We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northwoods Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Cabins(Talkeetna)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Chalet(Talkeetna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishshanericamenitiesaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 21 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

When the lodge we'd been using folded, we called the float plane service we used and asked for a recommendation and they immediately said Northwoods Lodge was the place to go. We couldn't have been happier. These folks do it right all the way around. In the first place, it's a beautiful setting, just a few minutes off the Yentna River, up a little creek located on the first of upstream five lakes (great pike fishing on up the creek, too - saw one guy get a 28-pounder!). The setting is idyllic - picture postcard perfect. Owners Eric and Shan have created a lovely and intimate resort with a handful of cabins scattered around the grounds where gardens, flowers and trees are beautifully integrated into the surrounding wilds. Food is exceptional, and I mean exceptional. We're foodies, and pretty particular about our meals. Bree is a better cook (moose bolognese!) than most of the chef-owned restaurants in my hometown of Laguna Beach, CA, and that's saying something. They will happily accommodate diet-specific requests, too. Boats/motors are superior to other lodges in the area, guides are first-rate with great personalities, and loaded with information about not just the wildlife, but books, movies, you name it. And, they know the rivers/streams/lakes not just of this area but of the state, as well as you know your own backyard. Northwoods Lodge - pay a little more - get a whole lot more. Absolutely the best of the half-dozen or so lodges in this area of Alaska. This being our first visit to this lodge, we all agreed it was one of the best vacations ever - and we're all world travelers (not bragging, just telling it like it is). Rooms are available with bathrooms, or you can take a simple cabin with bunks and a table/chairs and use the community bathroom with showers and private johns, which are clean and well-maintained. By the way, we stayed 6 days, limited out on silvers every day. Guides will leave any time of day or night that you're ready to fish, and will clean/vacuum pack your fish as soon as you return from fishing. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our previous visits so much, that we returned to Eric and Shan's Northwoods Lodge for a third consecutive year. We were not disappointed and as a matter of fact, found things to be even better than we remembered. Beginning with the Trail Ridge Air float plane ride, and including the cabins, the meals, the fishing trips (including waders, all the necessary gear and fish processing) and all lodge staff were simply wonderful. In particular, we benefited from our time on the water with Kurt (who my wife said is an outstanding coach!) and caught limits of sockeye salmon each day, along with LOTS of other salmon species while in the process. The comfortable surroundings, beautiful scenery and small number of guests at any one time make for a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. So if you are looking for a place in Alaska to go fishing during the summer we highly recommend Northwoods Lodge for sockeye and silver salmon!!

Room Tip: Both standard and deluxe cabins are very nice, and sharing bathroom facilities when in the standard cabins did not pose any problems other than a short walk.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I love riding our snowmachines to Northwoods Lodge whether its for a night or two in their cozy cabins or just to stop in and say hi and have a warm meal. A beautiful location and a family atmosphere at its best!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

After 11 years of fishing in Alaska at Northwoods Lodge I have come to the conclusion that Northwoods Lodge & its personnel are a first-class operation & well worth a premium classification. Because they limit the number of fishermen to 12-15 the family run operation is so much more personal than the large "commercial" operations. The owners, Shan & Eric Johnson, treat their clients to home-grown food, excellent service and comfortable accommodations. The equipment & guides are first class and because the Lodge furnishes everything, all one has to do is get there and start fishing.

I have attached several photos showing the "lucky" fishermen/women, the fine lodge, the personnel & the fine dining.

Over the 11 years that I have fished Northwoods, I have taken my wife, sons, daughter, granddaughter, grandsons and many friends to enjoy the friendship, accommodations and good fishing at Northwoods. We keep going back because it is the finest fishing/resort in this part of Alaska!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbdanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Tucked away in a beautiful and picturesque setting of the remote Alaskan bush is one of the best full service fishing lodges you’ll find along the Yenta River . The lodge is home to King, pink, sockeye, and silver salmon, rainbow trout and pike fishing in the summer season. Come the winter months it is an adventure getaway for snow machining in demand place to stay for one of the Iditarod checkpoints for Yentna.

The lodge is nestled 65 miles NW of Anchorage where you’ll depart via a single engine plane flown by some well versed bush pilots. Soaring over the lush trees in your float plane in the summer you can get a feeling during your 40 min scenic flight over marshes and just low enough to see some wild life, just how great, and off the beaten path Alaska and your destination point really is.
Taxiing up and around the bend of the property you’ll be greeted at the dock by the welcoming owners Eric and Shan Johnson, your fishing guides and lodge staff. Whether your there for just a day trip or staying over night for two days or a week you are immediately treated like family.
The hospitality is like any other 4 star hotel. Your bags are taken to your cabin and you are immediately given a tour offered beverages to your liking or efficiently helped with getting your fishing license on site there if needed if you’re on a tight itinerary and there for a day trip.
Staying at the lodge is a superb idea. It offers brunch and dinner service with daily fresh made from scratch breads, cookies, biscotti’s, herbs and vegetables from the gardens, local game meats and fish. Guests can enjoy the open coffee bar including hot teas, chocolates and local Alaskan coffee. Fruits, nuts and snacks are always available with an ever full cookie jar. The lodge offers Alaskan beers on tap as well as a variety of bottles or domestic and imported as well as a tasty wine list.
Each cabin comforts include northwoods decor, heaters, bunks and extra blankets and towels. Whether your stay is in the standard cabins or the Deluxe Northwoods you will be quite comfortable especially with a each one having their own full view of the lake and creek as they sit on the bluffs of the Lake .
You’re friendly and knowledgeable fishing guide will set you up with all you need for your day excursions. Whether you be a well versed angler here to fish Alaska for the first time or never touched a pole in your life, they will make you feel welcome to the sport and make it a fun experience. The ratio of guide to client is small so that you may receive one on one attention and direction. They are very encouraging and love to take photos for you of you and your catch. When back at dock you get a great opt. to take photos and weigh your fish at the Northwoods sign while your guide quickly fillets and packages your fish for you.
Owner and executive chef of Northwoods lodge, Shan Johnson delights her family and guests with fresh fish, her collection of family recipes, and produce from her gardens.
Shan has a variety of gardens and a greenhouse where she grows a wide assortment of vegetables, herbs, tomatoes, chili's and tubers. And that is on top of her abundant numbers of flower patches, aero nurseries and hanging plants. Her season starts early to be able to provide organic produce for her clientele.
She pays close attention to planning out her menu for the week and even keeps a journal of the meals she prepares for repeat clients so you will always have something new to try. Indulge on local fare of specialty meats and her house smoked salmon. Desserts , cookies and breads are made daily from scratch in her commercial kitchen which includes her guests favorite Strawberry Rhubarb Pie.
Enjoy summer afternoon with a bottle of wine and appetizers such as an array of domestic and imported cheeses, a charcutarie platter of local meats, salmon tar tar, house made dips, tapenades, bruchettas from greenhouse tomatoes and hot, gourmet hors'd voeurs.
The land was bought, the lodge was built and the business has thrived through their own hard work, endurance and hospitality since their beginning in 198o something . The Alaskan couple and their family have built a beautiful thing to share and I have been blessed with the chance to stay there, fish with them and learn the Alaskan ways. I can only hope many more will as well for years to come.

~Sous Chef, Brieanne Lauren
Southern California

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brieanne1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews