We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not a tourist, I live here”
Review of Don Jose

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Don Jose
Ranked #46 of 62 Restaurants in Soldotna
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm not a tourist, I live here”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Don Jose's has good quality Mexican food and really great fajitas. They let us split an order of fajitas because we just can't eat that much any more and one order is plenty for two to share. I only wish they would choose different salsa for the chips. It tastes like an old gym sock. The glacier margarita is good at the end of the day, too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Talonz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    15
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
596 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Served hot, good Mexican Food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I tried the seafood enchilladas. Served hot, tasted good and seafood was fresh. The restaurant throws you off a bit when you see they offer pizza. The mexican food is good. Service was very good and atmosphere is cute with booths and Mexican decor. Try it out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Starving Fisherman”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My son and I ate here after a long day of Halibut fishing. We were quite hungry! The combo Mexican / Italian atmosphere was festive. We ordered Mexican selections. The service was good as was the food. Portions prices seemed average for the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Drinks”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

it's your typical Mexican food, made well., service is excellent. We have been here a couple times on different trips it's good not great

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria MN USA
Level Contributor
324 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Another Mexican Restaurant...”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If this is the same one as in Homer (same owner), then it is better than the one in Homer. The food is good Mexican and is reasonably priced. I would say it is a little better than average, but nothing special. Good for the area!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing