We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Hike”
Review of Bodenburg Butte

Bodenburg Butte
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
“Short Hike”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Fun place to go for a short hike that the local kids frequent. Pretty steep in spots. The reindeer farm is right at the base, makes for a fun kid day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Two trails, fantastic views, great for most any level of hiker”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

There are two trails going up the Butte, the east and west trails (which really face south and north, respectively). While the Butte is small in comparison to the surrounding 6,000+ ft peaks, at 850 ft it offers a quick hike with spectacular views of the surrounding peaks and the Knik Glacier. The east trail is the older of the two, if accessed off of Bodenburg Loop Road, about 1 mile from the junction with the Old Glenn Hwy and Plumley Road, and the parking lot is maintained by a local resident ($5 donation/fee). This trail is not maintained and users have created many winding paths that go to the top. Stay left when going up this trail, unless you like to scramble over steep rocks near the top. This trail can be very dusty at times, as the surface is find glacial flour. It is not plesant during very dry or windy conditions. The west trail is maintained by Mat-Su Borough recreation staff. The parking lot is located on Mother's Head Drive, off of the north end of Bodenburg Loop Road. You need to have a Mat-Su parking pass ($25 from MSB annually) or pay $5 to park. The trail begins as a well-maintained gravel path that eventually reaches some nice wooden stairs. After this the trail becomes more difficult. Users have stretched ropes along the trail to make it easier to get up (not technical, but it nice to use them to pull yourself up, especially when conditions are slippery). The views at the top are amazing and there is a large open area with nice rocks to hang out on. Notice the scrape marks left in the rocks from the glacial advance of the Knik glacer during the last ice age. Pretty neat. Either trail takes a reasonably fit person about 30 minutes to reach the top. For those who are more ambitious, I recommend starting on one side and going up and over the Butte. You can then either go back over the top or finish the loop on the road. If you head out the Old Glenn Hwy, it is about 3 miles to the other trail head. If you follow Bodenburg around, it is about 6 miles of amazing and flat running in a very beautiful setting. For a regular trail runner, you can get up and over the Butte in a little less than 30 minutes. This is a great trail for families, too. Young kids can make it to the top (with some work and maybe a few bribes), but they usually love it when they reach the top.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DigginLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Butte kicked my butt!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I climbed it with my family. I'm not totally out of shape, but we took the trail across from the Reindeer Farm. I guess that's the hard side? I had to stop and catch my breath...LOL! Some parts were so steep that we were almost rock climbing. Other parts were very easy worn trails. Plan on getting dirty. It's very dusty on dry days and muddy on wet ones. We also brought our dog (on lease) he did well. The view is amazing! Don't forget to bring water and maybe a small First Aid kit just in case.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mobopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hike to the top is worth it for the beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and glacier. I'll admit I was more out-of-shape than I'd like, so I did a lot of stopping along the climb. It's a steep climb, but about anyone could do it. Prepare to get dusty!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wildcat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“half hr climb anyone can make”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

view of Knick glacier is very visible from the top and the panoramic is amazing. The pastures below w horses and the reindeer farm are at the base of the butte. Be sure to take a camera

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank colene a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodenburg Butte also viewed

 

Been to Bodenburg Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing