We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and rustic at a beautiful location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatcher Pass Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hatcher Pass Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palmer
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unique and rustic at a beautiful location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

The location is gorgeous! Independence Mine is nearby and also worth a visit. The cabins are comfortable yet rustic and has been mentioned- no running water. It rained a lot before and during our stay. I think they had had to clean some water out of our cabin before our visit because the floor was just slightly damp when we arrived. But it dried out quickly and stayed dry inside while we were there.

My first reaction when walking in the door of our cabin was- "this is where the Mythbusters stayed!". And it was- they tested the Cabin Fever Myth there. It was really cool staying there.

My only complaint is that we had a large group for dinner (which they definitely knew about in advance), and as a result dinner was incredibly slow. But at least the views were nice while we were waiting (and we waited a very very long time).

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank wahoowahuvahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
23
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Hatcher Pass is truly a special place for outdoor enthusiasts as well as those seeking great photographic opportunities and scenery. At nearly 3500 feet and surrounded by mountains, you can easily spend the day hiking or skiing and exploring the alpine nooks and crannies. Historic Independence Mine also offers ghost-town buffs a fascinating look at gold mining operations from 70 years ago. Thank goodness the Hatcher Pass Lodge is where it is, because a full day can leave you exhausted and in need of a drink, a hot meal, or even a room for the night.

Only 30 minutes from Palmer and a bit more than an hour from Willow, you arrive at the lodge after a scenic drive. The A-frame main lodge is warm, informal, and welcoming. You'll find a spacious dining/bar area with smiling staff and a kitchen that turns around an order in no time flat. The coal stove in the center of the main room keeps things toasty.

Call ahead for one of the cabins, which are comfortably outfitted (see my photos) and extremely clean. Chemical toilets are the norm in cabins, but you can use the restrooms in the main lodge until the main doors are locked at midnight. The generous windows in the cabins offer stupendous views.

Vegetarians and carnivores will find something for their palate on the modest menu, but be prepared for very high prices. A salad or sandwich can set you back $10-15, and a steak will be 2-3 times as much. It *is* relatively remote. I had a delicious salmon burger with chips and two beers, which set me back about $30. (I opted to drive into Palmer for breakfast, and I'll have another review on that experience.)

I can highly recommend Hatcher Pass Lodge for anyone visiting the Anchorage or Mat-Su area. It's an easy drive, and the friendly, helpful staff, extremely comfortable accommodations, quiet setting, and gorgeous scenery are a wonderful respite from the drone of everyday routine. I can't wait to go back in the winter and strap on some XC skis.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurora_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

I spent New Years Eve at Hatcher Pass. Sun goes down early....Beautiful views. Bring Skiis. Amazing and Very Romantic!

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OneM0reTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

Hatcher Pass Lodge is just super. It's nothing fancy but it's in a gorgeous setting, the cabins are comfy, and the staff is lovely.
We go here whenever we can --and we take all our friends who visit AK here too.
It's amazing that this place does not book up faster (it's often possible to get a cabin at the last minute). I've thought about writing a review before but (selfishly) didn't since it's kind of nice that it's not always booked. However, it really is too good not to get a glowing review.
Great in summer or winter! (Be sure to sign up early for the sauna.)

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kermitthefrog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

Our family stayed at Hatcher Pass Lodge for two nights in early August 2006. When I was planning our trip to Alaska, I almost let the idea of chemical toilets deter me from booking a cabin. If I had, my family would have missed out on one of our favorite places in all of Alaska. We had a cabin with a loft that was clean, oozing with charm, and had a nice water cooler. There are flush toilets and showers in the lodge itself which was just down the path. My children loved sleeping in the loft and our views from the cabin and the lodge were breathtaking. We enjoyed eating our meals in the restaurant and became addicted to the cheese fondue! The hiking trails and general scenery in the area are magnificent, and all we wished for was a longer stay. This is an alpine area, and the tundra and flora are gorgeous. The owner can come across as curmudgeonly but he is really a softie, who clearly has a love for animals and the place he helped build by hand so long ago. We felt really lucky to have discovered this lodge, and would make an absolute point of returning here when we return to Alaska. Loved it!

  • Liked — The ambience, meals, scenery, hiking
  • Tips/Secrets — The loft cabins are great
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank cvillereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starkville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2006

We had a great stay at Hatcher's Pass Lodge. It is a little delight hidden among the mountains. We didn't realize it had no running water, but we were okay with that. the cabins are comfortable and clean. We do recommend that you bring a radio or something for music. The nights can get a little long without some type of entertainment. The coffee was great and so was the manager. We greatly enjoyed our stay and recommend it highly to everyone who wants to stay in the mountains.

  • Liked — The great location and view. WE could see the northern lights from our bed!
  • Disliked — The lack of a radio.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a radio.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2003

Hatcher Pass is a beautiful area and this was a great place to stay.
The small cabins have no running water (thus chemical toilets) but are great. The cabin were super clean and the bed comfortable. There are lights but no TV. The room had board games and magazines. A wonderful getaway. The meal was great at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OkemosGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
12.7 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
12.9 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
14.1 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
29.1 mi away
Knik River Lodge
Knik River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Palmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher Pass Lodge

Property: Hatcher Pass Lodge
Address: Fishhook Willow Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hatcher Pass Hotel Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing