We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear viewing at Wolverine Creek”
Review of High Adventure Air

High Adventure Air
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Avondale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bear viewing at Wolverine Creek”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

After reading reviews, we chose High Adventure and sure glad we did. The staff, pilot and guides were great, doing everything they could to make our experience the best. The flight to and from the area was great and my wife said worth the cost of the trip by itself. Then we get to the lake and take our boat ride to see the bears. What a day, talk about getting up close and personal with the bears. Watching them in their own habitat and feed on the salmon trying to get up Wolverine Creek was everything we hoped for. Well worth the cost which was much less than most of the other tours.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    6
    2
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great flyout trip”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Flyout trip over the AK range was awesome great time and a must do if you visit Soldotna. The guides, pilots and staff are second to none. Every person at High Adventure Air was concerned about us having an experience of a lifetime and that they did. We caught salmon, watched bears and were taken back at the sure beauty of the range. Do not pass this day trip up if your in Soldotna. Thanks to all who helped us have a great time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best trip ever”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had high hopes for this trip, and it completely surpassed our highest expectations. Spoke to Susan a few times while booking over the phone and email, and she couldn't have been more helpful/ friendly. Our pilot, Greg, took us over a glacier on the way out for amazing views. Our guide, Blake, was also great.Took care of everything we needed. We caught our limit of sockeye salmon and saw a large number of both black bears and grizzly bears, up close. Also many eagles, seals, etc. Blake was happy to take pictures for us and even brought us to a great waterfall on the way back to the plane. Highly recommend this trip, even to novice fishermen like us. A huge highlight of the trip. Great people to deal with.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank srlucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great guide, great trip!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

From the minute we stepped in the boat and met our guide Jeremy we knew we would have a good experience. Not only did we catch sockeye salmon and see black and brown bears but we were given choices on where to fish and great advice on how to be successful. Our teen boys loved Jeremy's personal stories and would like to meet his adventurous son. You could obviously tell that guest satisfaction was priority number one!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank skmd1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Total SCAM - Avaiod at all costs !!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Last year (sorry for the delay in posting this, but I wanted to warn folks for this year) we were in Soldotna fishing the Kenai river and had an extra day. Our host booked a fly-in trip to a mountain lake (the one shown on the web for the Sockeye location). So, we fly-in, motor over & get in a line" of boats (at least 15 others) to fish a 20'X20' square area at the base of a small stream on the far side of the lake where the fish congregate before making their way up the to spawn. Well, there we sat for 3 hours while each boat got their 15 minutes to fish...sitting, sitting, sitting trying to cast where the fish were spotted, but the guide would not move an each out of line. Once we got our turn, like the others in front of us, everyone's line got total tangled. DON’T use this service ! On top of everything, the guide and pilot wanted a tip – totally wacky.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank stbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Adventure Air also viewed

 

Been to High Adventure Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing