We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Denali Highway Cabins
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Paxson
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Alaska 7 Motel(Delta Junction)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
110
28
8
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
28
8
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalmongreat hostslog cabincouple of nightsrivermoosealaskakettlecomfortmountainsjenroadhousevaldezlodgeaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 155 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for one night in a riverside cabin which was both spacious and beautifully appointed. The owners, Audubon and Jenny, were extremely friendly and very helpful, but did not impose their ideas on us - a really welcome change from so many other B&B owners. On Audubon's recommendation we walked to the nearby Swan Lake in the evening and saw several moose - magical.

The great room is a lovely space and full of helpful books and maps for planning the next parts of your Alaskan trip. In the morning the homemade breakfast was delightful and the slides of Paxson through the year a great touch.

This is a model for all other accomodation in Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our only regret was staying just one night. Loved the beauty of the river in a tent that had the most comfortable bed & ambience. Don't miss this experience and wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Tents - all the way!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

While the names of places to stay are VERY confusing in the area, make no mistake and book your stay at THIS place (Denali Highway Cabins). It is FABULOUS! The individual cabins are great (very comfy beds, excellent facilities) and the hosts are just plain delightful. Their knowledge of the area is beyond measure and they are very willing to point you in the directions you want to go (even if you don't know!). Let them know what you want to see and do and they are of great help. The large room where breakfast is served is delightful—a chance to meet others and get to know the hosts.I'll DEFINITELY return to this place. Favorite nearby sights were the radio tower hill, the Denali Highway (take time and enjoy hikes) and the road north toward the glacier.

Room Tip: I think all of them are probably great; they also have tent platforms right down near the river but we stayed in a cabin.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the Argonaut cabin. Although the property is just off the Richardson Highway it is miles away from any major town and the conveniences that come with them. The things most of us take for granted such as running water and electricity are precious commodities here. That being said, the hosts have done a fabulous job of running a property that is almost entirely self contained and self reliant without sacrificing the comforts that travelers are used to having. Our cabin was spacious, had a comfortable queen bed, a couch, writing desk, private bathroom and a deck overlooking the river. There is a great room in the main building where a delicious breakfast is served everyday and this area is available thoughout the day to use for reading, relaxing, or playing games. The hosts, Audie and Jenny were very helpful with giving suggestions of activities nearby. They put a lot of effort into making everything as comfortable as possible but are somewhat particular about how they like things to be done. There are lots of requests such as not wearing shoes inside, keeping children supervised, not eating food inside the cabins, etc that might put some people off but I think they are proud of what they have created and want to keep it as perfect as possible.

We enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

In August 2011 my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful, unforgettable 3 night stay in a standard cabin. The cabin was very clean and well furnished. We took an all day fun and educational naturalist tour led by Audie. We visited a local salmon fish hatchery, walked along the Gulkana River where we saw spawning salmon and wildflowers, and went four wheeling in tundra at Seven Mile Lake just off the Denali Highway. Jenny and Audie were excellent hosts, directing us to several area hikes to lakes and glaciers. Every morning they served delicious breakfasts in the spacious and lovely great room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRJnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews