We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would definitely stay again!”
other travelers have booked this property
Familly fun on the lake. lawn games, boating, fishing, swiming, campfires and more
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Familly fun on the lake. lawn games, boating, fishing, swiming, campfires and more
Deluxe lake front resort encompased by stunning mountain &  lake views. Quality beds, Alaskan Art Relax & BBQ on large private decks with beautifull mountain and lake views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Familly fun on the lake. lawn games, boating, fishing, swiming, campfires and more
Deluxe lake front resort encompased by stunning mountain &  lake views. Quality beds, Alaskan Art
Relax & BBQ on large private decks with beautifull mountain and lake views
Canoe Lake with stunning mountain views fish, boat, swim, lake toys, explore
Everyone loves the lake!! Fun for all -fish, kayak, swim, boat, float-- relax
Canoe Lake natural, quiet, pristine, non motorized boats only
You are Moose Welcome to Canoe Lake Chalet Resort
Private deck with BBQ overlooking the lake and panoriamic mountain views.
Front view of the chalet
View from the private deck
EAGLES NEST - vaulted ceilings large picture windows, beautiful lake & mountain views, door to deck
Miles of recreation trails weaving amoungst 10 lakes stocked with fish- right out your door
EAGLES NEST -livingroom vaulted cieling
EAGLES NEST - Vaulted ceilings over living/dining room with Mt. & lake views and walk out deck
Visits from our resident moose are quite exciting, Keep your camera ready!!!
EAGLES NEST - Large fully stocked kitchen great for large groups.
EAGLES NEST - kitchen & entry way
EAGLES NEST - X-Large dining room table seats 8 to 12 for family meals
EAGLES NEST - vaulted ceilings upstairs open to below
EAGLES NEST -staircase to top story with den, Alaska Perch Room, full bath, office with vaulted ceilings open to below
EAGLES NEST -Alaska Luxury Suit private door to deck
EAGLES NEST -Alaska Luxury Suite
EAGLES NEST-  Alaska Luxury Suite with private full bath, deep soaking tub, shower, double sinks
EAGLES NEST - big clawfot tub fun for kids too!!
EAGLES NEST - Alaska Luxury Suite separate shower & clawfoot tub
EAGLES NEST- Alaska Dynasty Rm - sleeps 2 to 4 with queen bed and comfy full size futon
EAGLES NEST -Alaska Perch bdrm twin beds
EAGLE NEST  upstairs den lounging area
EAGLES NEST - den lounging area with comfotable futon ready for additional sleeping option
EAGLES NEST - upstair full bath/shower
Relax while canoeing & fishing in serine solitude
RELAX  on quiet private lake front
Kids love the floating dock, fishing for guppies, & swimming! Never a dull moment!
4 person paddle boat fun for all ages
Kids love to fish for minnows and hunt for frogs, bugs, and enjoy natural adventures
Colorful winter sunrise mountain views - AMAZING!
Enjpy winter fun - skiing, sledding, snow mobile just out the door
Beautiful  Rainbow Trout and Grayling Fishing!
Incredible salmon fishing on nearby rivers with glacier views!
Moderat hike up the Butte Mt. close by  with spectacular view of surrounding mountains and glaciers
Pioneer Peak from on top of the Butte Mt.
Ride ATVs on wilderness trails back to glaciers and rivers - adventure awaits close by
Extreme hiking  - adventures close by!
Scenic flights over local mountains and glacier country, view Mt. Goats and Dahl Seep, bear, moose etc
Wild rides on class 2 to 5 river rafting on local glacier fed rivers
Visit Historic Independance Hard Rock Mine in Hatchers Pass just 20 min away
Hosts Kevin & Geri McCann enjoying hiking in Hatchers Pass surrounded by jagged peaks
Extreme day hiking up local mountain incredible glacier & mountain views below
Hike  on glaciers just Knik Glacier 20 min away or Matanuska Glacier 50 min away
Take a jet boat, ATV ride, or helecopter to Knik Glacier 20 min away
Mild adventure hiking or mountain biking right out our door on recreation trails fun for all ages!
Maps guide the way along our well  marked and maintianed hiking trails just out our door
Our trails wind amongst 8 lakes with incredible moutain views along the way
Palmer is famous for our giant veggies - 100 lb cabbages, 1,000 lb pumpkins!
We enjoyed  our most peculiar guests - Hollywood Pirates who performed at Alaska State Fair, so fun!
Excellent salmon fishing on near by rivers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Palmer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JCVEA
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definitely stay again!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Bear Den on the lower level of this chalet. It had a beautiful view, was comfortable and clean, and it was nice to have our own kitchen to cook in. I would definitely recommend it. The owners are very kind and helpful. Just give them a call if you have a question.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was great for where we wanted to be.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danarbrad
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place in Palmer”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property is an excellent choice for a large group or family. You are able to rent the upstairs or downstairs unit- or both. There were 8 of us so we rented both upstairs and downstairs and had plenty of room. The house is VERY clean and well taken care of. After a walk down a fairly steep incline, you come to the lake. The views are gorgeous here! This property is very close to Palmer which is handy for trips to the grocery store. This was our home base for several activities around the area. You won't be disappointed with this property!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecriswell...
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Out”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Canoe Lake Chalet was amazing! This is the perfect place to use as a base camp for day trips to see so many different parts of Alaska! The bear den was perfect for our family of five! Plenty of room with every amenity necessary. Geri had the kitchen packed full of cooking utensils, pots, pans, spices, etc!

The lake was great for the kids perfect for fishing. We caught 12 rainbow trout in about two hours. Fishing tip...look for the fish jumping out of water as they are feeding. Toss your bait right after they break the water with a spinning lure reel at medium speed. Wait for strikes!

We used Geri's crampons to visit Mantanuska Glacier. It was great! Don't forget the crampons! Also, if you stay in the area don't miss Hatcher's Pass! We went twice because it was so close and so beautiful! Talkeetna was amazing! Do this for sure! Denali and the railroad were amazing from there! Probably our favorite town we visited! Listen to Geri she knew exactly what to do and when to do it! Thank you Geri for all the wonderful advice! Your knowledge was critical for our wonderful Alaska experience!

We gained several friends through our trip as well from our stay! Do what you can to stay here! This is a great spot for seeing and experiencing Alaska!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2014
We enjoyed your whole family coming to stay with us. You were all such a blessing and we feel like kindred spirits and we developed a real friendship with you.. It was wonderful to see how much fun you had in everything you did no matter if it was raining or sunshine!! You truly are a special family to us. It is wonderful to stay in touch on FaceBook!!! We hope you will return and stay with us again...
With love,
Kevin and Geri McCann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V
1 review
“Excellent home with spectacular view, wonderful central location!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Me and my family with a 5yr and 10yr boys had plenty of room in home. Very clean home with wonderful amenities. I really liked being on the lake. I liked being out of town and away from the traffic of vacationers, but still close enough to get to grocery store (5-7 min). There are a chain of lakes that connect to this lake which make it very nice for hiking trails. A very wonderful stay. Booking agent was very helpful and courteous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lake and view
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cst1996
Palmer, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Home”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The views are beautiful and my favorite place is the deck in the morning with a cup of coffee. I spent Christmas here and my 2 boys came up to visit and loved the sledding hill. The home is comfortable and cozy. I have greatly enjoyed my time here and love the decor'. I would definitely recommend staying here even during winter. It is a quick drive to Wasilla or Palmer and easy access to highway to head to Anchorage or the hospital.
The Northern Lights from the deck are incredible! The claw foot tub in the master bathroom is wonderful for relaxation, book reading and bubble baths.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the home was beautiful. Owners were receptive to MOST issues and very helpful.
Liked least: It was advertised with WI-FI and spent hours on the phone with technical support trying to resolve problem. Owners tried to help but took 2 months to fix the issue.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our chalet and were comfortable and cozy this winter. Nothing compares to the views of Northern Lights dancing over the mountains and lake. Relaxing on the deck is a favorite place for most of our guests , along with soaking in the tub! It is great your boys came up for Christmas break and had fun on the sledding hill.
We apologize for the temporary glitch in the WI-Fi. Now with the new high speed router, it is better than ever, and there should be no more interruptions with Wi-Fi.
Yes the close proximity to Palmer, Wasilla and Anchorage are a big plus. With the hospital just 3 miles away it is ideal accommodations for medical professionals such as yourself who come to work at the hospital.

Thank you for your compliments, and for choosing Canoe Lake Chalet for your winter stay in Alaska.

Sincerely,
Geri and Kevin McCann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
627Barb
Mauldin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely the Best!!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We will NEVER forget our stay at Canoe on the Lake with the wonderful accommodations, incredible views, and gracious hosts!!!! Geri & Kevin gave us complete privacy, but were extremely helpful with making our week everything we hoped for with their knowledge of the area and their giving ways. Returning "home" after a day of exploring Alaska was great in saving $ with complete kitchen and extras. Provided were movies, books, tourist guides, as well as the outdoor availability of dock, canoe, paddle boat, vests, and outdoor fire pit overlooking the lake. 5 stars to the accommodations and hosts!!!! Thank you for extensive efforts for your guests!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great accommodations and gracious hosts!!
Liked least: Leaving!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$225
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing