We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska's Harvest B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We did not stay at Alaska's Harvest B&B. We stayed at their Cottage. While I have already given a review, I'll be glad to do so again. We had a great view of mountains on three sides. Got photos of moose trying to eat the neighbor's garden. The Cottage was cozy and clean. We enjoyed the peace and quiet. It was far enough out of town to give the wilderness effect, yet close enough to Palmer to be able to take advantage of the town's amenities. We based out of The Cottage for a week going to Girdwood, Denali, Anchorage, Knik Glacier, the Reindeer Farm and other attractions. We really enjoyed our stay and Collette did everything she could to make our stay enjoyable. highly recommend The Cottage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived late and left early, but the accommodations were amazing. Beautiful home! I liked that the owner left a note on the door for us and we were able to come and go without interrupting the other guests or the owner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

No trip to the Mat-su Valley in Alaska is complete without staying at the
Alaska's Harvest B&B. This is the most beautiful and serene home I have
ever visited. It is the perfect Alaskan atmosphere. Collette is so kind and
hospitable. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The gorgeous home and accommodations were perfect --- beautiful scenery, super clean, comfortable, welcoming. Our room had a view of the mountain and of the goats which we loved watching. There was plenty of a variety of breakfast foods in the refrigerator --- juices, fruit, yogurt. We were so pleased and highly recommend Alaska's Harvest B & B. We liked the privacy of coming and going without having to bother either our host or other guests.

Room Tip: We had the suite which was very roomy and could accommodate a large family easily,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I would both visit again and recommend Alaska's Harvest B & B to anyone who cared to consider it. My first impression upon arrival was both warm and welcoming. The proprieter greeted us and made us feel welcome. The facility was a home that opened it's doors to travelers. It was interesting, clean, and ever so comfortable. This B & B was close to Palmer but yet rural enough to allow us the enjoyment of the country living. The scenery almost defies description. I see that some travelers didn't care for the in-room kitchenette, but we were aware of that element before we made reservations. I arrived ill and stayed in bed the entire next day. I wasn't bothered, but was offered via my husband whatever assistance I felt I needed. We were welcomed and treated as valued guests. Thank you, Collette and Joe.

Room Tip: We had the Reindeer room with the most comfortable king-sized bed. The adjacent bathroom had a conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MavaM943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I would not recommend this B & B for its hospitality. A post it note on the door directs you to your room and breakfast consists of COSTCO muffins, dry cereal etc in your room. There was little opportunity to interact with other guests. The owners were quite frank about liking to enjoy their summers touring Alaska.

The place itself is in a beautiful setting, and it would have been nice to enjoy a glass of wine on the deck except for the "NO Alcohol" policy which is not found on the web site or in the contract. It is posted as "House Rules" once you've checked in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collette h, Owner at Alaska's Harvest B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

JoL,
Thank you so much for posting a review. We always welcome input and want to improve anything that will make the stay for our guests the best it can be! I have since updated the website to state that we are a "no-alcohol, no-smoking" home. That was my oversight for sure. All our hard copy advertising has it clearly printed on it (rack cards, business cards, flyers) but when the website was built I truly just missed getting it in. We honestly have no issue with a guest having wine or a beer in their rooms, or even while relaxing on our amazing back deck with its view. In fact, most every European guest we have does exactly that and many of the usual guests as well. Sadly in 13 years of sharing our home with approx 1000 guests a year, we have learned the HARD and destructive way that if we leave it "open" for the guest to decide, we end up with very unacceptable situations that additionally ruin a good stay for OTHER GUESTS too. Our "rules" are almost 100% for the sake of OTHERS- having many guests in the house at one time and learning that often people do not THINK to be mindful of what helps the stay be enjoyable for those who are also paying for a good night's sleep and peaceful stay.
Again, thank you for posting the oversight or I'd have not likely noticed we needed to add that statement to our website!
We do explain in our confirmation email that EVERYONE gets a personal note on our front door whether we are home or not so they do not have to find us away in the barn, or mowing or off on a hike and WONDER what to do. Everything is always completely ready and waiting for our guests, no locked front door ever, and no such thing as arriving too late if they get to enjoying the sites in our wonderful long summer days. YES!! We LOVE them too! And we enjoy our awesome surroundings to the fullest each chance we get. But, we see no reason not to make our home and awesome view available to others at the same time! God has blessed us beyond measure and we love to share it with others!!! Collette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We happened upon this lovely B & B when we were looking for a place to spend the night in Palmer, Alaska so we could visit friends there. This is a wonderful find! I highly recommend it! The owner/operator, Collette could not have been more gracious or helpful. The facility is clean, well appointed with Alaskana and in a beautiful country setting complete with horses & sheep grazing off the deck. We had the Pioneer room which was spacious and perfect for our needs. It was extremely well stocked with breakfast foods and snacks. We appreciate Collette being so flexible with the needs for our Daisy. A really GREAT experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denalihalibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
10 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
6 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
18.2 mi away
Knik River Lodge
Knik River Lodge
#1 of 12 in Palmer
239 reviews
4 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#5 of 13 in Palmer
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska's Harvest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska's Harvest B&B

Address: 2252 Love Drive, PO Box 2092, Palmer, AK 99645
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range: $105 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska's Harvest Bed & Breakfast is perfectly suited for a quiet, serene stay with an incredible view of the surrounding majestic mountains. The remote feeling of our 15 acres of forest and the barn with sheep create the perfect Alaskan atmosphere for your South Central Alaskan visit. Frequently moose meander through our yard as well. Each room has private full bath. The kitchenette in your suite is stocked with a generous variety of continental breakfast choices. Room prices range from $119- $169 for 2. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing