We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodging ever!!!”
Review of Summit Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summit Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

So I never ever write reviews on places I stay, but Summit Lake Lodge was so wonderful I had to post a review so others wouldn't miss this hidden gem.

The location is beautiful, the staff is so helpful and welcoming and the rooms are amazing! It felt cozy and secluded but had a modern feel to it as well.

I had my 3 year old son on the trip and he loved this place more than anywhere else in Alaska. He still asks if we can go back. Great deal for a truly amazing place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 376 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here our last night in Alaska while working our way back to the ANC airport. It is very conviently located, which in turn creates a little more road noise when you are outside. However, the lake is gorgeous and inside the cabins, you don't hear a thing except your husband snoring in the awesomely comfortable bed. The newly renovated cabins were completely upscale. The made to order breakfast was great. So if you have a later flight, you get a lot more for your money here than you do in down town Anchorage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in the summit suite which was just beautiful. VERY comfy bed and stunning restroom and shower room, massive TV. I had asked for some excursions to be organised and when we arrived we were talked through our itinerary, given advice - everything was well planned and we had a magnificent time. A good selection for breakfast and we went to the restaurant in the evenings which served lovely food. I even enjoyed the pizza and ice cream shop one evening, beautiful surroundings. All the staff were helpful and friendly. With it being in such a convenient place to explore the penninsula, I would certainly recommend it. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binzels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

For 20 years I have passed Summit Lake and every time have thought what a lovely prospect the lake has with its stunning views and peaceful calming surroundings. This time we finally went with an excuse to celebrate our anniversary. Spent the weekend in a lovely cabin that was immaculate, modern and beautiful. We thought the 'breakfast included' was to be a typical continental style meal, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that it wasn't and we thoroughly enjoyed our full breakfast. The restaurant staff was open, friendly, kind and efficient. Two people working in the cafe handled the 10 or so seated tables beautifully. We lucked out with two gorgeous days despite an unpredictable summer here in Anchorage. Walked thru the adjacent woods and around the lovely nearby campsite. We thought that this was a perfect getaway location and we hope we can make it a yearly jaunt. Even the drive to and from Anchorage was relaxing and only helped to set our mood. You don't have to be an outdoor adventurer to be here. We just took a walk, wandered and relaxed. Many thanks to the whole staff for our lovely trip. P.S. to the reviewer Alaskankiwis - how can you give a rating of 5 and then complain about wanting a deck, a dock, and more help in a cafe? There are plenty of places here that will give you water access - it's nice to have at least one that is just a quiet lake. (And there were many docks over on the campsite grounds where you can launch a kayak.)

Room Tip: All the cabins were private and quiet. Despite a full weekend, we never heard another person and fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovingAlaska2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just a super friendly fun place to stay with cute cozy Alaskan lodge rooms! I'd suggest building a bigger deck to enjoy the lake views and access to put in kayaks or a dock. Manager was so nice and accommodating. The cafe was too busy for only two employees though. Thank you for a lovely break from the hustle and bustle of city life!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskankiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Summit Lake Lodge is at the center of Alaska's playground at the center of Kenai Peninsula. Summit Lake Lodge is family owned and operated and their cabins are as clean as some of the finest rooms I've stayed in Las Vegas. One feels and are treated like they are at home after a long day adventuring in Alaska by a husband and wife who really understand business. These proprietors personally take the time to serve you a coffee and give you all the details of your day's trip every morning during breakfest. I even accidently overpaid one day and they credited my account before I knew what I did. I had the time of my life and have never left a recommend of any hotel/lodge before, however I recommed Summit Lake Lodge as if it's owned by my best friend. You will not be dissappointed, my new basecamp in Alaska will forever be Summit Lake Lodge

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is place is EXCELLENT !!!! It was so lovely, clean and warm. It's awesome, our cabin was to die for; I mean it was that good. It was quiet and to us it was rustic; but very lovely. We hated to leave and came to expect other places to be the same quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinkx C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose Pass
11.4 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
93 reviews
18.1 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
117 reviews
20.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
7.9 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
95 reviews
11.7 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lake Lodge

Address: 51826 Seward Hwy, Moose Pass, AK 99631-9707
Location: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Moose Pass
Price Range: $238 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summit Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lake Hotel Moose Pass
Moose Pass Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing