We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Soldotna's best kept secret”
other travelers have booked this property
A Cabin by the Pond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Cabin by the Pond.
Dream Cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
A Cabin by the Pond.
Dream Cabin
Melba moose with two calfs laying on the lawn.
Joy cabin
Gratitude Cabin.
Gratitude Cabin
Dream Cabin
Chapel Lodge
Historic Log Lodge
Peace Within Cabin
Serenity Cabin
Serenity Cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Soldotna, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LightPack...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soldotna's best kept secret”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was perfect! The cabins were neat and clean, the host was wonderful and the price was right. Safe area away from water for the kids to run and play but not too far from the fishing spots. The property squirrel was a huge added bonus that the kids (and adults) enjoyed. Definitely coming back!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you so much for this amazing review! We loved having your beautiful family here and would LOVE to have you back in the future! Jerome the squirrel misses those cute kiddos, too! Thanks again for your business. We are so grateful and endlessly appreciative!

Best wishes,
Courtney Stanley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G
Monee, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Moose!”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We enjoyed our stay in the Dream Cabin very much! The grounds are very secluded for being so close to the conveniences of town, and the pond just outside our cabin was actually visited by a moose our first morning there! Hosts Eric and Courtney were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
We were so happy to have you both here and were elated to see Molly moose make an appearance. Thank you for choose to stay with us. We'd love to have you back if you're ever in our area again.

Best wishes,
Eric & Courtney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillhdgir...
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were only here for one night but sure wished we were staying longer. We loved our cabin and all of the little extra touches such as the owner lighting a candle and turning on the turtle light before we arrived and the two mason jars on candy. We were happily surprised to find a washer and dryer too. The boys loved all of the fish shaped pillows. And we had so much fun feeding Jeri the friendly squirrel those peanuts. Good wifi signal and flat screen tv. Property is clean and well maintained.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you so much again for this incredible feedback! We appreciate it so greatly, and were so happy to learn that your family enjoyed staying with us. Can't wait to have you back!

Best wishes,
Courtney & Eric Stanley, Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terps1973
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish we could stay longer”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful time in the Serenity Cabin and wish we could have stayed longer. With 2 of us taking a bear viewing flight with Natron Air, the other 3 family members had a bit of time to kill and we were thankful for a super early 11 am check IN. Paul and Millie were fantastic, friendly, and very welcoming. The cabin had all the needed items so we could cook our own dinner and breakfast (the Carrs/Safeway is just a short drive away) and just relax and enjoy the cabin in our last day in Alaska. We didn't see any moose on the property but did see a mom with 2 calves a short distance away towards the airport.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
261scook
Monroe, Oregon
1 review
“Home away from Home just fabulous!”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Host Paul and Millie AWESOME!!!! They made us feel right at home. Cabins were clean, peaceful, very comfy and priced reasonable. The community area perfect for each night we had the opportunity to sit around the campfire, meet other guest from around the world and share our Alaskan Adventure. I would also recommend if traveling in Alaska to go with the rental car agency ABC Motorhome RV and Cars very reasonable. It is about a half mile from the airport yet easy to walk to if flying in after hours. When we travel again to Alaska we most definitely will stay here! Thanks so much the happy travelers from Monroe, Oregon.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No scissors in the room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchemsak
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Caretakers are the best!”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the Log Lodge for two nights. The cabin has everything you need. The grounds were maintained very well and Millie and Paul, who are the caretakers for the summer, are very accommodating and caring. The rental cabins are in their own little piece of woods and we were hoping to get to see moose. We were not disappointed as we (twice) saw a mama moose and her two babies in the pond on the premises in the morning. These were two different sets of moose and what a beautiful setting to watch them. A special thanks to Millie who was so very caring when I needed to go to a doctor - she called around to see who was open and would take my insurance - that was going above and beyond and I really appreciated it. It was very nice to have a washer/dryer in your cabin.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The moose visiting the propery
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGirl...
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds!”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent 1 night in the Dream cabin. It was easy to book, clean and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. We arrived early afternoon and appreciated the beautiful setting to relax and enjoy an impromptu snack outside. The directions were good, we had no problem locating the cabin. Mille our host was very sweet and we enjoyed talking with her. Bed was comfy although cabin is quite small (there were only 2 of us). My only negative was there was a lot of noise in the area. The cabin's location is on a road with an excavating business and even through we were there on a Saturday it was in operation with heavy machinery & equipment noise that you could hear from the cabin. In addition, they are improving the road immediately adjacent to the cabins and it was also quite noisy. Lastly, there is a small airport close (which Mille said is no longer in use?) and we could frequently hear the small planes. The fire pit was great and the baby squirrels made the visit so much fun! We took videos on our phone of Rocky searching for nuts in our pockets and have shared many laughs with our friends at home with his crazy little antics. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the grounds truly are beautiful!!

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Thank you for the nice review. Am sorry for the construction noise. The Borough decided that this was the year to widen and improve the road-base for our road and in addition allowed the contractors to temporally set up their base of operations next to us. The good news, all the equipment, gravel, and noise will be gone in a few days leaving a very nice entry to A Cabin by the Pond. Thanks again, safe travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing