We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful lodge in a spectacular setting”
Review of Inn at Tern Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Tern Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Moose Pass B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
“Beutiful lodge in a spectacular setting”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is a very nice bed and breakfast located in a spectacular location. The views are incredible. The hosts were very nice. The breakfasts were excellent. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a quiet and restfull stay in a location with incredible beauty. As a first time visitor to Alaska, I did not realize how remote most of the state outside of Anchorage really is. The Inn at Tern Lake looks like the internet pictures. A number of other spots that I saw in person did not resemble the internet build up. The hosts were gracious and sincerely interested in our needs without being intrusive or pushy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennesseejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    7
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

After my first trip April 2009 to Tern Lake with friends (we use the Inn as a quilting retreat), I was estatic to go a second time this month. And, I would go again. I have lived in Alaska for nearly fifty years and know the Kenai Peninsula very well. Tern Lake Inn is beautiful: the architecture, the location providing stunning views of the mountains and clear water from any window within the inn. The accomodations are very clean and modern. The inn is heated with in-floor circulating hot water and ventilated with an exclusive exhaust and fresh air system. For ambiance and extra heat, there are several direct-vent fireplaces located in the great rooms and some sleeping rooms. Our hosts, Jeff and Rose, are rare in the world of travel. Rose furnished great breakfasts and was attentive to any of our needs, including dietary. My husband and I are planning to stay at Tern Lake soon for a fabulous getaway after we raft the Kenai River. I hope to stay again with my friends for a fall retreat. Next time, I will bring a golf club or two. You will have to go to see what I know. Happy Bed and Breakfast-ing to you.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mahoney669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I have stayed at the Inn at Tern Lake 3 times and have had a wonderful experience each time and certainly plan to go again.
The setting between two soaring mountains is so striking it is hard to do anything but look at natures wonders. The Inn is modern, comfortable, clean and everywhere I look there is some creative unique or thoughtful item that makes me wish I my own home were so well thought out. Rose, your hostess is a wonderful cook and I have been blown away by her wonderful mouthwatering breakfast creations. Jeff and Rose have thought of everything you may ever think you need. Extra towls, blankets, bathrobes, shampoo conditioner and soap in the showers, hats in the entry, walking paths, flower gardens, lovely decks to sit out and enjoy the birds and scenery and sun, putting green and small landing strip are a few that come to mind.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkLady333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I just returned from spending the weekend at Tern Lake Inn. What a wonderful place and the hosts were so great. We had tours of the "outdoor yard", right in the wilderness. We had a mom moose and two calves spend time right out our windows. Rooms were so inviting, large beds and private baths. I would stay forever...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suttonjayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I have been attending quilt retreats at the Inn at Tern Lake several times a year since 2007. Rose and Jeff are always very friendly and go out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They are there if we need them for anything. The rooms are clean and spotless, upscale and luxurious without being snooty. There are lots of windows, and every one of them has a spectacular view. The breakfast is always delicious and timed to suit our schedule. I couldn't wish for more gracious hosts, a more comfortable experience or beautiful surroundings. The only thing I don't like is leaving!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jananbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Our groups seventh semi-annual visit (10 of us), and each time just gets better. Jeff & Rose know just how to make everyone feel welcome, while providing the ultimate in cleanliness, upgrades, and outstanding food. The views are breathtaking any time of the year. I highly recommend this facility for any special occasion - weddings, reunions, craft groups, outdoor enthusiasts, etc. You will start feeling like it's a second home and will want to return many times.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stay at the Inn at Tern Lake. Jeff and Rose were very hospitable. Rose fixed wonderful breakfasts each morning (her french toast is the best I've ever tasted!) and had fresh baked cookies out in the afternoon. Our room was large, had lake and mountain views from large bedroom window and from french doors which led to a private balcony. We even had beautiful lake and mountain view from the bathroom window! Room was clean and very comfortable. The Inn is in a great location, convenient to Seward, Kenai, Homer and so much more on the Kenai Peninsula.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
5.8 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
88 reviews
14.0 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
109 reviews
7.9 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
30 reviews
13.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
24.4 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tern Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tern Lake

Property: Inn at Tern Lake
Address: Mile 36 Seward Highway, 41843 Seward Highway, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moose Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Tern Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alaska experience of unequaled excellence. Enjoy luxury accommodations at this exquisite bed and breakfast inn - located adjacent to Tern Lake and bordering the Chugach National Forest - central to the Kenai Peninsula directly between Seward, Girdwood, and Cooper Landing. Accommodations include distinctively appointed guest rooms with private baths. Each spacious room is equipped with a queen size bed, pullout couch, satellite TV, Internet access, fireplace and private balcony. The Inn offers a hot tub, sauna, and an expansive sitting area. Innkeepers Jeff and Rose Hetrick graciously indulge you with impeccable guest services - planning activities, itineraries, meals and making sure that your every need and desire is lavishly catered to. In essence, Tern Lake Inn is the ideal headquarters for your Alaska experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Tern Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing