We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My idea of a perfect B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Petersburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our stay at the Waterfront B&B was wonderful! It was SO convenient from the ferry, and everything was well thought out, making our stay relaxing and comfortable. Our room was spotlessly clean, as was the cheerful kitchen where we ate breakfast. Breakfast was hearty and delicious! I like the way the rooms are set up, allowing for privacy, and yet allowing socializing with other guests in the guest living room, or on the deck. We had a wonderful stay !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trigger019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

This place had many of the good and bad extremes of B&Bs rolled into one.

I'll start with the good. The hosts were extremely helpful to the guests driving them to the airport and other places and Leroy even met us at the gate when our ferry arrived at 12.30 am.
The breakfasts were really good with Leroy making anything that the guests asked for from porridge to all sorts of eggs.

The bad was trying to sleep on the first night.
Here is a chronology of the events of our first night at the Waterfront.
As I mentioned before we arrived at 12.30 am.
The ferry left again at 1.30 am with the throbbing sounds of the propellers and a loud blast on the fog horn.
2.00am another ferry arrived with throbbing propellers taking around 20 minutes to dock.
2.30am one of the other guests at the Waterfront left to catch this ferry dragging his suitcase wheels rat-a-tat-tat along the boardwalk outside our room.
3.00am the ferry left with more throbbing propellers but fortunately no fog horn.
6.00am an extremely loud seaplane took off nearby.
Some time soon after two of the other guests left to go on an early morning fishing trip. Prior to leaving they both had showers in what I believe was a nearby shared shower room.
All through the night and in between all this happening there was constant noisy closing of doors and flushing of the nearby toilet.
It appears that there is very little or no sound deadening in the walls as the water noise from these facilities is very loud.
I was seriously considering moving out to a place where I could get some sleep.
The next two night were better.

The ugly was the location. We knew it was near the ferry terminal but there is more to that than meets the eye. The photographs on the web site have been selectively positioned to eliminate the true outlook from the property. I have included some shots taken from the decking and the guest's sitting room to show a more accurate picture.
The property is next door to a boat building yard and one day while sitting on the decking we were treated to paint fumes from there as the hull of a boat was being sprayed.
The 15 minute walk into town is not very pleasant as much of the waterfront area is industrial. Many of the residential properties are run down with rusting boat hulls and cars, discarded appliances and general junk in their front yards.

I won't say don't stay at the Waterfront or that you will have the same bad experiences that we had, just be aware that this place may have some serious issues when it comes to sleeping. I will say don't stay in room #3 and perhaps any other room that has a boardwalk outside.

In reading the other reviews on this B&B I have to say that some people need to get out more, it does not even come close to the best B&Bs that we have stayed in, with some better ones having cost less, and as for the views judge for yourself from my pictures.

We have seen hundreds of bald eagles during our trip to Alaska but did not see any at the Waterfront or nearby. When we told our kayaking guide where we were staying he asked if Leroy was still feeding the eagles. This seemed to be widespread knowledge so perhaps someone from the authorities has had a word in his ear since feeding wild animals is usually frowned upon.

As for Petersburg being beautiful, all I could see was a fishing town that has seen better days. The main reason we went to Petersburg was its claim to being little Norway.
We have been to the real Norway three times and think maybe these people should stop kidding themselves and the touring public. Their promotional literature has pictures that, judging by the height of the trees now, would have been taken about twenty years ago and time has not been kind to this town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NormanND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

One of the best B&Bs in Alaska! Location is excellent for ferry travellers like ourselves and a nice 20 minutes walk to town. The rooms and common areas were impeccably clean and comfortable, wonderful views from the deck, and Leeroy cooked a hearty breakfast for us each morning. The best thing about this B&B is Leeroy himself - such a nice person with a great sense of humour, interesting stories and willingness to go the extra mile for his guests. Many thanks from your 6 Aussie cra- loving guests!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

If I could give these hosts 10 stars I would. The bedding was very comfortable and clean, clean, clean. Sammy and Leroy were so friendly and made a great home cooked breakfast - eggs, potatoes, fruit, and toast every morning. The accommodations were right there at the ferry and just a ten minute walk into town. I slept with my window open and could hear the tide come in. The house is right on the beach and the porch overhangs the water. It is amazing, we loved this place and if ever come back to Petersburg will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arctic_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Other reviewers have said it all already, so "what they said"... Leeroy and Sammy were great hosts for a very comfortable and relaxing stay. Clean and comfortable, good value by Alaska standards, wonderful breakfasts, excellent service.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We selected the Waterfront B&B because our ferry arrived late at night and it is very easy to walk from the ferry terminal to the B&B (although it is about a 20 minute walk into town). Even with the late arrival we were surprised that several taxis were available at the ferry terminal. Had we known this, we would probably have widened our search for a B&B. We later discovered that the Sea Level B&B looked very nice so you might want to check that out.

The rooms at Waterfront are large and clean but nothing special; a large chest of drawers and a closet made it easy to unpack and settle in. The only place to sit in our room was on a lawn chair.

Of the 5 rooms in the B&B only room #1 actually faces the waterfront; the doors into rooms #4 & #5 open on to the common breakfast area and offer less privacy.
Breakfasts were nothing special for a B&B and consisted of a hot dish (eg. hash) and eggs cooked to order (as long as the order is fried or scrambled). Breakfast is served promptly at 8:00 with no opportunity to choose a different time.

Petersburg is an authentic commercial fishing town and not a tourist town. We enjoyed walking on the docks among the fishing boats but there isn’t much else to see in town and very few restaurants. When we asked why we couldn’t find any fish restaurants we were told that everyone in Petersburg owns a fishing boat and eats fish at home so when they go out to eat they want pizza or Mexican food. The tiny take-out restaurant in a gravel lot immediately to the right of Scandia House (as you face the entrance) offers excellent food (try the fish tacos). Also the Beachcomber Restaurant out of town has good but expensive food (they offer a shuttle service if you don’t have a car).

If you stay in Petersburg be sure to rent a car (available at Scandia House) and go on the Three Lakes Trail hike. Be sure to get a sandwich at Coastal Cold Storage for your picnic lunch. We used the free row boat on one of the lakes and rowed to the opposite shore to closely observe a moose and her new-born calves.

Room Tip: request room #1 with waterfront view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We absolutely loved the Waterfrong B and B. We stayed there for three nights, it was such fun. The hosts Sammy and Leeroy were fabulous, with wonderful breakfast and great ealge watching, thanks to Leeroy, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollylucyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
2.2 mi away
Hollywood Casino Lawrenceburg Hotel
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrenceburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
140 reviews
2544.0 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#2 of 2 in Petersburg
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 1364, Petersburg, AK 99833-1364
Location: United States > Alaska > Petersburg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Petersburg
Price Range: $95 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing