We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Scandia House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scandia House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Scandia House for four days in July and were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the centrally location of the hotel. Our pick up at the Ferry Dock was extremely quick and we had no wait time for transportation to the airport. Coffee was always available and the morning muffins were freshly baked and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaHarley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not so many places to stay in Petersburg but we were happy to check in anyway. Clean and comfortable, but the 'courtesy van' is not that at all as it is licensed to travel to airport and ferry terminals only. Suggested that they should rename service 'shuttle.' Wireless not available despite what hotel says and what is said about hotel. Decent place, but courtesy van issue was frustrating and response from hotel unimpressive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhettbudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Inn is clean and comfortable. Probably the best place for a traveler to stop in the interesting town of Petersburg. Found the staff to be helpful and pleasant with one exception. Overall, it met our expectations and would give it a thumbs up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Good size room with comfortable bed. Centally located. Staff very helpful and friendly. Check out the local quilters work in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suegee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hotel was seemed recently remodeled and nice. Small rooms. Don't request a room if the sun is going to shine, very hot due to facing west but good view. Charge $3.00 per day for internet service. Owners don't pay for internet service so they cannot or will not print your boarding pass for you. Decent stay but owners didn't really seem to care to help you with anything. No A/C.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PR T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Considering that there really isn't much of anyplace else for a ferry traveler to stay in Petersburg, this place out pretty good. There is indeed a problem with parking. A hotel with only 4 parking places might try to work something out with their neighbors but I guess most travelers us there shuttle anyway. The hotel staff was friendly and the rooms are clean. The town idiots do use a big noisy water spray truck to wash down the roads at about 4:30 a.m. but that is not the hotel's fault. All in all the Alaska ferry traveler will do OK by staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbgrcatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Everything from beginning to end was a horrible stay. There are only 4parking spots so your on your own and when I reserved my room I said I was bringing a car and asked about parking. They never warned me about the parking and road work.
When we got to check in we had to wait for the desk clerk who had to leave. He was doing the job of many.
We got our room and it wasn't 2 queen beds like I was paying for but 1 queen and 1 rollaway. The room was freezing so we turned on the heat. but then the power went out so no heat. Now I don't fault the hotel for a power outage but there were not any safety lights room was pitch black and I could not see where to walk & I hit my bad knee trying to get to my bed.
They didn't warn of pets so lucky me after 2hrs of sleep a dog begins to bark and I'm up for the day!
The outlets in the bathroom didn't work so I couldn't use the provided hair dryer anyhow!
For $120/night I really expected better service. I'm a local Alaskan and to pay these kind of rates is always disheartening but to have so many issues as well is just poor service all around. Next time I come to Petersburg I will find a B&B to stay at!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mom712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandia House

Address: 110 Nordic Dr, Petersburg, AK 99833-0689
Location: United States > Alaska > Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range: $90 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Scandia House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Scandia Hotel Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing