We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great atmosphere & service”
Review of Mykel's

Mykel's
Ranked #7 of 63 Restaurants in Soldotna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mykel's is one of the Kenai Peninsula's finest restaurants for lunch and dinner. Our dinner menu features fresh Alaskan seafood & choice steaks as well as chicken, pork, pasta and rack of lamb entrees. We also offer a full spectrum of appetizers, salads, desserts. Our lounge has a full bar complete with an amazing wine list and Alaskan tap beers. Lunches include 1/2 pound angus beef burgers, two daily homemade soups, hearty sandwiches and beautiful salads.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere & service”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was one of the few places in Alaska where they actually knew how to cook a medium-rare steak! I highly recommend this place

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IzNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    68
    34
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mykel's has great food, but unpredictable service.”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The food is great, the service- not so much. I went there four times in 10 days. I loved everything that I tried. I had one waitress two times who is excellent. The other two waitresses made me feel like I was a bother to them. If the food wasn't so good, I probably would not go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n0rthwesttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in Soldatna, Alaska - even in September after the tourist season.”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Four of us had a late lunch at Mykel's on a Wednesday post-tourist season afternoon. All of us had very tasty meals - ranging from a spinach dinner salad, to Smoked Chicken Pasta, Gorgonzola Cream Sauce to the beer battered fish and chips. The server was very cordial and prompt in serving the meals or filling any requests we made. Background Music and decor within the restaurant was appealing and tastefully appropriately Alaskan. As close as you'll come to fine dining in Soldatna, Alaska.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank One-of-phew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An Alaska Dining Adventure”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This restaurant was recommended by a Sodatna resident as the best in town. We ate there twice, arriving at about 6PM without a reservation. On both occasions there was a line waiting for a table when we left.

The strong point of this restaurant is the quality of the ingredients. The oysters, salmon, scallops, and halibut were outstanding. The way that the high quality ingredients are used is probably unique to Alaska. Where else would you find Walnut Crusted Salmon with Raspberry Beurre Blanc, for example? This will win no Michelin stars, but it is hearty and memorable.

The portions are huge. Many locals prefer to order and share a few appetizers.

The wine list is surprisingly good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A really good find”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Everything is in Alaskan sized porportions so I had appetizers -- all were phenomenal. The halibut tostada was a winner as well as the steamed clams. Nice atmosphere, great wait staff. Friendly, comfortable. I would go back here again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussellJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mykel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing