We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fishing Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Denise Lake Lodge
Baton ROuge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fishing Trip”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Overall this place is a great. This is a family owned business and if you can accept this you will love this place. We found the owner's and staff to be great. The owners were very friendly and shared stories and information. I felt that they helped create a great experience for our group. Jim the owner even provided a large sockeye fillet for us so we could compare it to the silver salmon we caught (all cooked to perfection on the grill). He also provided us with tastes of smoked salmon. We all could tell he really wanted us to have a great experience. I felt that he would have done anything possible to help us enjoy our time at the lodge.

We took a fly out fishing trip and all caught silver salmon. One person limited out, another caught one under limit and I caught 1 but I have very little fishing experience. Our guide put us on fish. The water was so clear we were basically sight fishing. It was really nice. The silver season had just started and like fishing in general in 2012 (alaska) it was slow. That being the case we were very pleased to have plenty of bites and some really good catches. The fresh silver are great eating and I still have a good bit at home in the freezer. The plane ride was one of the best things we did on our trip. We flew over glaciers and it was a great experience. Highly suggest this trip.

The next day we went on the lower Kenai river. The silver fishing was very slow for everyone. The pink salmon were their in mass and provided a great day of fishing. We all caught alot of pinks. They are not as good to eat but provided a very fun day of fishing.

This place provided a lot of bang for your buck. Fly outs are not cheap and from the price shopping we did you could not get a better deal anywhere in Alaska. The rooms were simple but had the basics (our cable worked). The location was very quite and relaxing. We were close enough to get beer and food but far enough away to enjoy the lodge. The logde is more like being at a friends house who has a seprate guest house. For our group this was great because in Alaska I was not looknig for a sheek resort. I wanted great fishing, a chance to meet local Alaskans, and quite relaxing stay. I found all this at the Dennise Lake Lodge at a price that is very hard to beat in Alaska. Oh yeah the breakfast was very good, and the provide lunches were enough to keep us full for a long day of fishing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EverTrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at Denise Lake Lodge in late August of 2012 for a 7 day stay. Not at all what I expected or was promised. The first morning I was expected to get up at 3 A.M., eat breakfast, drive 65 my car miles in the darkness to go halibut fishing. They said it would take about 2.5 hours because of all the moose being hit on the road. Directions to the place were hand written and hard to read. I cancelled the trip and they never scheduled another halibut fishing trip. They said I had my chance. The owners are old and very cranky at times. No information was given out without asking specific question. Then it is straight to the point and no more info. Being my first fishing trip to Alaska I was expecting a lot more. I never did get to fly out and see the bears. Why I do not know and no one said anything. The cabin was clean but, extremely small with only 2 small beds. No chair. If I wanted something larger I had to pay more. The breakfast was excellent until the cook quit and the owners start cooking. It was editable. Fishing was poor by Alaskan standards. King salmon had closed in July and so did Sockeye. These closures happen every year at the same time. They failed to mention this when I made my reservations. I did catch a few small Rainbow trout and Dolly Virden. This was the rookie year for the guide(s) they provided. They had a hard time trying to find the right lure to use. They did try. I would strongly suggest that you DO NOT GO TO DENISE LAKE LODGE. The owners do not deserve your business. Too many other good BB with fishing to try.

Room Tip: Find a place that gives you the value you purchased and does not swapp cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Island, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Lodge is in a very peaceful setting and is like a postcard picture when you arrive. Great location and view, abundant wildlife. The lodge is run by an elderly couple who use the living room as their own unfortunately. The living room is warm and inviting, however...lots of wood and charm. The TV in the living room has satellite reception, but it is tuned to CNN constantly by the elderly owners, which is not very interesting after a few days. After one hour, we had seen the "loop" that CNN runs. I felt like I was visiting my grandmother's house, and not a paying guest at a B&B. The TV in our room only received 6 stations, none of them had local news or weather. We could not plan for events, nor see local weather. But, we could watch CNN (as if we didn't get enough of that in the living room). There are no dressers for your clothes, and no closets. WiFi works in the living room, but not in the guest rooms. Good, hot showers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_look_like_Frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This lodge is beautifully situated on a lake on Kenai peninsular. Elaine and Jim are very warm, open and no frills couple who are extremely welcoming so you immediately feel at home. Elaine served delicious home baked cake/tart for breakfast amongst other goodies - but that tart I'll never forget! We felt very much at home in their company, they have kayaks to go out on the lake where the loons are nesting, and the terns (who dive-bombed us, we got too near!) amongst many other birds we identified. Very peaceful and relaxing, a wonderful retreat with wild life viewing and fishing.

Room Tip: WE only saw our room which had a wonderful view onto the lake, but there are cabins outside to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The lodge (main building and some cabins) is situated on a nice and quiet lake. We stayed in a two bed cabin which meets all basic requirements.

The hosts and the innkeeper were really helpful and Jim knows a lot about fishing.
After having breakfast (even served at 3.30 a.m. when you have to leave early!) you don't need any food til night.

We liked the organized fishing trips and had a lot of fun, but we were not very lucky....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The hospitality shown by everyone was first rate. No matter how early (3:30am) we had to get up to make our fishing dates, breakfast was always ready. And, it was always delicious. The last day we had eggs and reindeer sausage. Sack lunches were made and they were substantial and tasty.

Room Tip: We had downstairs rooms and they were quiet and one had a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
463 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just spent three days at the Denise Lake Lodge. For Alaska, this location is quite a value. The current fishing guide (Nathan) was really great and we landed our limit of silver salmon in about 2 hours. Unfortunately, the Lodge books halibut trips out of Ninilchik (Deep Creek) and we were "blown out," despite what turned out to be a beautiful day - not impressed with their charter operator.

Jim and Elaine were very nice and the food (including the fisherman's lunches) were great. The owners do everything on paper and there was a little trouble with some forgetfulness. Didn't dampen our spirits, though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHenFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
4.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
73 reviews
4.0 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
4.6 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kenai
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
3.2 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Denise Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Denise Lake Lodge

Property: Alaska Denise Lake Lodge
Address: 37090 Denise Lake Dr, Soldotna, AK 99669-9029
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide deluxe lodging, within the lodge or in adjacent cabins - overlooking the breath-taking Denise Lake. All rooms feature a private bath, TV and refrigerator. We also have Group Cabins with kitchenettes. BBQ on the deck to cook your delectable catch at day's end. High speed internet, a computer, laundry facility, parking, fire pit, canoes, paddle boat and breakfast are also available. The quiet, friendly and relaxed atmosphere at the lodge creates a warm setting to experience the best of Alaska. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Denise Lake Lodge Soldotna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing