We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quintessential Alaskan Experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paxson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Highway Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 18, 2006

This was certainly the best place I stayed on my trip. My family and I flew in to Anchorage, saw just another big city, and then started our circle tour of Alaska. First we took a boat trip and looked at glaciers, but something seemed to be missing that represented the real Alaska I was searching for. Then went up and took a tour in Denali Park and saw everything from the bus window, but something was still missing. Then took the Denali Highway over to the Richardson Highway and stayed at the Denali Highway Cabins in Paxson on this part of the trip. Here I found what I was searching for!

The hosts run an absolutely first-rate operation. All the cabins are right down along the river and extremely charming - the perfect Alaskan setting! We stayed in the guest house and I had the best night's sleep of anywhere on the trip...extremely comfortable bed, and there was plenty of room for everyone and a nice kitchen and living room also. Granted, the guest house was not as cute as the cabins, but it was comfortable and very functional for my family. The best part was falling asleep to the sound of the river - it was perfect!

Also something not to be missed are their evening float trips down the river. We saw so much and our host gave the best running commentary on what we were seeing - my camera was running the whole time! It was SO peaceful and there were eagles and salmon galore. This was the Alaska I had been missing on the trip prior to this - seeing the real Alaska up close and personal is something not to be missed!

Their hospitality is the best, and I am sure everyone who goes there will have the same experience I did. I would highly recommend a stay with them!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Desertbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2005

Wow, what a great place! Individual, standalone cabins located right on the
river bed are extremely well maintained. Attention to detail is everywhere -
from being asked to leave the shoes on the porch, to chocolates left on each
bed. It's peaceful and quiet. Each cabin has a deck to enjoy the surrounding nature.
The hosts run the place well, provide home baked muffins made from local
freshly picked wild blueberries (delicious!), capuccino, coffee, breads.
Excellent stay!

5  Thank Lv2TravelBayArea_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2004

Enjoyed our overnight stay here mid July, in what I would consider, one of the nicest cabins on our trip. A definite super clean LLBean decor, with nice touches of candy on the pillow, some in-room tea, coffee etc. great deck with grill. Small breakfast items of juice, boiled eggs, and huge muffins could be bought from the owner. We were able to tour 2 other cabins, which included a large one across the road, where the 2nd half of our group ended up. Nicely decorated also, just nowhere near us. Another group we had met on the road up in Healy requested and got the "family size cabin," available ONLY for 2 or more days. That had 3 seperate bedrooms & a full kitchen . Our friends were totally UNHAPPY with it, as it was not in the same class as the other very cute cabins. Very old & shabby decor, electrical wire hanging in mid air, NOT NICE, Stay Away from it unless you could care less about your accomadations and need the extra room. It should be taken off his rental program or rented at a huge discount.
STAY AWAY from the evening float trip. We had very mixed emotions about that..The owner took 7 passengers, along with him & helper, for a total of 9. This was not a very large raft. A big problem was that 3 of the passengers were given a pile of life jackets to sit on instead of the usual huge bolster cushion that would be in the center of the raft, because a grizzly had ripped it apart earlier in the week! This trip was overcrowded for the condition of the raft and for the river , which was not very deep in some parts. The raft was so heavy we had to be dragged just about the whole first part of the trip off the gravel sandbars. Water was coming in the raft, and one lady who was trying to stay put on the life jackets had her bottom completely soaked. His helper had only worked 3 other float trips and did not have a clue how to navigate the raft at all. We were spinning in circles and whamming into low hanging branches. A very uncomfortable 3hrs for the money. Unless he has a new raft or less people in it , AVOID it at all costs.

23  Thank BackHomeOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudubonBakewell, Owner at Denali Highway Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2009

We're very sorry that a site the reviewer described as "one of the nicest on our trip" rated only a "poor" in her opinion - one only can wonder at her opinion of her other accommodations!
We also feel it unfair that she relied on hearsay about a unit she did not see. We had purchased that facility - NOT one of the river cabins, but on the adjacent property - and at that time, all of its guests were forewarned it was in need of renovations. Now it is fully re-finished and most definitely is our flagship unit.
Lastly, we had clearly warned these travelers of the grizzly bear problem with the raft and suggested they would be uncomfortable, as the best we could do was to place life vests for them in lieu of the bear-destroyed thwart. Quite frankly, the story of traveling on a raft mauled a week before by a grizzly should, I think, be a highlight of one's trip to here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fuzzy493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeannine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Pietro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank René B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denali Highway Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Highway Cabins

Address: Mile 185.6 Richardson Hwy & Mile 0.2 Denali Hwy, Paxson, AK 99586
Location: United States > Alaska > Paxson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Paxson
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest year-round continuously operating tour and accommodations facility along both the Denali Highway AND the 160 mile stretch of the Richardson Highway from Glennallen to Delta Junction. This is the ORIGINAL "Denali Highway Cabins and Tours;" we also use the name "Paxson Alpine Tours." Please do not be confused by others' misleading names. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Highway Cabins Hotel Paxson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing