We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dedicated, hard-working guides”
Review of King Eider Inn

King Eider Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Paul Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Eider Inn
Seward
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dedicated, hard-working guides”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Traveled there the last week of August, 2013, as a member of a group of birders searching for Asian rarities. Did not stay in the hotel, but in the duplex, which was a pleasant surprise! Great kitchen, many bedrooms, large dining/living room, and one & half baths. As a remote location this is a real comfortable place to return to after a long, wet day of birding. It also has a wetland across from it that was loaded with shorebirds, town marsh.

Since I was there as a birder I must give credit to the guides of St Paul Island Tours. These three people, Doug, Cameron, and tour director Scott put for their best to help find us birds. They are some of the most dedicated, hardest-working birding guides I've come in contact with. They take great pride in working on such a remote, rainy and wind-swept island that they must call home for months. Quite impressive that they are in such good dispositions every day!! This is a place for the most serious birder and it has what is needed to enjoy the birds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
6
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

To have a hotel at all in such a remote place is a real bonus. This hotel is very basic with almost no sound proofing between the rooms. It looks like a prison and the washing facilities are communal. However it does have some surprising facilities: free wifi (although with a code that prevented Europeans using it) and a computer for guest use as well as free laundry facilities. There is no restuarant and food is eaten a drive away at the Trident sea food factory. While this is very much a works canteen the food was plentiful and perfectly acceptable. Despite the basic nature of the facilities visiting St Paul Island is a real treat for the serious nature lover and photographer. You will literally spend all day in the field right next to very special wildlife. Crested,least and parakeet auklets, tufted and horned puffins and arctic foxes are common. There were three guides working on the island and I had the benefit of each of them in turn for a day. They drove me anywhere I wanted on the island and were very helpful. Visiting the island is an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunkletown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Where you are is what you have to remember. You are in the Pribilof Islands, you are on a windswept, treeless floe of land out in the middle of the Bering Sea. Pinch yourself because you have traveled to one of the most remote places in the world. Yes the "hotel" is the most expensive room for the least amount of amenities you may ever find and, yes, you have to travel miles for each meal (or you can buy food at the store at badly inflated prices and eat at the hotel) but it is all a part of the experience. My husband spent years of his childhood here while his parents taught in the schools and it was something he wanted to show me because it had been such a profound experience for him. Friends tagged along and we are STILL talking about all we did and saw. Never in my life do I expect to do or see anything that will come close to our visit to St. Paul. It is a rare journey but only for those willing to undertake the trip with full understanding of what they will have for comforts. It is a package deal and you must accept it all...or don't go. If you decide to go, embrace it and treasure it, you will have seen a rare spot on this earth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jamiam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf shores
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The King Eider Innn is a barracks type Inn with shared baths. The Inn is attached to the airport terminal of Penn Air. The Inn is clean, and comfortable. You receive food coupons that let you eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Trident Seafood Plant. Quite the experience. The food is fresh and wonderful. The best I ate in a six week trip to Alaska. The cooks at Trident are talented to say the least. The island, the Inn, and the tours are owned by TDK, a native corporation. These people are great. The CEO came and met us in person to make sure everything we needed was supplied. We were there during the fourth of July. That same CEO came and invited us to the parade, the 5k run, the big cookout, the fireworks, and the dance. The cookout had all the food you could ask for. Fresh crab, halibut, reindeer, sausage, hamburgers, hot dogs and drinks. After the cookout the activities continued on until the following morning. They made my wife and I feel like locals. We enjoyed it all. People go to Saint Paul Island to see birds. The tours are set up by Saint Paul Island tours in anchorage. These people are excellent. They arrange everything. The guide we had (Forrest) on the island was great. We had a great time with him (we got his email and plan to meet him later on in Columbia and Ecuador). The animals and birds are wonderfiul. You can see the horned and tufted puffins, 3 types of auklets, a herd of reindeer, the largest colony of fur seals in the world (complete with babies), and artic foxes that are every where. There is a nice museum and a nice church. A special treat is St Paul is a major offload location for the ships of the deadliest catch. If you have any interest in that show, St Paul is amazing. Hey whats not to Love. My wife and I travel the world searching for off the path locations that are unique in nature. This is one of them. From the minute you step off the plane its pure magic. Go and enjoy and don't concern yourselves with petty details. Oh by the way, the blooming wildflowers are amazing. Thanks for letting me write this review.

Room Tip: Its the only game in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank nohassle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is part of a pre-fab metal building that is also the airport. Small rooms. Clean. But the bathrooms are down the hall and poorly designed. Got to pack some crocs or shower shoes. The hotel is also miles away from the village and all other services.

The King Eider caters to two separate groups. Birdwatchers get one wing of the hotel and fishermen/businessmen get the other.

The native people of the Pribilofs are descendants of Aleuts who were kidnapped by the Russians in the late 1700s to work in the fur seal industry. When the US bought Alaska in 1868, we kept the same system with the natives being "wards of the State." That means they were slaves. This lasted until the late 1960s when they were freed by the courts and the UN human rights commission. Understandably, they still harbor some resentment.

Thus, they do not want to mix much with outsiders and when they have to (like the people who work the Pen Air counter at the airport) they can be sullen, angry, vindictive and domineering.

The only food on St. Paul is the cafeteria at the Trident Sea Food factory or you can get some groceries at the local supermarket. If you are a bird-watcher, there are two permanent guides on the island who will take you around to the cliffs and to the Cafeteria. If you are a businessman, you are at the mercy of the exorbitant taxis. There is a beer and wine bar in town but most of the natives won't tell you where it is.

By the way, you birdwatchers are much better off booking a Pribilofs tour through the Native Corporation called TDX. If you get a tour through one of the nature tour companies, you pay MUCH more but you ride around in the same bus and see the same birds. And stay in the same lousy hotel. Granted, it's nearly off the planet. But if the natives cared even a little, it could be so much better.

Room Tip: They are all equally tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BasicBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We were actually in the overflow location for the King Eider Inn, called the Duplex, and also nick-named the Animal House. It is more like a dorm than a hotel - 3 double twin rooms and a queen double, sharing a full bath and a half bath. No daily housekeeping. Good kitchen. And the location can't be beaten if you are doing business in town - easy walking distance to everything except the airport. (As long as the wind is blowing less than 60 mph...)
Internet was intermittent. Everything was clean, but a bit well worn. Less expensive than the King Eider itself.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Eider Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Eider Inn

Property: King Eider Inn
Address: Saint Paul Island, AK 99660
Location: United States > Alaska > Pribilof Islands > Saint Paul Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Saint Paul Island
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
King Eider Hotel Saint Paul Island
King Eider Inn Saint Paul Island, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing