We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkle Donkey?”
Review of Trail Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trail Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moose Pass
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Yes, Sparkle Donkey... this was on the sign when we pulled into the parking lot. We could not resist and went in to ask... Sparkle Donkey is a Tequila shot and when you finish your shot they put a mark on your head with a glitter stick. We did not partake but we did witness it and it was a hit!

We stayed in the rooms across from the main lodge rooms were very clean and bathrooms were very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful when it came to finding some things to get into. There are planes nearby that do quick flights around the area departing from the lake here.

One night stay.
30 minutes from Seward (straight shot)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SarahDetruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

My friends and I really enjoy coming here whenever we get the chance. From a bachelor weekend, to a nice drive to get out of town, Trail Lake has always proven to have great food, friendly service and a great Alaskan atmosphere. We are anxiously looking forward to our next trip down!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Wow!! What an amazing place!! If you want a taste of real Alaska stay here! Our room was comfortable and inviting. The views are breathless. We took a lot of pictures. The food is tasty! The owners, Steamer and Amy are a hoot and great conversationist. The prices are reasonable and the rooms are clean. I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: The lake and mountain view are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldTraveler2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Lodge is pet friendly. However, if you are traveling with children or for some reason expect to get a restful nights sleep...BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!! They put in you in the room directly over the Bar. It is so loud when they have a band it sounds like the band is in the room with you.This goes on until the wee hours of the morning. If this kind of thing doesn't bother you, great. But for me, it was horrible. I doubt we will ever stay there again. The food and service are other wise fine. It's just too bad that they don't have a room away from the hootn' and hollern' -so people that want to sleep, can. From now on, I plan to stay in Seward, next time we are out that way. .......unless we decide we want to whoop it up all night and drink ourselves silly.
It is a beautiful spot, great place to xc ski, etc. So would make a nice day trip for families.

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKEXPLORERS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here with the Road Scholar program. The only reason the motel was tolerable was because the speakers and activities with the Road Scholar program were so amazing. If I were traveling on my own, I would not stay here. The rooms are very small. The heating is poor. There is no place to put anything.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. However, rooms in the very back, facing away from the main highway may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights in August with a Road Scholar program. It is an old run down motel with an owner who made an offensive, appalling threat toward's the Vice President of the United States. Complaints from other guests in the group included no dressers in the rooms for clothing, ran out of food before everyone was served, there is next to nothing else in Moose Pass so you have no other options. The toilet was backed up in the bar/restaurant. The owner did not return phone calls or e-mails. I'd recommend you drive another 45 minutes into Seward for a variety of options in lodging & meals. I am sending a letter of complaint to Road Scholar as this location is below standard. This is the 1st complaint about an establishment I have ever made.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were late getting there and the lady was waiting for us. Welcomed us with hello and hug. This is a rustic place. Think about going back 50 years or so. But it is charming in its own way. The bed was comfortable and I slept great. It was great to get up and walk about side to the lake's edge and have a great breakfast downstairs.

Room Tip: Let the people know when you will be arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
18.8 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
116 reviews
23.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
11.4 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
94 reviews
23.2 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
23.1 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail Lake Lodge

Address: Mile 29.5 Seward Hwy, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Location: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moose Pass
Price Range: $80 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trail Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trail Lake Lodge and the Kenai Peninsula Learning Center provides our customers with the highest quality, friendly service and comfortable atmosphere for an unforgettable lodging, dining, and recreational experience on Alaska’s Kenai Peninsula. Trail Lake Lodge and the Kenai Peninsula are famous for its location and proximity to spectacular fishing, hunting, and wildlife and scenery photography. We offer: •Many all inclusive vacation packages •Professionally guided sport fishing for trout, salmon and ocean fishing for halibut, cod and other Alaskan species. •Floatplane fishing trips to remote lakes and streams on the Kenai Peninsula •Wilderness trips for fishing, overnight backpacking expeditions, sea kayaking and canoe rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Trail Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trail Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing