We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Manageable and Scenic Hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodenburg Butte

Bodenburg Butte
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Nixa, MO
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Manageable and Scenic Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We took the West Side (easier) route on a very well maintained trail with about 240 man-made steps taking you up the steepest portion of the climb near the top. We did the hike up and back in 2 hours even, even with a short rest, photo op and snack at the summit. Great views of the glaciers, Palmer and Pioneer Peak. My kids often grumble about our hikes, but they all agreed this was a nice one. It is pretty steep and a steady climb up, but manageable. Bring some chewing gum for the "Gum Tree".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Efusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    32
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pt. Mackenzie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bodenberg Butte Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great hike for the entire family rewarded by panoramic views of the Knik glacier, Chugach Mountains, the Alaska Range,and the Talkeetna Mountains. There are two routes up the butte with the easiest on the West side off of Mothershead Drive (toilets available at the trailhead only). Pack a picnic lunch to enjoy while admiring the beautiful scenery. This trail is very popular with the local residents and athlete's in training. The trail may be dusty or muddy depending on weather conditions but don't let this deter you from enjoying a great outing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dusty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I saw the great reviews here and went there for a hike after a visit to the reindeer farm. I was surprised with how dusty the trail was. It is full of grey & dry powdery soil. There is no way to avoid breathing puffs of dust raised by climbers just in front of you. Not my idea of a healthy hike! I don't know if the situation improves after a few yards or so but we turned back after about 100 feet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cashewfeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Steep but short”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

If you want to get to the top of a mountain but have little time or kids with short attention spans them this is the way to go. Loved the views. They make the challenge worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCBake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing view worth the hike”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

3 of us "mature" individuals have done this in 2011 & again now in 2013. It is worth the climb (it is a workout for us that are not in great shape but a very doable climb) to see the view & as it is a hidden gem. They have added lots more stairs the last year to make it safer on the Mothershead side where there is parking ($3) & restrooms at the start & end. This is a great 1 to 2 hour outing for any age group!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodenburg Butte also viewed

 

Been to Bodenburg Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing