We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Highly recommended.”
Review of Metlakatla Hotel

Metlakatla Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Metlakatla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metlakatla Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Metlakatla
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
“Great place. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Dale and Essie are such gracious hosts. They made sure we had everything we needed, even going so far as to secure a boat for our family to take out to the bay to scatter our brother's ashes. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. This is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ketchikan, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A few weeks ago I had to travel to Metlakatla for work. When I heard there was only one hotel in town, I must admit I was skeptical. After all, if there is no competition, what motivates a business in the service industry to excel? I was pleasantly surprised to find the quality of rooms available. Modern amenities such as a flat screen TV, hundreds of channels, WiFi, microwave, mini fridge/freezer, and a Keurig coffee maker. The bed was luxuriously comfortable. The showers have waterfall-like spigots. After each hard day of work the Metlakatla Inn was a blessing to lay my head.

The service was also exceptional. The owner's hospitality is only rivaled by their cooking! The WiFi was free (though at the owners request I did not use video streaming services, as they have limited monthly bandwidth). I asked if using the in-room Keurig would bring additional charges, to which the owner told me it was free and he does not believe in nickel-and-diming folks.

Most surprising was the over all cost. For the quality of rooms and service I expected to pay much more than the very reasonable rate they offer. I've paid the same at certain hotel chains in the lower 48 and none of them stack up to the Metlakatla Inn.

Room Tip: The small room accessed from the lobby has a small water leak in the bathroom ceiling when the guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a treat it was to stay here! The owners take great care in serving you their very best! The rooms are beautiful and Dale cooks fabulous breakfasts and dinners! We highly recommend the Metlakatla Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patzhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are impeccably decorated, very comfortable and private. The owners take very good care of their guests and cook a delicious breakfast, too. The Inn is right near the center of Metlakatla - walking distance to everything.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaTraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Dale and Edith are wonder people all the rooms are newly remodeled with beautiful modern-day amenities. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Rooms have everything you need. breakfast and dinner everyday. Fresh home cooked meals everyday, best food in metlakatla I ate better than I do at home. The town is also awesome friendly people. My hand got tired because everyone waves at you and greets you with a smile and metlakatla has the only casino in alaska. The pictures do not do this hotel justice. Frist time I ever seen a keurig in a hotel before. All and all I have nothing bad to say about this place.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have stayed twice at the Inn. I love the detail of the granite top furniture. You stay in a beautiful sled style bed. Instead of a small pre-packaged coffee maker, you get your own Keurig coffee maker. For Alaska and the cost of having items shipped, this is an oasis.

For a minimal cost you can have a homemade breakfast or dinner. Almost like a B&B only more private. Dale the owner is great and his son who is managing Jeff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here visiting some friends. Clean, comfortable bed, refrigerator, microwave, internet and Direct TV. Room was lovely with very nice details--new wood floors, marble countertops, awesome shower and (as noted by others) a Keurig in the room. Transportation provided to and from the ferry terminal. Dale and Jeff are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metlakatla
15.0 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
363 reviews
15.0 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
242 reviews
17.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metlakatla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metlakatla Hotel

Property: Metlakatla Hotel
Address: Third and Lower Milton St, Annette Island, Metlakatla, AK 99926-0670
Location: United States > Alaska > Metlakatla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Metlakatla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing