We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What horrible service with an amazing view”
Review of Hatcher Pass Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hatcher Pass Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The service here was awful!!! The food is ridiculously expensive. The facility is completely in disrepair. The view is awe-inspiring. We waited forever for our food. The staff seemed completely overwhelmed by a restaurant with full tables and kept saying they only had one cook.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Mama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

Last time we were there, the place smelled like old socks or rancid cheese fondue, and after waiting half an hour for someone to just acknowledge us, unable after numerous efforts to catch the eye of the comatose-looking server while we sat at some sort of bar near their kitchen, we still could not get service, gave up and left. No one even noticed. There was some crabby guy standing around scratching himself while his lone server meandered through the dining room. I think he was the owner, but who could tell. It was disorganized and smelly, crowded, and appeared to have only that one server. I hope she was not also the cook, but again, who could tell. We were famished, but had to drive back down into Palmer to get some food. I hope they have improved since then. We love Independence Mine and would like to try out staying in one of the cabins at Hatcher Pass Lodge, but not if we have to put up with this nonsense in the restaurant. They know they have a captive audience as there is nowhere else to eat up there on the mountain. Foolish, because they are sitting on a gold mine...literally, ha ha. But seriously, if the place were managed better, with sufficient trained servers and a decent cook, people would flock to this place for the view alone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank CrowdAvoidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoy staying at Hatcher Pass Lodge. They are cute cabins and the fridge is stocked with breakfast. Far enough out to be quiet but close enough to Palmer to drive in and get dinner. Price is super reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesspigfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Hatcher Pass Lodge is nestled in the Independence Bowl, surrounded by mountains. It is also located about 1/2 from the Independence Mine State Park. There is great hiking all around. The views are awesome, and are the best part. The lodge and the cabins have a great view of the Matanuska Valley, with the Knik Glacier in the distance, and the town of Palmer below. Inside the main building of the lodge, where the showers and restaurant are located, there is a great atmosphere as well. There is a wood burning stove in the middle of the room, which radiates a great amount of heat. There is also (slow) internet access and scores of old national geographics and other travel magazines.

The food is very expensive and very low quality. $9 for a small order of microwaved nachos, etc. Sometimes the soup is very good, but that depends. This is the only place to eat for miles, so if you stay in the cabins you are stuck with it. The service is also quite bad, granted there are usually only one or two people working at a time. When I was there, Bev was the only reliable cook, waitress, employee, etc. Do not expect to spend less than an hour or even two hours, for a meal. The more people eating, the longer it will take. The owner Hap can be quite grouchy as well and does not shy away from yelling at or turning away customers. But if you have the time, patience and money, the view makes it worth it. If not, try the Hatcher Pass B&B (which is down in the valley without a great view).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJB123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

What an amazing place this is. We were in cabin 4 and it was beautiful. We were there for only a night, but ended up hoping we could have stayed longer. You are above everything, with clouds passing by, beautiful views from the window, amazing tundra right outside your door and the town of Palmer in the far distance. It is right below the Independence Mine and the only accomodation available in the area. Dont confuse this with Hatcher Pass B&B. The only thing was, for food, you had to have it in the main lodge/restaurant cause there is nothing else nearby. Though, its not a big deal, they have some amazing selection. We would go back to Alaska, just to stay here again. Me and my wife kept talking about this place even through the rest of our Alaska trip. Say hi to Hap when you are there. He is I think the owner or the manager, a very nice guy.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ayush1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Whenever I take friends or family to Alaska I always go here first. It is above tree line and near an old gold mine which is now a state park. The cabins are basic, The shower is in the main lodge but any shortcomings are overlooked because of the scenery. The food in the lodge is great. This is not for anyone that like to gripe or complain. Just relax and enjoy the scenery and solitude.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stopped at Hatcher Pass Lodge after a day hike in the area. The food was horrendous both in quality and price, and it cost $16.50 for a pizza that clearly had come out of the freezer aisle. The service was slow and of poor quality, and we had to remind our server 3 times that we had ordered nachos as an appetizer. The nachos were $9 and literally came out of the microwave.

If you are in the area and are hungry, drive back to Palmer.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjd0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
15.4 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
12.8 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
12.9 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
14.1 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
29.1 mi away
Knik River Lodge
Knik River Lodge
#1 of 12 in Palmer
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher Pass Lodge

Address: Fishhook Willow Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palmer
Price Range: $110 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hatcher Pass Hotel Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing