We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mykel's

Mykel's
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Soldotna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mykel's serves lunch and dinner in a cozy, comfortable environment. The dinner menu features Alaskan seafood and choice steaks along with chicken, pork, pasta and rack of lamb entrees all with creative sauces. We have a full spectrum of appetizers, salads, desserts and a full bar. Lunches include 1/2 pound angus beef burgers, two daily homemade soups and great sandwiches and salads.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
234 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate here on our recent trip to the Soldotna area and the food was decent, but not great. We ordered prime rib and chicken. Both were cooked to our satisfaction, but didn't contain much flavor. I also received a burnt potato which I would have told our waitress if she would have come back to check on us. We didn't see her again until our meals were completed. She seemed very short with us and I was not impressed with her attitude. The food was also a little overpriced based on the quality and quantity of food. I don't think we will eat here in the future as we had better experiences at other locations in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    62
    33
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If this is the best in town....yikes....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Service was slower than death!! We made a reservation and were seated at 8:30 pm, didn't get so much as a drink.order taken until 8:45, didn't get our entrees until 10! And this may be partially because the waitress only came by our table every 20 or so minutes... The portions and food quality were very poor for the prices. Their "fresh veggies" with their entree was zucchini and squash...pretty sure from a bag... My daughter ordered home made Mac n cheese and it was like soup!! Literally a bowl of liquid with ziti noodles in it...sooo weird. Wasn't impressed overall with the quality of our steaks either. A lot of fat waste on them :(., overall if I had paid $75 instead of $189 for this dinner I would be rating this still so so...not great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ak_sarah_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lousy Customer Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I am staying at the hotel affiliated with this restaurant. I called to order a dessert to go. The person answering the phone told me she was too busy to tell me the chocolate desserts they have on the menu. I asked her to please name three chocolate desserts and I would choose one. She said they did not "carry out well". I repeated I was staying right above the restaurant. She named 2 desserts and I chose the chocolate brownie and asked for ice cream with it. Then she says "how long will it take you to pick it up?" I told her I would be there in less than 5 minutes. She did not thank me for my business, nothing. Just hung up the phone. I went in to pick up the dessert and no one greeted me. I stood there for a couple minutes before anyone acknowledge me. The dessert was excellent but the overall experience left a bad taste in my mouth!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roosterbluelips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This would be my second choice for dinner...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The menu and food were really good but the decor was a little worn out and shabby. The service was shorthanded even though the tables were not full. There is no ambiance at all, just decent dinner selections. If they did a good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint, this would be almost great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fifidudedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our first visit to Mykel's and the prime rib, fresh halibut and the rack of lamb were superb. It is pricy, but no different from other similar restaurants in Homer and Seward. Vegetables were served cold to slightly warm. Both house salad and Caesar salads were flavorful. The red wine in the specials was a 91 rated wine and definitely hit that mark. Disadvantages are restrooms in the basement.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mykel's also viewed

 

Been to Mykel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing