We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
County09
Lacey, Washington, United States

Fishing trip to the Kenai River in July

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 4, 2018
Silvertip cabins is nestled on 8 wooded acres just east of Soldotna, Alaska. Cabin 7, where I stayed this week has a King size bed, twin bed, and a pull out couch. The kitchen is spacious and has a full sized refrigerator and stove. The fish processing room next door is outstanding and allows you to save a bundle on fish processing fees. Jeremy also does fishing trips for Salmon and trophy Rainbow Trout on the Kenai river with his partner Nick. They can also arrange Halibut or Fly in fishing adventures thru their company Alaska Drift Away Fishing. The location close to Soldotna allows you to get the wilderness feel with the amenities of stores, restaurants, and breweries close by. A great combination and good value for your fishing trip to Alaska. Kenai Fjords National Park is close by in Seward as well as Exit Glacier. The Alyeska Resort and Portage Glacier are easily accessible on the drive down to Soldotna from Anchorage.
Date of stay: July 2018
Room Tip: Cabin 7 is two story with a steep stairway to the loft.
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$188
  • Aspen Hotel
    $178
  • Vio.com
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $188
3.7 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
$317
$299
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Hotels.com
    $299
  • Tripadvisor
    $299
3.6 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
$200
$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $189
  • Hotels.com
    $189
  • Priceline
    $189
3.4 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
My room - comfortable.
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.3 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Brand New Lodge, with luxury feel to the HUGE rooms.
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.3 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
St Theresas Lakeside Resort Dining Area
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.7 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
basic room with double bed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.2 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
$179
$170
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $179
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
$179
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $197
  • Aspen Suites
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $197
10.0 miles from Alaska Silvertip Lodge And Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Soldotna
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
83
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
83
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful setting fish processing own meals fishing trip sweet family wi fi family vacation float plane the river sockeye halibut king bed king salmon jeremy drift woods hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 84 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018

Stayed here while touring with my Father and his wife from New Zealand. Lovely little cabin it was clean and well appointed. Good shower, bathroom nice simple kitchen and nice big living room. Set in the trees, you feel like you are in the countryside. The fireplace was a highlight for me personally ,as I would hide away from the old-man at night a chat by the fire with other guests. Great location too, right in the heart of the Kenai Peninsula. Coming from Anchorage, we stayed a night, then went down to Homer/Seldovia and then stayed again on the way back.. The Host Jeremy and his 2 super cute children/helpers are great people, they wanna make sure you have a good stay and a fun trip to the Kenai.

Room tip: They are all good. Just different sizes. Book early cause these guys were almost sold out for June through August when I booked in April.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kiwikelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

Silvertip Lodge has several charming cabins in a lovely forested and quiet setting. They provide fish freezers and washer/dryers onsite and are located very close to shopping and restaurants in Soldotna. But the best thing for us was the help that we got from Jeremy and Andrea in planning our time in Alaska. They fixed us up with fishing and whale watching outfitters near Soldotna and helped us plan our travels in other parts of Alaska. They are beyond hospitable and we look forward to return visits!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Cabin, people and location were all great. Location is close to the rivers and Fred Meyers for any needs. The property was beautiful. Jeremy and Andrea were great hosts. I would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyhass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

The owners are the 2 nicest people in Alaska! The accommodations were excellent and the Location is perfect! Our trip was planned out for us and went off without a hitch. We rented a 2 bedroom fully furnished cabin with everything we needed. We were lucky enough to see 2 moose grazing 20 yards from out cabin which was awesome! There is a beautiful fire pit with wood provided. There is a separate "Fish House" cabin to clean, vacuum seal and freeze your catch. If you need to wash your clothes there's a cabin for that. I highly recommend Silvertip Lodge and if your going to fish use Alaska Drift Away Fishing. Top Notch!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spruce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

Fishing trip got me there, now I don't need fishing to get me back there. Most cabins have two bedroom w/living room & full kitchen plus one full bathroom. Fred Meyer;s grocery store (aka Krogers) is a short drive down the highway - next door to the one of Alaska's top brewpub/pizzarias. Many more eateries just down the hwy a smidge. So as to the bed all I can say that for several nights a tired fisherman slept straight through 8 hours - so I'm thinking maybe the bed helped. Will take my next fishing visitors there, but might also just take a book or two & skip the boat trip to enjoy the peace & quiet!

Room tip: No view but of woods, quiet woods, no noise
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fteela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews