We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A break from the cruise ships”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Petersburg B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A break from the cruise ships”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Traveling solo by ferry from Ketchikan to Petersburg was a great experience! Arriving in Petersburg to find the Waterfront B&B right next to the ferry was a nice welcome to the town. Samy and Leroy were very nice hosts and I loved the hot tub. Experienced a gorgeous sunset from their deck, and a very comfortable bed. I wish I could have stayed more than 2 nights. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schenectigrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moraga
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Waterfront B&B in early July, 2013. The room was comfortable and very clean. The home cooked breakfast was tasty and substantial. For anyone traveling by ferry the location cannot be better as it is almost adjacent to the ferry dock but it is only a short and pleasant walk into the business district of Petersburg from there.

The deck at the B&B overlooking the harbor is a great spot to relax.

Petersburg is a friendly, attractive small town. The museum is definitely worth a visit. But, be aware that ALL of the restaurants close at 2PM on Sunday so if you arrive on the late afternoon ferry or afterwards you'll be reduced to eating what little is available in the way of sandwiches and chips etc from the convenience store downtown unless you've brought something along. That said, the restaurants we did eat at during our stay in Petersburg were good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keninakayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at the Waterfront B&B in June 2013. Literally steps from the ferry. Not much to look at from the outside but the rooms are pristine - wish our own house was as meticulously maintained!! Great facilities. Petersburg is a "real" town - not made up for the tourists. The hosts Sammy and Leroy are real Alaskans - not exactly outgoing at first, but genuine when you engage them in conversation. (LeRoy knows everything there is about logging!) Great value for the price. Would definitely book there a second time. Checked out the competition as well - was not impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36262John_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts on our trip through Canada and Alaska and the Waterfront Bed & Breakfast was really one of the best. The location is very nice. Convenient to the ferry and a short hop into town. It's located right on the harbor with a big deck where you can sit for hours and contemplate how rough life is for the poor people in the lower 48. Leeroy and Sammy were great hosts and they helped us out in many ways. There is a room in the back of the property with a TV where you can hang out waiting for the late night ferry. The breakfasts were amazing and I had to push myself away from the table to stop eating. If you want to go on a nice hike, consider the 3 Lakes Trail on the Southern part of Mitkof Island. We did it and had an awesome 3 hour hike without seeing another human being.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and had a very good time. This B & B is just a two minute walk from the ferry terminal. It is about a 15 or 20 minute walk into town but the route is easy and interesting. Accommodating hosts let us use their washer and dryer. Good, plentiful food for breakfast, and when we had to catch the 6 am ferry they left out cereal and bread. Leeroy fed the eagles several times and they fly right over your head so you get a great perspective of their enormous wingspan. People who stayed in the rooms off the kitchen said they were noisy, but our room was quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms that are NOT off the kitchen are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janadian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Looking for excellent lodging in Petersburg, Alaska ? The WaterfrontB&B is a super choice. Clean, quiet and 74 steps from the Car Ferry. You will not leave the breakfast table hungry. Sammy prepares good hearty fare and if you are lucky, LeRoy will feed the Eagles and let them swoop past your head.

Room Tip: Facing the pier is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Waterfront B&B. I arrived early and although my hosts were not in, there was a fully detailed note and key left for me and I found my way around without any difficulty. It is right next to the ferry terminal - easy for someone walking. A good walk into town but lots to see and easy walking. The breakfast was wonderful and I found both my hosts friendly and helpful. Leeroy dropped me into town the first day (at the Museum which was great to look at) and took me to the airport on the day I left at no cost, Sammy printed off my boarding pass in advance. The room was clean, new and comfortable. The location was wonderful, on the waterfront with eagles flying by regularly. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
2.2 mi away
Hollywood Casino Lawrenceburg Hotel
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrenceburg
12.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence
11.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cincinnati Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: P.O. Box 1364, Petersburg, AK 99833-1364
Location: United States > Alaska > Petersburg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing