We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Review of Knik River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knik River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although it is at the end of the road and isolated what better way to enjoy a visit to Alaska! Cabins are modern and clean, all have great views of the mountains. We hiked after arriving which ended up being a very challenging hike, so be prepared! We ate in the yurt which was good but very expensive so be prepared for a hefty food and drink tab. We had wonderful weather so sat out on the porch and played cards and enjoyed the views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    38
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a coupon. The staff here was very helpful in all ways. The place is a little out of the way, but the location can't be beat. The room is just adequate. The views are outstanding. We were looking forward to having a wonderful dinner in their yurt, but were not told that the chef had quit. So the only thing on the menu was salad. A very pricey salad at that. So needless to say we were disappointed in dinner. We were tired after our drive there and didn't want to drive another 20 minutes or so to reach town for dinner so we sucked it up. The day we were to leave the electric went out and we had to prove to the owner that we had paid him. He collects his money when you make your reservation, so he should have known that we didn't owe him any money. I'm not too sure if I would stay here again. It is just OK.

Room Tip: If you like serenity stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcosheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knik-River-Lodge, General Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. After we lost our chef earlier this year we have been experimenting with a lighter menu with soups and salads but I'm exited to announce that the menu that made us famous is once more available. Our prices are comparable to the better restaurants in Anchorage, we monitor our prices carefully and really think the quality of the food worth every penny. But you are right, we offer a higher-end menu for food and drinks, although our beer & wine prices are lower than in town.

Sorry about the electricity, it is very rare to not have power which is why we have to come to reply on the computers to keep track of payments. While we do collect a partial deposit, we don't charge our guests for the balance until they check out. Really sorry if this caused you any inconvenience.

Thanks again for your review, hope you'll come and enjoy the view again soon. Today is another beautiful sunny day after clear and cool fall night. We saw the first northern lights last night, what a treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The cabins themselves are beautiful, newish, and quite clean. Each one has a TV and the office had a pretty big collection of DVDs. Unfortunately, there is nothing much to do the that could be associated with a cabin by the river. You can't walk to the river as you will need to walk through someone else's property. We asked where the hiking trail was and were given instructions such as "just walk that way till you come to a pipe, then take the trail right next to it. If you see a big moose who hangs out there, just ignore him, he is harmless". When we reached the trail, we realized that it was more of path through shrubs and you had to push the plants out of the way. All entrees on the menu were salads and I did not understand what the rave reviews about the meals were about (I did not eat there). The road signs on the road to the lodge appeared to be peppered with gun shots. We heard a few gun shots go off too, probably and hopefully, related to hunting.

The town of Palmer itself is dead - no good activities or restaurants or areas to visit. In that context, this trip turned out to be our "downtime"- where we did laundry and such in town. These lodges are curiously advertised as "50 miles from Anchorage" rather than as "in Palmer". Had I known it was in Palmer, or that there were no "river related activities" (such as kayaking, rafting, or even walking to it), I would not have visited it. Precious time lost on an expensive Alaska trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashewfeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knik-River-Lodge, Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. You are right, summer in Alaska is short and abundant, so it's hard to keep up with the vegetation growth. We do clear the first part of the trail once a week and people hike to the lake and the glacier viewpoint daily, the view is quite spectacular! We also advise guests to hike along Hunter Creek, just 2 miles away offering wide vistas of the river and Knik glacier. Just a couple more miles down the road we have Pioneer Peak trail, Bodenburg Butte trail and towards Palmer the Matanuska Peak and Lazy Mountain trails. Kayak and bike rentals are available at Eklutna Lake, located in the valley just south of us. Our on-site helicopters make access to all backcountry really convenient and fast; the heli hiking and the kayak tour between the icebergs in Lake George are tremendously popular with our guests and everyone comes back with big smiles from those tours. Finally we have an operator offering airboat and jetboat tours on the Knik River just 3 miles down the road.

For the shooting: yes many visitors are amazed at the amount of bullet holes in road signs in Alaska. You'll see that anywhere in our great state but we agree it's a bit out of the ordinary...

We have been experimenting with our menu to include a lighter fare. Most guests agree that the homemade soups and fresh salads are delicious, especially the salads with salmon, crab and steak have proven very popular and will take care of even the largest appetite.

Palmer is a quaint little town with a few good attractions, but it's by no means a metropolitan city. Many people like the Hatcher's Pass / Indepence Mine area, offering great hiking and beautiful views of the mountains. The Musk-ox Farm is also very popular and a good place to view these unique creatures up close. A drive to Matanuska Glacier is another beautiful option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wow, such a beautiful place, great cabins, beautiful view and peaceful. A true get away...... and then you have the lack of care from the staff. The customer service from check in to check out was not good, not friendly and not helpful. We only stayed here because when we booked our dog sledding adventure it left from here, we had no plans to stay here until I booked the trip and over the phone I was told over and over how great the restaurant was.... I booked the night there on the whole plan of after dogsledding we could relax have a great dinner and leave the next am. Well much to my surprise when we went to dinner to be told by a waitress that did not want to be there or want me to either that they only had two items because they ran out of food due to a wedding the night prior. Yep, thats right ... ran out of food. Ok I am sorry but there is a town 20 minutes away and you knew you would have serval people to feed tonight, may be you sould have went to get some. The only option for appetizer was seafood stew.... ok one choice and dinner was steak or salmon.... yep thats it, so after we finished our soup ( which was good) we then saw the chef taking the steak to the grill, hummm, he should have already started that, so after waiting over 1:15 hour for our dinner and being ate alive by the bugs in the tent it was not a good thing when we finally got out steak and salmon to find there was NO steak sause, no none, they ran out, but she offered me ketchup or bbq sauce... ummm, no. the salmon was bland and not even cooked to rare. I sent the steak back and had NO dinner. It was VERY expensive and the worst meal we had in our ten day trip. When we went to leave we had to beg the guy to check us out and I asked direstions and he laughed and said oh you cant get lost its one road.... well we did and we spent all of our afternoon trying to get back on the right track. We are going back to Alaska but I will not be staying here, nor will I recommend here, and its a shame, the cabins are darling, the area is beautiful but the very bored rude staff makes for a less than good experience. This was what I was most excited about for our trip, i showed pics of the restaurant tent and dinners to people frow weeks prior to going, could not wait to have crab legs in Alaska.... not the same steak I can cook at home. Very sad experience in the tent, others there felt the same it was very strange and the waitress kept letting the door slam behind her to where everyone jumped each time it slammed ..... I wish I owned the lodge, with customer service this could be an outrageous place, thats all they need.

Room Tip: If you still select to go, first off good luck with that and two ask for cabin #9.... best view ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 41ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knik-River-Lodge, Manager at Knik River Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for your candid review. Of course not what we like to read and we do feel the need to clarify some of the issues you bring up. It was indeed unfortunate that we were very low on food ingredients on that specific day, however the items we like to use to achieve the standard that our guests are used to are not available in a supermarket. Most of them are specially ordered from Seattle and have a 1- or 2-weeks delivery lead time. We are usually pretty good at guessing how much we need but in this case we dropped the ball, sorry. We did discuss the option of closing the restaurant, but since it was a Sunday all restaurants in Palmer (the closest town, 30 minutes away) are closed so we thought it would be better to advise our guests of the limited menu options that would be available that day. I remember your dinner very well since it was the only steak that came back this year. I checked the steak and it was cooked perfectly. We offered you steak sauce but you insisted on A-1, a brand that we don't carry and that was why you sent the steak back. That was certainly a first in 8 years of cooking great steaks. We did not charge you for the steak so not sure where the 'very expensive' remark is based on? Our prices compare to the better restaurants in Anchorage and many of our guests are raving about the food, especially the salmon. The door in the restaurant is fixed and closes gently again... We just had two travel groups here for the last 2 days and all the guests are raving about the great service and the food. We are really sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. If you return to Alaska please call us and refer to this experience, we will gladly invite you for dinner and we'll make sure we have the right steak sauce in stock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had organized our tour in Alaska (June 28th- July 8th, 2013) considering the best feed back of Tripadvisor, and I want leave our special one for this lodge.
Alaska is a stunning place, really unique, but the tourism is not at top rated level for the structures of lodges and hotels. Peter,the managing director at kink river lodge, and all his staff made the difference!
Rooms are very cozy, and clean, the restaurant is very good, and the helicopter flight is unbelievable!! From the lodge is possible organize helicopter flight to the close glacier for a sled dog tour (amazing and funny!) or other activities... The see sight is terrific!!
A bit expensive but the best thing to do in Aladka!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlo-sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I found the Knik River Lodge because they offered a coupon in the Alaska tour saver book. This is a WONDERFUL place, coupon or not. The cabins are crisp and clean and simple, but beautiful. There are no bad cabins. The upper ones are staggered behind the lower ones. The lower ones have an unobstructed view, and the upper ones have a higher view. The surrounding area is wonderful. There are hikes all around. We hiked up Lazy Mountain (about a 20 minute drive away, which is very hard). You can fly to the glacier in a helicopter from the lodge (we did not) or just watch it fly in from your own porch. The best thing about Knik River Lodge is the gourmet restaurant in the yurt! Dinner and breakfast were awesome, with great wine and seafood and other selections at dinner. Best meal we had in Alaska. Plus we saw moose three times on the way to and from Knik River Lodge. Don’t miss it.

Room Tip: Select the lower row if available. If booking the upper row, try to get as close to the yurt as pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was extremly impressed! They are better than most hotel rooms. Cabins have everything you could need except blackout curtains. Extremely clean. We had dinner there also and the ribeye was absolutely amazing. Add in a helicopter your too! It is worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
16.6 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
91 reviews
19.0 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
23.5 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Moose Wallow Cabins
Moose Wallow Cabins
#3 of 12 in Palmer
17 reviews
16.4 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#4 of 12 in Palmer
10 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knik River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knik River Lodge

Property: Knik River Lodge
Address: 29979 E Knik River Rd, 50 miles north of Anchorage, Palmer, AK 99645-7311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knik River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself on the deck of a beautiful cabin, pondering the serenity of the wilderness. Look for our resident moose or listen to the great horned owl in his favorite lookout tree on top of the hill. Knik River Lodge is remote enough to be true wilderness, yet just one hour by car from Anchorage. Perfectly situated for exploring South-central Alaska, we invite you to share our magical part of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Knik River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knik River Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing