We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed on our two week trip to Alaska”
Review of Inn at Tern Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Tern Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Moose Pass B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We did a land tour in Alaska from June 7 to 14, 2014 following a week cruise from Vancouver to Whittier. We stayed at 4 different B&B's, cottages, etc. in Anchorage, Talkeetna and near Denali. The Inn at Tern Lake was by far the best of the 4. The scenery is spectacular and the service and rooms were the best. There is a separate quiet area where guests can relax with a separate kitchen, fireplace, 3 tables, couches, etc. Great for relaxing with other guests, play cards or just relax. Our room had a balcony and views of mountains in 2 directions. When we arrived Jeff brought out the binoculars to show us the mountain sheep up on the mountainside and showed us around. On our last morning there Jeff informed us that the Salmon had started to run the night before and recommended we go the Russion river, which we did. The rooms were well equiped and the breakfasts and service was outstanding. Very clean and the condition was like new. Highly recommend if your travels take you south of Anchorage to Seward, Whittier or points south.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 552bradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 94 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Inn in early June, and that was not long enough! We booked the King Bed room, which was huge and looked out onto the grounds and mountain side. I must admit, I spent a good amount of time just sitting looking out the windows, either in our room, or down in the communal living room, because it was so pretty!
The Inn is more like a grand chalet, very spacious and wonderfully designed and decorated. As mentioned above, our room was huge, and the King bed very comfy. Rose and Jeff are wonderful hosts, and Rose made delicious breakfasts, as well as great company as we would just hang out and chat when she wasn't bustling about the place!
We definitely want to make our way back at some point...such a great and relaxing home. Seward is about 45-1hr away, but I highly recommend staying at the Inn as your jump off point...the drive down is beautiful and such a better place to stay than a hotel / motel. You won't want to leave!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flickchic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

By far the BEST place to stay in the Kenai peninsula. Stayed for 3 nights and wish we had stayed there for the entire trip. Breakfast was fabulous, the views awesome and slept like a baby. Will definitely go back and stay with Rose and Jeff's place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zebra20zebra20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Tern Lake for 3 nights. It is a wonderful location from which to tour the Kenai Peninsula. The Inn was clean, beautiful, and quiet. rose and Jeff were very friendly and helpful. Our only wish was that the weather was better suited for sitting on the lovely deck. The grounds are spectacular! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room1 is large and has a huge window that overlooks a mountain. I suspect that all the rooms have eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teachem4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I am a very thorough researcher when it comes to lodging . This is by far one of the most incredible places to stay . When we arrived after a long day driving in from denali Jeff greeted us warmly . The first thing we did was sit in the lovely hot jacuzzi at sunset gazing at the mountains . Each morning Jeff had a different breakfast which was good . We stayed in room 1 but had the opportunity to look in each room and there is NO bad room or view . Room 1 and room 4 is larger . You cannot hear any other guest , the rooms are seperated nicely . There is a kitchen downstairs for your use as well as a refrigerator . Some would bring picnic lunch fixings for their travels . We ate at the locations Jeff recommended which ended up being the best places we ate in all our stay in Alaska . He was helpful and had storytellings that amused my husband . Everywhere we went we would meet someone who knew Jeff . The inn is clean , well kept , beautiful !!!!! The location is central on the kenai penisula so you could go different directions . It is close to Seward and we made our morning kayaking trip easily . We will definitely be back and want to visit now when it snows !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love2vacation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just had our wedding at the Inn at Tern Lake. It was a fantastic day. Jeff and Rosie are amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure we had the wedding of our dreams. They are incredibly accommodating and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Somewhere between Nervana and Perfection I found the Inn at Tern Lake. When you walk into the home it is so clean, warm and comfortable. I had asked Jeff the proprietor if the fudge factory in Moose Pass was still open and he said yes. When I arrived 2 boxes of fudge were waiting for my wife and I. The grounds are so amazingly beautiful. The suite was very big, well decorated (like a home). the view from room #2 is great but I think all the rooms have similar views. The breakfast was over the top with a fluffy pastry and fruit filling. The eggs were presented with home grown veggies. This property is understated. The internet does it no justice. I am a 9 year veteren of visiting the Kenai Peninsula. The location is perfect for fishing the upper Kenai, Kenai rafting and horseback riding traveling to Seward and Soldotna. The most romantic, warm and comfortable stay of my life.

Room Tip: Book early! Stay a long time. Use it as a base camp for all your Kenai travel from Seward, Soldotna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thehblifeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
5.8 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
93 reviews
14 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
116 reviews
7.9 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
5.9 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tern Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tern Lake

Address: Mile 36 Seward Highway, 41843 Seward Highway, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moose Pass
Price Range: $128 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Tern Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alaska experience of unequaled excellence. Enjoy luxury accommodations at this exquisite bed and breakfast inn - located adjacent to Tern Lake and bordering the Chugach National Forest - central to the Kenai Peninsula directly between Seward, Girdwood, and Cooper Landing. Accommodations include distinctively appointed guest rooms with private baths. Each spacious room is equipped with a queen size bed, pullout couch, satellite TV, Internet access, fireplace and private balcony. The Inn offers a hot tub, sauna, and an expansive sitting area. Innkeepers Jeff and Rose Hetrick graciously indulge you with impeccable guest services - planning activities, itineraries, meals and making sure that your every need and desire is lavishly catered to. In essence, Tern Lake Inn is the ideal headquarters for your Alaska experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Tern Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing