We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair food, fair price”

Acapulco Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 62 Restaurants in Soldotna
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fair food, fair price”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Staff is friendly and food is ok for the area. It's not great Mexican cuisine, but will be filling and ok as far as flavor is concerned. They also serve pizza and burgers, so pretty much everyone in your group could find something to eat.

Ordered carnitas on soft tacos and had to send back as the meat was so over cooked it was like eating jerky. They had no problem with me sending back, the next ones were cooked correctly. hubby had pizza, said it was ok, third person had regular tacos and said they were ok too.
There aren't too many top restaurants in Alaska, not sure why but we live with it. I would eat there again after a long day of fishing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akbecky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad - not great”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a dinner here - chicken Fajita's - the chicken was almost nonexistent - considering the meal - the Fajita's, coke and chips was almost 26.00 - you would hope for some more chicken.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty mediocre, big portions”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Selected this Mexican restaurant based on reviews. If this is the best, the others must be pretty bad. Odd salsa made with canned tomatoes plus fresh chopped onions and cilantro. Had some type of off flavor. Big portions, got the carne asada tacos, too much for one person. Nothing special, no seasoning. Service was fast and attentive for the most part. Still can't get used to Alaska restaurant prices! Will choose another cuisine next time since Mexican is a disappointment in Soldotna.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NVing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ok Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Acapulco is a small little place in a strip mall. The chips and salsa were good, halibut fajitas were overcooked, seafood enchiladas were okay, and the pork carnitas were very good. The waitress was a little rude to my 8 year old daughter when she asked if we could have more chips at our table. That was not acceptable to me. If we crave Mexican again while in Soldotna, we will try out Don Jose's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachWanderer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food was great without needing to wait. The homemade fresh salsa is fantastic with the homemade chips.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acapulco Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Acapulco Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing