We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the tents and stay 2 days!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paxson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Highway Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our only regret was staying just one night. Loved the beauty of the river in a tent that had the most comfortable bed & ambience. Don't miss this experience and wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Tents - all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

While the names of places to stay are VERY confusing in the area, make no mistake and book your stay at THIS place (Denali Highway Cabins). It is FABULOUS! The individual cabins are great (very comfy beds, excellent facilities) and the hosts are just plain delightful. Their knowledge of the area is beyond measure and they are very willing to point you in the directions you want to go (even if you don't know!). Let them know what you want to see and do and they are of great help. The large room where breakfast is served is delightful—a chance to meet others and get to know the hosts.I'll DEFINITELY return to this place. Favorite nearby sights were the radio tower hill, the Denali Highway (take time and enjoy hikes) and the road north toward the glacier.

Room Tip: I think all of them are probably great; they also have tent platforms right down near the river but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the Argonaut cabin. Although the property is just off the Richardson Highway it is miles away from any major town and the conveniences that come with them. The things most of us take for granted such as running water and electricity are precious commodities here. That being said, the hosts have done a fabulous job of running a property that is almost entirely self contained and self reliant without sacrificing the comforts that travelers are used to having. Our cabin was spacious, had a comfortable queen bed, a couch, writing desk, private bathroom and a deck overlooking the river. There is a great room in the main building where a delicious breakfast is served everyday and this area is available thoughout the day to use for reading, relaxing, or playing games. The hosts, Audie and Jenny were very helpful with giving suggestions of activities nearby. They put a lot of effort into making everything as comfortable as possible but are somewhat particular about how they like things to be done. There are lots of requests such as not wearing shoes inside, keeping children supervised, not eating food inside the cabins, etc that might put some people off but I think they are proud of what they have created and want to keep it as perfect as possible.

We enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

In August 2011 my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful, unforgettable 3 night stay in a standard cabin. The cabin was very clean and well furnished. We took an all day fun and educational naturalist tour led by Audie. We visited a local salmon fish hatchery, walked along the Gulkana River where we saw spawning salmon and wildflowers, and went four wheeling in tundra at Seven Mile Lake just off the Denali Highway. Jenny and Audie were excellent hosts, directing us to several area hikes to lakes and glaciers. Every morning they served delicious breakfasts in the spacious and lovely great room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRJnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Cabins are top notch. Clean, warm, comfortable, especially when it's raining and snowing outside. Running water & electricity. I forgot to tell them the bulbs in the lamps had burned out. Small continental breakfast was good. Consider bringing some food for dinner, grills are available, which might be a better option than the lodge next door. Compared to many places the Denali Hwy cabins are great. Other reviews mention projects, chickens, dogs, etc...but the chickens lay good eggs, the dogs are friendly, and the projects aren't a problem. Some folks might find Audie a little quirky, but overall they were friendly & accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I took a month long trip driving from Ohio to Alaska, had no reservations anywhere, just planned to wing it. We stumbled upon the Denali Highway Cabins hoping to find a nice place to stay before continuing on our adventure. This was our first stop in Alaska and set the bar quite high! We were told that there were no cabins available for the night, however they did have a Luxurious Tent Cabin. Not sure what to expect, we took one look and LOVED it! It was truly a unique oasis set right on the Gulkana River. The bed was incredibly comfortable and had the perfect amount of blankets for the cold nights. There was a nightstand with a lantern, bench for seating along with a small table with drinking water and glasses and two chairs on the spacious "porch" to enjoy the view. We loved it so much, decided to stay a 2nd night. We had our own (very nice) bathroom that provided all the amenities and had plenty of hot water for showers! The great room was just beautiful and offered several areas of seating. The hosts, Audie and Jenny, could not have been any nicer and offered advice on the area. A great find!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OSUMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were seeing Alaska by car, and decided to drive from Fairbanks to Valdez. Paxson was a nice stop along the way, and so we settled on Denali Highway cabins kind of by default (not much else in that area). Nevertheless, they were a great find. The hosts have done a great job re-creating an upscale B&B feel, with nice furnishings and details in the cabins and a beautiful great room. The only reason I am not giving them 5 stars is that Audie made it really clear that he would not be pleased if our kids (9 & 14) did anything that might potentially soil his beautiful place. We had to take our shoes off indoors and the kids were not allowed in the great room alone. We only stayed one night, so we didn't mind, but if we had stayed longer it could have gotten stressful worrying about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denali Highway Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Highway Cabins

Address: Mile 185.6 Richardson Hwy & Mile 0.2 Denali Hwy, Paxson, AK 99586
Location: United States > Alaska > Paxson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Paxson
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest year-round continuously operating tour and accommodations facility along both the Denali Highway AND the 160 mile stretch of the Richardson Highway from Glennallen to Delta Junction. This is the ORIGINAL "Denali Highway Cabins and Tours;" we also use the name "Paxson Alpine Tours." Please do not be confused by others' misleading names. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Highway Cabins Hotel Paxson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing