We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT'S WORTH THE TRIP”
Review of Knik River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knik River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, IL
Level Contributor
207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“IT'S WORTH THE TRIP”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The lodge is such a delight! The cabins are new and arranged well. Peter, the owner, is familiar with AK and will give the needed advice. But the real treat is the scenery. Beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara and Dav... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    37
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Gorgeous setting and views, charming, pretty cabins with exceptional bedding, wonderful food (including breakfast delivered to your cabin each morning!), friendly, accommodating staff, and Peter, who really personalized our experience. This place was perfect in every way, and was a wonderful close to our 2-week Alaska vacation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Transportation to and from our hotel, saw moose both ways, wonderful helicopter trip to and from the Glacier, fantastic dogsledding trip on the Glacier, five star meal on the mountain after the trip! Wow!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kllasact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I am thrilled we our overnight experience at Knik River Lodge. Peter and his staff were so kind and friendly and the service at every level was amazing! The food was spectacular and we really enjoyed the fire pit at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKR907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We just came back from a 12 day trip to Alaska. We stayed at Knik River Lodge the last 3 nights. I had been emailing back and forth with Peter, the owner, for many months. I explained to him that this trip was for our 30 anniversary. I had asked him about the helicopter adventures that they offered and after listening to my preferences, he suggested that we take the all day photo tour. He arranged everything for us. As was very accommodating of my wishes and needs.
All I can tell you is that this was a "ONCE IN A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE!!!" Peter went above and beyond my wildest expectations. The cabins were immaculate, charming and cozy. The pinnacle of our trip was the photo tour and it was amazing. Peter arranged for a professional photographer as our guide and he not only took us to some amazing spots but he also taught me so much about photography. He even lent me some very expensive lenses to use that day.

That night we ate our dinner in the yurt and the food was the same quality as a 4 star restaurant with the warmth of the yurt as our dining room.

I highly recommend you stay with Peter at the Knik River Lodge. The quality of food, service and hospitality is second to none!!!

Room Tip: Each room and view is just as good as the next....you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It's been about two weeks since our stay at the Knik River Lodge and I'm still thinking about the French Onion soup. Divine is a word I don't use often. This is undeniably worth breaking it out: The French Onion soup was divine.

My husband and I found a Groupon for the Knik River Lodge and added it into our Alaska vacation. We have family in Anchorage and all agreed that we'd try the place out since it seemed like a good deal. After an exhilirating day of exploring the trails near Knik Glacier, we followed this obscure dirt road to what seemed like a total dead end and happily recognized the red roofed cabins we remembered from the online photos. On first glance, the cabins appear underwhelming, but trust me...don't judge yet. They're surprisingly spacious. Not a palatial suite by any means, but a perfectly sized cabin for a couple with tons of bags needing a good night's sleep. The beds were comfortable, the shower was hot and the deck was a perfect spot to enjoy the view.

We cleaned up in time to walk to the yurk (yay - new word in this WI girl's vocab!) for dinner, though having never seen a yurk before, I was a little apprehensive. Boy was I in for a surprise. The room was quiet, nicely furnished and filled with other couples and families enjoying their drinks and dinner. The menu is small but well-suited for many tastes. We started with the french onion soup that I cannot get over, enjoyed the ribeye with mouth-watering pommes savoyes and veggies, paired perfectly with a nice red wine and a microbrew for my hubby. We often enjoy good food, and while I wouldn't venture as far as calling us "foodies," years of eating stuff lends me enough experience to say the food was spectacular. The dessert of orange cognac creme brulee was soooooo good.

Good hiking trail. Great views. Internet worked as expected. Friendly staff. We were very happy with our experience here and would highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luluchelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

At the end of a road that makes you wonder, "are we lost", and you decided to continue for just one minute, you will find Knik River lodge. Owner/master chef Peter welcomes you and shows you to your very accommodating & clean wooden cabin. Located on a sloping hillside, all of these cabin provide you with a view you wish you could take back home. The ambiance is almost surreal. Moose wonder the green fields and bushes, eagles sore the fresh & clear sky. But the best part is yet to come. Peter shows his true skills while cooking incredible food which you get served in his restaurant located in an Alaskan style yurt. The man can cook!! And he knows which wine fits best with his creations.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MMBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
16.6 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
82 reviews
19.0 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
23.5 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#4 of 12 in Palmer
9 reviews
21.7 mi away
Moose Wallow Cabins
Moose Wallow Cabins
#3 of 12 in Palmer
17 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knik River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knik River Lodge

Property: Knik River Lodge
Address: 29979 E Knik River Rd, 50 miles north of Anchorage, Palmer, AK 99645-7311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knik River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself on the deck of a beautiful cabin, pondering the serenity of the wilderness. Look for our resident moose or listen to the great horned owl in his favorite lookout tree on top of the hill. Knik River Lodge is remote enough to be true wilderness, yet just one hour by car from Anchorage. Perfectly situated for exploring South-central Alaska, we invite you to share our magical part of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Knik River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knik River Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing