We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Plan an ENTIRE DAY!!!!!

If you really wish to experience Indepenence and the surrounding trails, you need to plan to spend... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Steve S
Beautiful drive to historical site

I have family in Wasilla and drive up to Independence Mine just about every time I visit. It is a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
travelingjodi
,
Texas
Read all 418 reviews
  
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
275
121
19
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
275
121
19
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hatcher pass gold mine gold mining gold rush self guided tour summit lake mining camp mining town hiking trails day trip beautiful drive great history alaskan history visitor center beautiful setting take your time spend an afternoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 418 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2019

Independence Mine State Historical Park is a fascinating place if you love history. The site still has most of the original buildings and has signs explaining each one. It was very fun to walk around and read each sign and go into the buildings. (You can't go into all of them, but you can go into several.)

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

It was foggy and rainy when we were there but the scenery in this region is really great. Independence Mine was interesting and the trip is worth it just for the scenic drive and nearby trails along the way.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank passingby2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Our trip to Independence mine state park was so amazing, the ride up there was so beautiful and the park was so much fun to explore, we took lots of pictures and actually caught an apparition in one of the buildings. It was a great trip, I'd recommend it if you're going to Alaska

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank hodgesr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

This gold mine was fascinating. It is being restored by the state and offers good opportunities to learn about what mining was about in a more modern time. There was good hiking there too.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Brsprouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

Interesting park. We were here in late May and the snow was more than 1m high. So very wet, slippery and sometimes dangerous to walk in. Visitor center was closed, but you still had to pay for parking (lower lot, upper lot was still closed)

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Antarktis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews