We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Salad Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Froso's

Froso's
Ranked #21 of 62 Restaurants in Soldotna
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Salad Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We ate here twice in one week. Produce is expensive in Alaska, so we ate here rather than buy produce & make it where we were staying. Everything on the salad bar was very fresh plus 3 soup choices, bread made there, and dessert (pie & soft serve ice cream). One day we ordered the lasagna & shared it plus we had a serving to take home. We saw people eating pizza that were raving about it. Plus we saw a lot of local people meeting people there and eating together. For Alaska & what you get - $15 each is good. The best food here - the salad bar, Italian food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    46
    36
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
467 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I have eaten at Froso's 3 or 4 times. The last time was for a late lunch. We each had the gyro, one lamb and one chicken. Both were very good and plenty to eat. They came with tzatziki and ample tomatoes and meat. More filling than you could roll up and eat like a taco. The tzatziki was pretty light on the cucumber and garlic and appeared to be made with sour cream and yogurt. Maybe they want to keep the garlic light, but there is no excuse not to add more cucumber, and I would ditch the sour cream.

Service was very good; price was reasonable for the quantity and quality of the food and surroundings; the dining room is nicely decorated. The whole place is very clean.

We would happily eat there again and recommend it to others.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice family place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is good, atmosphere is pleasant and quiet with a wide range of selections of food and beverages. Nice salad and dessert bar. Lots of easy parking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Looks better than it is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice looking place but I tried three different times and was underwhelmed. A bit pricey but I would not mind if the food was good quality. One of the most deceptive places I have ever seen. It looks very nice from the outside and gives the impression that it ought to be a fine dining experience. However the food and the prices were really disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

They try to do every kind of food and end up not doing any of it well. Tastes thawed, reheated, and thrown on a plate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ak_roamer_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Froso's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing