We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acapulco Mexican Restaurant

Acapulco Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 62 Restaurants in Soldotna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bishop,CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went for take out, when we got to lodge we couldn't believe how much and how good the food was. Better than several others.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mikie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Putnam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
211 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good Mexican cooking with some Alaskan seafood twists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We chose Acapulco Restaurant because we had a 2-for-1 coupon in the Northern Lights coupon book (which I recommend to anyone spending a few weeks in Alaska). The menu has several seafood twists on Mexican fare, and I had a nice plate of halibut, shrimp and mushrooms in chipotle sauce with rice and beans ($17.95). My wife had a 3-item combination platter of more conventional Mexican items ($15.95). I recall that several dishes on the menu featured crabmeat. It is an unassuming place in a corner of a strip mall -- nothing fancy, but the service was attentive and we enjoyed the food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Being from Texas, we were wondering about the quality of Alaskan Mexican food. We were pleasantly surprised. All of us enjoyed our meal (large portions) and the chips and hot sauce were great!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Americanised Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Huge portions, but the quality is lowered to compensate. They don't use the good white Mexican cheese, so all the items run together with that orange messy cheese. Solution, ask for cheese on the side. Chicken enchiladas were good, but the burro was just too mixed up with beans and cheese to really experience the beef. Salsa is okay, ask for some hot style, it is better. Service reminded me of Mexico, with them addressing us as "amigos". Very clean facility. Would go back and try something else.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4squaretires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great for take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Really tasty food and good size portions. The wait staff is always rushing around, but don't rush you during meal. I have gotten "take out" for meals and never been disappointed. The grilled chicken burrito is a favorite as are any of the seafood dishes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LAR63Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acapulco Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Acapulco Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing