We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Cabin by the Pond
Nearby Hotels
Best Western King Salmon Motel(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Extended Stay Suites(Kenai)(Great Value!)
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soldotna Inn(Soldotna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
33
8
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
8
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitqueen bedstay there againkenai riverfishporchcabinwoodschapelfutonutensilsanchoragefirewoodequipment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 44 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The cabin was clean and well kept. The folks there are very friendly and take their time showing you around.

The area around the cabins makes you hesitate for a minute when you first arrive. Its rather barren and 'industrial' looking. However, the cabins themselves are arranged nicely with very attractive landscaping in the center of the cabins, including a pond.

They have two squirrels in the area that will allow you to hand feed them peanuts (provided with your cabin). My wife and daughter could have sat all day long feeding them. They also have daily visits by a mother moose and her calf. They come to drink at the pond. We sat and watched them for about 20 minutes.

You may want to request a cabin away from the runway. The only noise we heard was a few airplanes taking off around 6:00 a.m. in the morning.

If we get back to Soldotna we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are annual visitors to Alaska and had not ventured to this part of the state. While doing an internet search for lodging, we came upon A Cabin By The Pond...we are so glad we did! Everything you see on their website is true and beyond that! Amazing! Serene, clean, comfortable, and easily the most relaxing place we have ever stayed. We didn't want to leave. The kitchenette was well-stocked, resident squirrel Jerome was a joy, the campfire in the evening with marshmallows was ideal and the light rain on the roof as we slept lulled us to sleep. We will ALWAYS go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dream cabin. It is right next to the pond where the sound of the trickling water could be heard through our open window. But, any cabin would be wonderful!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OPGatorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Very easy to find per directions on website. Owner was welcoming and helpful.
The cabin was small but, very comfortable. A hot shower, warm and comfortable bed, stove, micro, refrig and TV.
We were able to see a returning moose playing in their pond a couple times and feed their squirrel! ( they even provided some peanuts in the cabin)
Very close to Soldotna. We loved it and will be back! What an amazing place!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yakimawinelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A Cabin By the Pond is an amazing experience. The owners have a wonderful special spirit about them. We stayed in the Peace Within cabin. It is gorgeous, clean and comfortable. The grounds are impeccable. The furnishings are authentic. You won't be disappointed staying in this place. It is a place to unwind and enjoy life.

Room Tip: All the cabins are beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane84647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Cabin by the Pond outside Soldotna, Alaska. We originally booked for one night, then kept adding another night, adding another night, adding another night, until we were afraid they might get sick of us. The owner and the caretakers are wonderful people who are very hospitable and welcoming. You will feel like you have a new home away from home. If you're flying into Anchorage and renting a car it is an easy drive down to Soldotna. We drove here from Michigan and feel that this was the highlight of our trip. There are so many things to see and do on the Kenai Peninsula, you could use this spot as your base and easily spend a day going down to Homer, another day to Seward, or just kick back and relax for as long as you want right at the cabin. They have a moose that comes into the circle of cabins and checks out the visitors, and a little squirrel, Jerome, that is great entertainment for the kids. WONDERFUL cabins!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Bunkhouse and the Peace cabins. The Bunkhouse has a queen bed and a set of bunks. The Peace cabin has a queen on the main floor and a loft with another queen. Their Lodge will sleep quite a few people also. All of the cabins have their own highlights with lots of special little gems in each one.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews