside the lodge.
As for the driving, any lodge in Alaska on the Kenai is going to require some driving. ALL halibut trips are a minimum of 50 miles to either Deep Creek or 90 miles to Homer. The lodges are not in town but 15 miles out Funny River Road.
As for King Salmon Fishing - Well the river each year gets a migration of around 50,000 fish. That is easily seen when you look at the Alaska Department of Fish and Wildlife count for the last 15 years.
George is in the business of providing the cheapest most affordable trips. Not the most luxurious or the most convenient. Each year someone complains about the accommodations or the bookings. Each year more people return and enjoy Funny Moose Lodge.
The lodge is not for everyone. If you are expecting the Hilton do not come. This is a Fishing Camp. Plain and simple. If you are a fisherman you will understand what this means. We do not wake you up.. though if you ask me to I can arrange it.. but ONLY ASK ME, not George. We do not clean your cabin each day or do your laundry as part of your stay. $995 for 4 fishing trips and a cabin ON THE RIVER is less than most pay for 3 fishing trips in the Lower 48. So if you want the Hilton Funny Moose is not the place to go. If you want a friendly fishing camp come and see us.
As you see on this site, some love us, and some hate us. Now hopefully you will understand why the disparity in reviews.
Jim Dicken
AKA Gomer / Conceirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

My dad and I stayed at the Lodge at Funny Moose and had a fantastic first trip to Alaska. George really set us up with a great package. All of the excursions we went on where great and priced well. All we had to do was show up and fish!!!
Jim was great and always willing to give us advice and suggestions. Our favorite was Capt'n Lou! Capt'n Lou runs the main lodge where we stayed and absolutely knows his business.
We got the "meals included" package and no matter what time we got up (3am the first day), Lou was ready with a BIG breakfast and our daily itinerary.
If you want a place where you can have a massage and soak in a bath then this is NOT for you. If you want to fish, sleep and just relax then this is the place! No frills here, but worth every penny.
Thanks guys for a memorable trip. We will be back.

  • Liked — Fishing
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spacerbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprize,Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We just returned from our 3rd stay at the Funny moose. the fishing was great and George had all the trips with the gudes booked each day and goes over them on your arrival. This is not a 5 star hotel, but for the price it is the best deal in Alaska. As a bonus we got to view bears and wales and the fishing was great.

  • Liked — Fishing and Wildlife viewing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ebass773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
11.9 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Frenchy's Fishing Cabins
#11 of 12 in Sterling
4 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenai Magic Lodge
Kenai Magic Lodge
#5 of 12 in Sterling
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
A Cabin by the Pond
A Cabin by the Pond
#7 of 44 in Soldotna
41 reviews
11.7 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
11.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Funny Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Funny Moose

Property: Alaska Funny Moose
Address: Sara Street, Soldotna, AK 99669 (Formerly Funny Moose Lodge)
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Soldotna
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funny Moose Lodge is a lodge directly on the Kenai River. We have fishing right on the property and staff will clean and package your fish. There is a fee for vacuum packing your fish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Funny Moose Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Funny Moose Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing