We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay, but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denali Highway Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paxson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Highway Cabins
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay, but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Denali Highway Cabins for one night in the later part of June on our way from Denali National Park to Seward, via-Fairbanks. All in all this was a great place to stay, but there were a few drawbacks.

On arrival the grounds seemed somewhat messy and disorganized, but this seemed to be the standard for most all other homes and businesses in the rural areas we saw in Alaska so I didn't consider it a negative (don't let it drive you away, the canins are really nice).

Our cabin was very nice and clean with a good view of the nearby river. The building and furnishings were well above average with what felt like a memory foam mattress (some folks may not like this if you have never slept on one before, we were ok with it). The only big drawback of the cabin was a water pump that would kick in every time you turned the water on which could be an issue if everyone staying in the room did not get up at the same time, or if someone flushed the toilet in the middle of the night. Also the cabin had many notes hanging all over asking you to follow a lot of "house rules". We were ok with this, but did feel a bit uncomfortable (kind of like staying at my grandmothers house). Overall an excellent cabin.

We loved the common great room provided by the hosts. It is used for gathering in the evening and for breakfast in the morning. We spent a couple hours here in the evening talking to other guests (great for people who are looking to meet other travelers and hear their stories. The room also had games, a piano etc for entertainment. Breakfast was nice and homemade which can provide a nice break from restaurant food while on vacation. Breakfast did not start until 7:30, which is pretty late for us so we got up and went on a hike to Swan Lake early before breakfast (did not see any moose, only tracks and droppings). We viewed the great room as the highlight of our visit.

The owers Audubon and Jenny were very friendly and willing to share about the area and experiences. We also loved meeting the dogs.

In summary Denali Highway cabins was a great place to stay, with just a few potential minor drawbacks as noted. If in the area again we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    27
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
38
79
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Denali Cabins last week and loved it. It was above and beyond what we expected. The rooms were very cozy, the scenery was amazing and our hosts were fantastic. The breakfast the next morning was the best continental breakfast I have ever had. I eat gluten free and it is very hard to find that while traveling. Jenny had a gluten free muffin that was delicious and the fruit tart with the fresh local fruit was amazing. The concert by Aurora and Borealis was the icing on the cake. We will stay here again when we return to Alaska.

Room Tip: The cabin with the King bed was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We wish we'd had more time to stay at Denali Highway Cabins! We stayed only 1 night, but found the cabins to be perfectly well appointed, very comfortable beds - we finally got to sleep-test a TempurPedic memory foam mattress! (loved it - next bed we buy). Breakfast was very good, and the hosts were very friendly. We loved their big, fluffy dogs, too.

Room Tip: If the weather had been nice, we would've chosen a tent cabin, but it was socked in, and raining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for one night in a riverside cabin which was both spacious and beautifully appointed. The owners, Audubon and Jenny, were extremely friendly and very helpful, but did not impose their ideas on us - a really welcome change from so many other B&B owners. On Audubon's recommendation we walked to the nearby Swan Lake in the evening and saw several moose - magical.

The great room is a lovely space and full of helpful books and maps for planning the next parts of your Alaskan trip. In the morning the homemade breakfast was delightful and the slides of Paxson through the year a great touch.

This is a model for all other accomodation in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our only regret was staying just one night. Loved the beauty of the river in a tent that had the most comfortable bed & ambience. Don't miss this experience and wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Tents - all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

While the names of places to stay are VERY confusing in the area, make no mistake and book your stay at THIS place (Denali Highway Cabins). It is FABULOUS! The individual cabins are great (very comfy beds, excellent facilities) and the hosts are just plain delightful. Their knowledge of the area is beyond measure and they are very willing to point you in the directions you want to go (even if you don't know!). Let them know what you want to see and do and they are of great help. The large room where breakfast is served is delightful—a chance to meet others and get to know the hosts.I'll DEFINITELY return to this place. Favorite nearby sights were the radio tower hill, the Denali Highway (take time and enjoy hikes) and the road north toward the glacier.

Room Tip: I think all of them are probably great; they also have tent platforms right down near the river but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the Argonaut cabin. Although the property is just off the Richardson Highway it is miles away from any major town and the conveniences that come with them. The things most of us take for granted such as running water and electricity are precious commodities here. That being said, the hosts have done a fabulous job of running a property that is almost entirely self contained and self reliant without sacrificing the comforts that travelers are used to having. Our cabin was spacious, had a comfortable queen bed, a couch, writing desk, private bathroom and a deck overlooking the river. There is a great room in the main building where a delicious breakfast is served everyday and this area is available thoughout the day to use for reading, relaxing, or playing games. The hosts, Audie and Jenny were very helpful with giving suggestions of activities nearby. They put a lot of effort into making everything as comfortable as possible but are somewhat particular about how they like things to be done. There are lots of requests such as not wearing shoes inside, keeping children supervised, not eating food inside the cabins, etc that might put some people off but I think they are proud of what they have created and want to keep it as perfect as possible.

We enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dedepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paxson
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Denali Highway Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Highway Cabins

Property: Denali Highway Cabins
Address: Mile 185.6 Richardson Hwy & Mile 0.2 Denali Hwy, Paxson, AK 99586
Location: United States > Alaska > Paxson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Paxson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest year-round continuously operating tour and accommodations facility along both the Denali Highway AND the 160 mile stretch of the Richardson Highway from Glennallen to Delta Junction. This is the ORIGINAL "Denali Highway Cabins and Tours;" we also use the name "Paxson Alpine Tours." Please do not be confused by others' misleading names. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Highway Cabins Hotel Paxson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing