We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely good value, spacious cabin, good breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Ranked #3 of 12 Palmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely good value, spacious cabin, good breakfast.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We can HIGHLY recommend, The Alaska Garden Gate B & B and cottages, which are a short drive from
Palmer, in a very pleasent garden setting, with a great view of the Knik Glacier and Chugach mountains,
we had the Evergreen Retreat, and could not have been more pleased or comfortable, - two bedrooms,
and a lounge which has a couch, TV, and 2 big windows for natural light.
The bathroom is well set up, and has spare towels, a substantial breakfast is supplied in your cottage,
and unlike some hotels, the parking and WiFi are FREE.
Thanks Karen and Camille, our short stay at your property, made our 17th anniversary, and our first visit
to Alaska a very special and memorable one. Stayed August 2013 - R and M - Australia.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russel-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and get to talk with you a little bit! Thank you so much for choosing our B&B as part of your special anniversary trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    37
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
92
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a very nice duplex cottage, quiet, full kitchen, comfortable beds, nice shower and bathroom, view of Knik Glacier from our window. We recommend this place highly if you are staying in the Palmer area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! It was nice to meet you and host your stay.
--Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
330 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Karen, at Garden Gate, runs a very good operation, clean, efficient, self contained duplex and cabin units. Located midway between Palmer and Wasilla makes for easy access. View of Knik glacier across the new Trunk Road highway. Convenient location for all aspects of the Matanuska valley area. Had a great visit up the road to Independence Mine State Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. I appreciate it! It was nice to have you here. I'm glad you enjoyed the natural beauty and activities we have around here!
-Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My son and I stayed in one of the cottages for 4 nights. It had a queen size bed and a twin size sofa bed. We had our own kitchenette. They provided coffee for the coffee maker, breakfast was left in our fridge the night before. I loved the muffins and quiche!! I wish I could have enjoyed the grounds more but we were out every day. I did lots of research before deciding on this place and I was very happy with my choice. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrlySandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for putting in a review! I'm glad you two had a good time here with your busy days sightseeing! It was a pleasure to meet you and host your stay,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found this super cute b&b at www.bringfido.com at the last leg of our unplanned trip to Valdez during Memorial Day weekend. Not many places accept big dogs and if they do, they are already booked so we hoped and prayed that AK Garden Gate B&B would have an availability. When Karen called back, we high-tailed over and to our surprise the b&b was a total gem!! So thankful for Karen’s gracious hospitality!! We stayed in the Forest Haven Guest Apt. which is located under the main house – what a lovely, spacious apt with a fireplace, small kitchenette with a breakfast nook. It was quiet (except when our dogs barked probably because of a moose or folks walking pass the apt.), comfy and cozy. For breakfast we had yummy quiche, blueberry muffins and bananas. I highly recommend Alaska Garden Gate B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twopupsandalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our B&B! We look forward to having you back again. -Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Karen immediately upgraded our room for the original price when our smaller unit was not available. We liked the detached units. it is above the highway, but accommodations are immaculate, very modern and comfortable. Breakfast was fine and placed in the room as is the custom in many places in Alaska. We try to be flexible and adapt to different practices when we travel and not be rigid about minor details and so we highly recommend the Alaskan Garden Gate B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It was nice to meet you and thanks for staying with us! We like offering upgrades if we have any openings in our Luxury Cottages, just to make your vacation a little extra special!

The two Luxury Cottages are perched closest to the edge of our hill, where Trunk Road is below us, because we wanted the Luxury Cottages to have the most premium views of Knik Glacier and the Chugach mountains. We have a sweeping view from our high location. As our Mat-Su Valley grows, there is more traffic, even out here in the country. It's been uncharacteristically HOT (in the 70 and 80s!!) so many guests have opted to have their windows open at night. Such warm temperatures are almost unheard of in our area, so recently we know guests have been hearing more road noise. Both the ceiling fan in the bedroom and the white noise machine in each of the cottages' bedrooms help make a great sleeping environment. --Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Cute accommodations overlooking a busy four-lane highway. Clean and modern. Shamelessly misrepresented and overpriced. Breakfast consists of: omelet prepared afternoon before by host, wrapped in cling wrap and placed on a paper plate, NO COFFEE (but a coffee maker with filters is available for your use), two literally and visibly spoiled oranges, an envelope of instant oatmeal, an English muffin with portion of jam, and bottle of orange juice for each guest. All items placed in your mini-fridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I'm glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and clean. I apologize that there wasn't a full coffee can in your cottage--that was a mistake. I live in the main house, 30 yards away from the cottage you stayed in, so I'm available to help! I show every guest the sign above the coffee maker with our info, like the internet password and how to contact me. Guests can either walk over to our house to find me, or call or text! We try to make it easy, and we stress that if we've overlooked anything, we'd like to make it right. I specifically put a handwritten note in each cottage and apartment this year that says we're happy when people take the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, but please, if there's something that we can improve while you're staying, please ask us!

I strongly object to your saying that we are misrepresenting and that we are overpriced. We are not the cheapest, but for clean, modern and full amenities, we offer very good value compared to other lodging in our region. The breakfast you describe is exactly what we advertise and is more than an average "continental" breakfast. We prefer to offer a more full breakfast (in a basket in your own kitchen) so for those who want a protein, there are eggs that are easily reheated. Each day I bake quiches (Salmon Dill with our Copper River King salmon, or reindeer sausage, or Quiche Lorraine, or veggie, among them) or make omlettes which we cover and place in your breakfast basket in addition to choices like yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, juice and pastry. Selections change each day because many of our guests stay a week or more with us. I take pride in offering something different each day while they're here. Some days I bake fresh banana bread, wild cranberry bread or blueberry muffins, and other days it'll be English muffins or breads that are store-bought. Some days I mix in the store-bought items like Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches or boiled eggs so people who aren't 'into" quiche have something different. While it's a challenge to meet every need to be gluten free or dairy free or no eggs, we try to make sure there's something for everyone.

As the president of the B&B Association of Alaska, the chief complaint I see come to our association from visitors is "all I got for breakfast was a muffin and a juice." There are many fine B&Bs who still cook a hot, made to order breakfast in their house, but the majority of Alaska B&Bs now offer a type of continental breakfast. Those of us who strive for high standards try to make it much more than "a muffin and a juice." I am very open to guests' feedback and seek to keep current on breakfast trends.

I also strongly object to the one "dot" rating that this guest has given us. While guests may not realize how keenly important TripAdvisor reviews are to my small business and reputation, I can tell you that it has a very negative impact. I'm very sorry that this guest did not have coffee when he was ready to enjoy it, but a quick call to me could have remedied that! One "dot" puts us in the same category as the icky places with curly hairs on the toilet, drug deals in the room next door, and bar fights downstairs. That is not at all what we offer our valued guests. We hope future guests will give us the opportunity to share our little cottages and stunning mountain and glacier views with them. --Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
3.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
5.3 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
7.2 mi away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#4 of 12 in Palmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Garden Gate B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Property: Alaska Garden Gate B & B
Address: 950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645-7428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alaska Garden Gate B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, between Palmer and Wasilla, Alaska, just 35 minutes north of Anchorage. Take in the breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains while relaxing in the comfortable setting of your private apartment. At Alaska Garden Gate, we offer seven cottages and five guest apartments to accommodate the needs of everyone, from corporate travelers or international tourists. We feature Queen and King beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, full kitchens and living rooms, cable TV and free wireless internet. Additionally, a generous breakfast buffet is provided 7:30-9:30 a.M. Make our B&B your home away from home while you explore on day-trips in all directions. From everyone at Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, we look forward to sharing our love of Alaska with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Alaska Garden Gate B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing