We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience, must do in Palmer/Wasilla”

Knik Glacier Day Tour
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, must do in Palmer/Wasilla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

4 hours tour, takes a 20 minute drive by a nice, enclosed jet boat to the glacier. Unparalleled view of the mountains on the ride. We saw 4 moose and a bear and icebergs floating on the river. Once at the glacier, the boat rides all the way to the icebergs, and then we took an easy hike to a camp side where we were served hot chocolate, hot cider and snacks. You can hear the icebergs cracking off the main glacier face. The glacier view and the surrounding mountains are spectacular, great photo ops. While at the camp, we did an easy 30 minute hike with the family. You are in the middle of pristine wilderness, not another soul around. Our guide (the owner) was very knowledgeable, pointed out wildlife to us, treated us like family members. Dress well, as it is 10-15 degrees colder at the glacier than in Palmer, and it can be windy. You will not get wet. Expert kayakers (weather permitting) can kayak on the glacier lake. This tour was the highlight of our Wasilla/Palmer experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank KarolyMirnics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    5
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Breathtaking! A definite must see.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was our first of many glaciers whilst on a 3 week holiday in Alaska. It was a last minute addition to our trip and I am sooooo pleased we did not miss out. Knik is stunning, so vast and so very different to all the other glaciers we see. Tom is a great guide with an amazing amount of knowledge and enthusiasm. Knik Glacier Tour was a real highlight of our trip. It is located just one hour drive from Anchorage so easy to do as a day trip, the tour last approximately 4 hours.
Don't miss seeing this beautiful glacier.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Weather Sensitive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We tried to take this tour but it was cancelled the morning we were scheduled. There was light rain in Palmer. But we were told it was foggy on the river – we didn’t see any fog – but that’s not to say it wasn’t foggy further up the river. Because the weather didn’t seem very different from normal – I think this trip may be pretty weather-sensitive. If you are planning on this tour, I would suggest a back-up plan. We talked to some people who did the Matanuska Glacier tour the same morning – and they enjoyed it a lot. Apparently the national park service offers several different types of glacier trekking tours. It’s not far from Palmer and I wish we had known about it that morning.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank southerngrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Count us in! Unique glacier trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This brings a close up and personal perspective to you! You will be right next to glacial ice in a small boat! Tom is an interesting and enthusiastic tour guide. He can answer any question about ice, icebergs, mountains, rivers, bears, and so on. We did a similar tour four years ago and loved it; and this one was even better as the van ride to the Knik River entry was right through a dry (and not so dry!!) river bed. The wildflowers were amazing, like a carpet. And even more exciting, Tom spotted a mother bear and two cubs on the mountainside and made sure we saw them too. This is a perfect way to spend a day! Anticipate a wonderful time! This is nothing like the large boat tours, so please don't think if you have seen one glacier, you have seen them all! Enjoy!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SunshineKodiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Knik Glacier Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We learned of this tour via an internet search. What a wonderful find. We have been to Alaska twice before and this is one of the best tours we have been on. Tom, the owner, arranged to have a second boat take my wife and I out as he had a group fill up the first boat. Although we did not see any wildlife on the trip, the beauty of the Glacier and getting up close and personal with it was worth the time and cost. I would definitely recommend this tour to any one wanting to see a Glacier, much better than one of those large excursion boats. Great Job Knik Glacier Tours.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knik Glacier Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing