We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the up tight”
Review of Hatcher Pass Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hatcher Pass Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not for the up tight”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I guess my review will split the vote so to speak, but I stayed here a couple of years ago and in fact plan to stay there next month. The food had and I ate all three meals was very good as I recall. We stayd in one of the cabins, nothing special but in my mind you are paying for thr view and ambiance. The owner was very welcomig and let us even keep our dog in the cabin and take her into the lodge with us. The lodge has a very cozy laid back feel, I just love to sit there and sip hot drinks, by the fire. I love beig able to ski up to this place and and warm up by the fire. I don't care if he has remodled frankly, this place is what it should be a functional lodge in the mountains where you sleep ski, sled, sauna and get some warm food. That is all I need or want, if I want luxury I will go to girdwood but I have my complaints about the hotel there.

Room Tip: Get a small one down hill facingdone the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodsthegame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    7
    3
    11
See reviews for
24
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We drove up for the afternoon-- nice ride up and gorgeous scenery on a clear crisp day. The lodge's restaurant was another experience altogether. "Funky" might be a good word, but...if you looked just a tad more closely, you realize that this is a place that no one has put a penny into maintaining in quite some time. And at $9.50 for a plain cheese quesadilla, this should not be the case! Wait staff was distracted, at best. Food was marginal...another sad case of only game in town. I had high expectations- just because for years I had heard people talk about Hatcher Pass and how awesome it was. Though the awesomeness would transfer to a nice lunch. I was wrong. Will go back to the Pass, will bring our OWN food!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingutuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Another amazing weekend in AK. Drove the Accord up and snagged a cabin for $99 due to it being shoulder season - but still lots of snow up there! Skied most of the afternoon up the valley, how much better could a Saturday in June get? The room was clean, warm, and despite its sparse furnishings, so comfy. Woke up the next day to completely socked in skies and rain on the roof, it wasn't too hard to sleep in though :) Ate a nice lunch at the restaurant, which itself is warm and cozy and inviting. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodview, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent one night in a cabin at Hatcher Pass Lodge at the end of July, 2012. Our cabin was cozy with a table, seating area and a bathroom (with the type of toilet you would find in a motor home or boat) on the main floor and two beds in the loft next to windows to enjoy the awesome view in the morning. There is a shower available to guests in the Lodge. We had a wonderful breakfast the following morning in the Lodge. It was expensive but in light of the remoteness of the location that is to be expected. During breakfast we were fortunate to have a chance to talk with the owner who came to Alaska in the 1950's and acquired the land where the Lodge is located through the Homestead Act. We really enjoyed our stay. There are hiking trails near the Lodge and The Independence Mine Historical Site is one mile away. The road across Hatcher Pass to Willow offered spectacular views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I also ate here today, and what a terrible experience! We put aside the looks of the place considering it is an old lodge, and then when we saw the prices we assumed the food would be amazing- $20 for spaghetti- but when we finally received our food 1 1/2 hours later, it was terrible! The spaghetti noodles were cold, my medium well steak was medium rare with no onions or mushrooms as the menu said- and no seasoning, the shriveled vegetables were cold, and the whole sandwich we ordered came out as 1/2. No one came to check on us until after we were done eating and the place was not that busy. They really need to have an overhaul and have better customer service for the prices and quality of food you receive!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Grofried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

The service here was awful!!! The food is ridiculously expensive. The facility is completely in disrepair. The view is awe-inspiring. We waited forever for our food. The staff seemed completely overwhelmed by a restaurant with full tables and kept saying they only had one cook.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Last time we were there, the place smelled like old socks or rancid cheese fondue, and after waiting half an hour for someone to just acknowledge us, unable after numerous efforts to catch the eye of the comatose-looking server while we sat at some sort of bar near their kitchen, we still could not get service, gave up and left. No one even noticed. There was some crabby guy standing around scratching himself while his lone server meandered through the dining room. I think he was the owner, but who could tell. It was disorganized and smelly, crowded, and appeared to have only that one server. I hope she was not also the cook, but again, who could tell. We were famished, but had to drive back down into Palmer to get some food. I hope they have improved since then. We love Independence Mine and would like to try out staying in one of the cabins at Hatcher Pass Lodge, but not if we have to put up with this nonsense in the restaurant. They know they have a captive audience as there is nowhere else to eat up there on the mountain. Foolish, because they are sitting on a gold mine...literally, ha ha. But seriously, if the place were managed better, with sufficient trained servers and a decent cook, people would flock to this place for the view alone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrowdAvoidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
15.4 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
12.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
6.4 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
91 reviews
14.1 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
7.6 mi away
Moose Wallow Cabins
Moose Wallow Cabins
#3 of 12 in Palmer
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher Pass Lodge

Property: Hatcher Pass Lodge
Address: Fishhook Willow Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hatcher Pass Hotel Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing