We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway spot that is off the beaten track”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
1 review
“A great getaway spot that is off the beaten track”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay that offers more privacy and serenity than a hotel room, then this is the place for you. The cabin we stayed in was perfect for a romantic getaway for 2, it was clean, cozy, and very cute. We really enjoyed the stocked kitchenette and homemade cookies that were waiting for us when we checked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    30
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
95
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Griesheim, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Grande Cabin really much. It was so beautiful and quiet and the cabin was equipped with everything. The owner Liz is very friendly and helpfull and the have a really nice dog. Unfortunately we stayed there only 3 nights and that was too short. The canin is very clean and you feel very well. We will come back and stay there again. I can fully recommand it.
Nadja

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadjasylke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here on two separate nights. The cabins are pretty nice and warm. They even leave the breakfast in the fridge so you can cook it whenever you wake up in the morning; a nice little change. However, the cabins are not in as much wilderness as I was expecting. The surrounding area is fairly sparsely populated, however there's a very bright gas station directly across the street from the cabins. It forced us to keep the blinds closed, which definitely detracted from the whole experience. Hatcher Pass is nearby, which is definitely a beautiful place and well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HatcherPassLiz, Owner at Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the "cook your own style breakfast" in the cabin, and I am sorry that the convenience store across the street was a problem for you. During the summer months, when the leaves are on the birch and cottonwood trees, there is a better barrier between my business and the store's, but in the winter when all the trees are bare it is more visible. To provide a view of Pioneer Peak without that interference, I am looking into building a fence that would block the store. Again, thank you for choosing Hatcher Pass B&B for your lodging needs and taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon, on our way to Denali. The cabin we stayed in was adorable and the perfect little getaway after a day of white water rafting. Liz was great and we loved meeting the dogs. Do your own breakfast is genius! Would highly recommend the Hatcher Pass!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Arkansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed several days at Hatcher's Pass B & B in June 2012. It was one of the best places we have ever stayed. Clean, comfortable, and wonderful breakfast food. Liz is a gem. Hospitality is her gift. Son really enjoyed playing with Amarita the labrador. Fond memories that we want to repeat again soon. Thank you Liz!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUboogaloo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Easy to book, property is exactly as described, owner is helpful and friendly. I arranged a late arrival with no problem. I communicated with the owner during my stay by phone and in person and had everything I needed. 13 degrees below zero and i was toasty warm. Conveniently located to summer and winter outdoor activities. Independence Mine is just up the road and is a must.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I spent June 25th, 2012 at Hatcher Pass B&B. This was the last night in our cruise/road trip. We drove down from Denali that morning and spent a leisurely day along the route and stopped in Wasilla to see the Iditarod museum. We had initially booked into a suite in the house, but were happy to be upgraded to a Grande cabin. The cabin was quite comfortable and very roomy. Liz stocked the fridge with foods to make breakfast - eggs, sausage, muffins and some pastry. Very good stuff, and it was nice to just whip up a nice hot breakfast in the morning.

The cabin was extremely well stocked with everything we could need. We were very cozy, happy to be able to turn on a TV and get local news, and happy for wifi. It made all the check-in easy for our flight the next day and let us make a couple last minute queries for our last day's activities.

This B&B is just down the road from Independence Mine. We didn't have solid plans for our day, but Independence Mine was a possibility. We went up there and wished we had planned a little more time for it. A lot of the mine is still visible and the drive up was very pretty. As our flight the next evening wasn't until 9:30, we drove out to the Matanuska glacier the following day and were able to walk out there and be very close to it all. This was also a very worthwhile excursion.

Hatcher Pass B&B was a great last stop and offered us a nice stopping point between Denali and Anchorage. It also allowed us some flexibility so that if our weather turned bad, we could easily have skipped Matanuska and gone in to Anchorage to see the museum there or some other activity. We were far enough out of Anchorage that it made the other stuff easy, but not so far out that we couldn't head into town if our plans needed to change.

The B&B is out in the woods (like most of Alaska) but across the street from some kind of maintenance garage. If you don't like the view of the garage, just go sit out on the other side of the cabin and you'll just be looking at any other beautiful wooded lot in AK. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
10.9 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
6.9 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
81 reviews
23.5 mi away
Knik River Lodge
Knik River Lodge
#1 of 12 in Palmer
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
7.3 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#4 of 12 in Palmer
9 reviews
9.5 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Address: 9000 N Palmer Fishhook Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-8043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast where you will experience Alaska's finest log cabins with all the modern conveniences of private bath, kitchen, phone, and TV/DVD/WiFi. Nestled at the base of beautiful Hatcher Pass, Alaska - home to a variety of outdoor activities in any season -only 50 miles north of Anchorage, eight miles from Palmer, and 10 from Wasilla. Relax in the comfort and beauty that is yours at Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast.* Hiking* Sightseeing* Glaciers, mountains, rivers and lakes* A truly peaceful, relaxing, and spectacularly beautiful area of Alaska* Barbecues, firepit for hot dog roasts and relaxing, decks with southern view of Pioneer Peak, others decks with view of the Talkeetna Mountains of Hatcher Pass* Comfortable beds, sparkling clean cabins, and all the comforts of home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatcher Pass Hotel Palmer
Hatcher Pass Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing