We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good and the view was awesome”
Review of Long Rifle Lodge

Long Rifle Lodge
Ranked #9 of 52 Restaurants in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
Description: Our lodge overlooks the 20+ mile long Matanuska Glacier. It is located at mile 102.2 Of the Glenn Hwy/Scenic Byway. We offer wonderful homemade desserts, great burgers and microbrews on tap. It is the perfect place to relax after a hiking, ice climbing or whitewater rafting trip.
Restaurant details
Description: Our lodge overlooks the 20+ mile long Matanuska Glacier. It is located at mile 102.2 Of the Glenn Hwy/Scenic Byway. We offer wonderful homemade desserts, great burgers and microbrews on tap. It is the perfect place to relax after a hiking, ice climbing or whitewater rafting trip.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was good and the view was awesome”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is the only place to eat near the Matanuska Glacier and we were hungry after trapsing around on the glacier. We were pleasantly surprised. The burgers were good, staff very friendly and the view of the glacier was awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCphotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Awesome View of Glacier from Table”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This restaurant had the best scenic view from a table that I have ever seen. There is nothing better than eating good food with a glacier in the background. The prices were right, wait staff was good, and food was great. There is alot of interesting taxidermy animals. We sat near a bison. The address says Palmer but its not really near the town.

This place is a hidden gem. I'm not sure why but on a Saturday in July this place was empty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Basic rooms, good restaurant”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Long Rifle Lodge for 2 nights as we explore the Matanuska Glacier region. They offer clean, basic rooms, and the meals at the on-site restaurant are very good overall. Views of the glacier from the restaurant is absolutely majestic.
There are probably nicer lodges around the area, but they are definitely more pricey. So if price is a concern to you (as it is to us), as well as location (to be as close as possible to glacier to begin hiking/ice climbing), then I do think Long Rifle Lodge can be a good option for you for a short stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcapybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful and friendly”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A simple, inexpensive menu, quick & friendly service, and dining room with stuffed bears and a great glacier view make this a super place to stop for lunch on your way to or from Matanuska glacier. Also the only place with a gas pump since you left Palmer! These folks were quickly taking care of customers without appearing hurried, and were attentive to refilling drinks and other needs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food, very rude waitress.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

When we arrived, we walked up to the waitress and asked if the place was open (since no one seemed to take notice of us or offer to seat us). She said they were closing in 10 minutes, but that we could still order something if we put our order in quickly. I assumed that she meant the kitchen was closing, but that we would still have time to eat; apparently not. Another waitress (a European lady) served us and came back with our bill and told us we needed to leave about 3 minutes after the food arrived! We had to gulp down our food and as we got up to leave and took just a moment to admire the decorations, the waitress we first spoke to (a blonde lady) came up to us and rudely said "we're closed, you need to leave now". First of all, we had already gotten up and were in the process of leaving, so there was no need to rudely hurry us along (whe could have been cleaning our table and doing any other odds and ends while she waited). Secondly, I think she should have clearly explained that we could order but we would need to eat and leave VERY quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler01101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Long Rifle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing