We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musk ox are a must-see while visiting the north.”
Review of Musk Ox Farm

Musk Ox Farm
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for a scenic walk around our property in Palmer while our staff shares with you our project history, the natural history of the musk oxen and the incredible potential these arctic ungulates have to offer communities in the far north. You will see frisky calves, seasoned old bulls and the largest captive herd of musk oxen in the world, don't forget your camera!
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Musk ox are a must-see while visiting the north.”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The farm is a fascinating place, raising musk oxen in order to domesticate them for the future. The tour was great and the tour guide was very helpful and educational. We got to feed and pet one of the friendlier, bottle-raised musk ox which was great. There is some neat stuff in the visitor's centre as well, such as a musk ox skeleton. The oxen themselves don't do much other than sleep though so don't expect too much excitement.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank OlaMcBola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    105
    42
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chance to see 1 million year old mammal”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The musk ox farm is located about 7 miles N of Palmer with a large sign indicating a turnoff for @ 1/3 mile ride to the farm. This is about 1/2 hour guided tour, and a short walk from the headquarters building. If you would like to see the only mammal that has survived the ice age and that has been around for about 1,000,000 years, then this is the place. The main building and the guide provide some insightful information on this sheep-size. By the way, it does not produce musk oil. Young children will particularly like this attraction. During this trip, one of the musk ox was quite friendly, and was quite receptive to being fed by small children through the fence.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank FJJ_Aug2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Travel out of our way to visit this place only to be turned away at the entrance due to them having a large group touring and wouldn't accomodate individuals, don't waste your time.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank vperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good way to learn about these amazing animals”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived just in time to join a tour that had just set off, and I was hugely impresed by the knowledge and enthusiasm of our young tour guide (whose name I have sadly forgotten). She told us a lot about the history of these prehistoric animals, and a lot about the work done at the farm. Sadly we didn't get to see this year's calves, but we got pretty close to some teenagers and some pretty formidable adults. A really fun way to while away an hour or two

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank St_Albans_City
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Yukon, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Musk Ox are such unique creatures; take advantage of the opportunity to see them”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The musk ox farm is always on my list of places to offer visiting friends and relatives. I love to visit the gentle creatures and I have great respect for the wool that is combed, spun and knit into such warm and beautiful garments. I just wish that visitors would be allowed to pet one...
The farm is a good place for a stroll between the pens, and is especially fun in the spring when the babies are new!

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank TerminationDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musk Ox Farm also viewed

 

Been to Musk Ox Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing