We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE OWNER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hatcher Pass B & B in early September in one of the Sourdough cabins. The cabins are small, but all that is needed. Liz Jackson, the owner is one of the nicest people I have ever worked with. We came in late in a rain storm and did not have much time to visit the grounds, but would stay here again with no hesitation. The road traffic was a little noisy at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcryar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Hatcher Pass B&B on our last two nights before departing Alaska. It is a very clean cabin!! We were greeted by a very pleasant hostess. This B&B is very close to Hatcher Pass, if you have plans to hike or whatever. The fridge had everything you might need to make breakfast. The only issue (which our hostess apologized for upfront) was alot of large trucks travelling on the main road. Road construction towards Palmer. One nice little perk, she had made us fresh pastries for breakfast one morning!!! Yummy!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_scarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Perfectly located little cabin. Private and a nice place to relax for the evening.
Loved that she provided just a few things (more than enough for us) so that we could make our own breakfast and just hang out in the room before we headed out on the road again. Very well worth every penny of our stay. We will def be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Hatcher Pass the end of July and found the cabin very nicely decorated and stocked with everything we needed for an overnight stay. Liz was enjoyable to visit with as she shared information on the colony history and gave us directions to the only dairy farm in the area which we did find and was able to learn about milk production in Alaska. Our late afternoon trip up to Hatch Pass and the Gold Mine really gave us a great first taste of the beauty of Alaska. I would recommend this B&B as a place to stay if you are near Palmer Alaska

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rspete21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Liz is very welcoming and the cabin was well stocked with food. The natural bush surrounds are beautiful. Cabins are small but very cimfortable and contain all you need. I would certainly recommend this place to stay in Alaska.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Grande Cabin for two nights in July. The cabin is solid solid solid and although probably a bit of an overkill for two people, we found it perfect. In fact, we talked about how we would love to have this exact cabin closer to home. (It won't happen!) We found Liz to be a wonderful host. She was as available as we wanted her to be and was very responsive to emails sent while we were there.

I really enjoyed the food that she left for breakfast. It was ample and varied. The grounds were lovely. I took so many pictures of the flowers. Baskets on the cabins and so much fireweed.... and check out the forget me nots in the raised bed. So pretty.

You can do laundry at the quickmart/ gas station the corner; just take a relaxed attitude and a sense of humor. :)

If we ever make it back to Palmer, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would stay in the grande Cabin again, even with just the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloesMomBetsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The area around the cabins was unkempt and the grass appeared not to have been cut for many weeks. The cabin itself was spotlessly clean - no mean feat given the location & design. However the owners have tried to pack far too much into a tiny space. The bed is immediately beside the front door. There is no wardrobe or other space to hang clothes and v little drawer space. No dressing table. Worst of all there is no wash hand basin in the bathroom so the only place to wash and shave is the kitchen sink in the tiny kitchen area Do you fancy washing your hands after using the toilet in the same sink as you do the washing up? The shower and toilet is in a funny module-thing and you have to climb up a step to it. If the owners had been a bit more realistic and either built a bigger cabin so that it could accommodate a bathroom and kitchen or if they had not tried to put in cooking facilities it would have been fine but to try to arrange cooking facilities in such a tiny place was unrealistic

Room Tip: Maybe the bigger chalets may be better, though we didn't see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnfaeHuntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HatcherPassLiz, Owner at Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

I appreciate your feedback on the sourdough cabins layout - and am sorry that it was unsuitable for your needs. Let me provide a little history on the sourdough cabin (which in Alaskan lingo refers to an "old time" Alaskan). The sourdough cabins were built in the 90's and at that time they were one of about three bed and breakfasts in the area. They had no running water and the bathroom was a chemical toilet. When I purchased the business in 1997, the first thing I did was add a bathroom, kitchenette, and running water to each cabin. The raised floor to the bathroom allows plumbing to be underneath the floor, and yes, there is only one sink in the cabin. I had stayed in cabins elsewhere and that is the set up they had - so I copied the idea as there is limited space in the cabins that are only 14 x 18. Also, the provision for clothing is provided by hooks on the log walls with hangars placed on them - also not what you would find at a hotel - but unique and it works.
As for the grass that hadn't been mowed - no, it was not mowed nor would it ever be - it is left in the natural state because I believe the wild flowers and other vegetation are really beautiful. Others have commented that they appreciated that vegetation was left in a natural state. There is a mowed lawn on the property, but mainly the natural vegetation is left purposely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
11.0 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
7.8 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
6.9 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Knik River Lodge
Knik River Lodge
#1 of 12 in Palmer
239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Moose Wallow Cabins
Moose Wallow Cabins
#3 of 12 in Palmer
18 reviews
7.3 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#4 of 13 in Palmer
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9000 N Palmer Fishhook Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-8043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range: $102 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast where you will experience Alaska's finest log cabins with all the modern conveniences of private bath, kitchen, phone, and TV/DVD/WiFi. Nestled at the base of beautiful Hatcher Pass, Alaska - home to a variety of outdoor activities in any season -only 50 miles north of Anchorage, eight miles from Palmer, and 10 from Wasilla. Relax in the comfort and beauty that is yours at Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast.* Hiking* Sightseeing* Glaciers, mountains, rivers and lakes* A truly peaceful, relaxing, and spectacularly beautiful area of Alaska* Barbecues, firepit for hot dog roasts and relaxing, decks with southern view of Pioneer Peak, others decks with view of the Talkeetna Mountains of Hatcher Pass* Comfortable beds, sparkling clean cabins, and all the comforts of home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatcher Pass Bed And Breakfast
Hatcher Pass Hotel Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing