We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches in a very casual place”
Review of Odie's Deli

Odie's Deli
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Soldotna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
515 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches in a very casual place”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It is in an old Arbys - big menu and the sandwiches are very large, Big enough for two people. The cookies are good and the counter service worked well. They make theiri own breads - the honey wheat was good and they do not use MSG. Added attraction was a customer playing a piano and someone playing a guitar.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    50
    15
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Sandwiches”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

While sightseeing in Soldotna we decided to grab a bite to eat around 2 PM. I decided to use my favorite way of choosing a place. Look for the cars, it will almost always lead you to a good meal. Odie,s was packed so we parked nearby and walked over. The sandwich list with the detailed description of each takes a little time to digest. Once I made my selection the rest of the process of ordering was painless. I ordered a half sanwich and seafood gumbo soup. I will only say I am glad I did not order a whole sandwich. I could barely handle a half. Everything was great, fresh and tasty. On the way out I noticed a sign that read please take one. Odie"s trims the edge off of the bread to make their sandwiches and bags the edges for free pick up. We had sourdough bread for breakfast for 3 days courtesy of Odie's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanbo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great Value and great tasting”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow, the 1/2 sandwich that comes with soup and sandwich was huge. The visitor's center recommended this place for a quick lunch and they were right on. It is well located on the Sterling hwy across from the "Moose is Loose Bakery" (really good bakery). I'd definitely stop here for lunch again when in the area. Sandwich was delicious and well worth the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbeerbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
153 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Odie's Deli in the "new" location”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

#1. Odie's is in a location other that that listed on the trip advisor page. It is now in what was once a Wendy's. They keep moving (4 times??) to gain larger space and easier access.

#2. The food is still GREAT. Their sandwiches are served on fresh homemade bread (many choices). The soups, chowders are made fresh and also served with the heels of the bread and butter, which is great. The inside is somewhat eclectic (think old and kinda junky) but service is great and the sandwiches may be the best on the Kenai Peninsula.

If the weather is good, get your order to go and walk to the park about a block away. Set, eat and enjoy the views of the Kenai River and the surrounding mountains.

Try the turkey sandwich with cranberry sauce on sourdough....yummm

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenaijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious sandwiches and soups”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Odie's sandwiches are definitely the best in the Kenai peninsula.
The bread they use to make their sandwiches is homemade and the fillings are very tasty.
They also have two differents soups everyday (they are all delicious!), giant cookies, brownies, cakes and other sweet yummy stuff.
Make sure to stop by if you're in the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teen_traveler_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Odie's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing