We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Bear Viewing, Fishing, and flight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talon Air Service

Talon Air Service
Ranked #4 of 27 Tours in Soldotna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Bear Viewing, Fishing, and flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our adventure with Talon Air. After taking off from Soldotna on a wet July day, we flew across the inlet and up the front of a glacier for a close view, skimming over the ice at what seemed like 50 feet up. From there we flew to a lake, landed, and met our guide Curt, who escorted us across the lake to the fishing area, where a small stream flowed into the lake. Bears were close by, feeding on salmon. We only got 30 minutes in the "hot zone" for fishing (reds, or sockeye) but caught our limits and had a great time.

This is a true once in a lifetime experience and I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank BrentwoodBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    9
    3
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
239 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Safe, Exciting, Bears, Caught Limit and Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Been there done that 2008-2011 years with grandchildren, sons, and family. Do not forget to bring your camera. The sockeye fishing is great and the bears always show off!! Don't worry you will be safe and in the boat with a experienced guide. It has been a high light of all of my grandsons as we reflect back on our experiences. Take the 8:00 AM flight and you will return by 2:00 PM The view is wonderful and the return flight across the glacier is breath taking. Recommend you go during the sockeye run and the creek is called Wolverine Creek at Big Lake. After you eat a sockeye you caught for lunch, you will not want one from the grocery anymore. Talon has great guides and equipment. This is not a fly by night operation. They have been dong this a long time.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank allenriverford28036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolaqueen
Level Contributor
385 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“One word....INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Kenai Peninsula was our favorite place in Ak to camp and fish. We took a flight from Soldotna across peninsula and transferred to an aluminum boat. Then to the place where salmon were running(sockeye). It wasn't long till the bears came out. One young male, One mom and her 3 cubs playing in water and fishing. When the bears fish, you don't. Don't want bears in your boat trying to eat your fish so you just watch the bears quietly in their own environment. The best experience. There were 4 ppl in our boat, 2 from big city and never touched a fishing pole. The guide had them catching fish before long and we all caught our limit for the day. Then came the best, the guide took Made the experience of a lifetime and I would tell anyone thinking about it....DO IT!! You won't regret it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nolaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
373 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good trip, but disappointed bear watching.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

While in Alaska we wanted to take a bear viewing excursion. After much research, primarily, with TripAdvisor, we booked with Talon Air. The amount of time, the itinerary, and cost fit us. The personnel was very helpful and answered my many questions before the trip. We flew an eight seater, for about 30-40 minutes, to an isolated lake to commence our bear excursion. On the way, we passed very low over a glacier which gave us a much better perspective of the extent of how far glaciers can go. The plane landed in the water, we transferred to four seater boats (with a guide) and motored around looking for bear. As people in Alaska tell you, "You can't schedule Mother Nature," so we only saw two black bears during the half-day trip. We also went salmon fishing from the boat, but only the experienced fisherman on the boat caught a few. The scenery was magnificent, but I would have liked to see more bears and maybe caught a salmon or two.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank W-Hartford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talon Air Service also viewed

 

Been to Talon Air Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing