We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Comfort Inn Kodiak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Reviewed August 9, 2008

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Kodiak July, 2008 for 6 days. I travel quite often usually staying at various Marriott properties. The remodeled Comfort Inn was very nice and the manager, Kelly is very friendly and helpful. The location is great-I would not have wanted to stay in town at the Best Western but I did have a car. Kodiak is a beautiful place -everyone was so friendly. Try Mac's sporting goods for supplies, Kingfisher Aviation for a touring flight and Henrys at the marina for a great lunch or dinner. The Comfort Inn has a restaurant too which is nice!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Freshair96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2008

you can not get better management and better customer service that what i experience in comfort inn kodiak alaska . the people are so friendly and understanding. note that this is a fisherman town so if your looking at being at a five star hotel than think again . it is the staff that runs comfort inn which makes it a five star experience. the resturant is right in the hotel ...and do not get me on the great food that is cook there .. to die for

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bigd98116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

The best hotel I ever had the pleasure of staying in. The housekeepers are very friendly and if you have that little 'Do not disturb' sign out they leave a liitle bag with all the amenities for your room. The front desk staff are also very friendly. The restrauant is also excellent, and in my opinion the best on the island. All in all an excellent pick, and in you like the wild and such visiting the river behind the hotel is great, you may even meet the bear :).

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank The_Redwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

The Comfort Inn was wonderful. You would think it was a newly built hotel instead of remodeled. The rooms were very comfortable, great shower pressure in the shower, and the staff couldn't do enough for you! No hotel (there are only two) has AC, but the one-story building with big windows and a great fan, makes it very comfortable during a warm day. They stored our fish in their freezer. They also let us leave a bag there for 5 days while we traveled to the other side of the island to fish and watch bears, and accepted a delivery for us all before we checked in! They even had a loaner fishing pole for my husband to fish in the Buskin River behind the hotel. The food in the restaurant was wonderful (get the halibut) and the free continental breakfast was very good. You make your own waffles and then top them with fruit and whipped cream! Yummy! The restaurant has an all glass wall so you can enjoy the scenery outside. Smoking and pet rooms are strategically located at one end of the hotel. The lounge and restaurant are non-smoking which was wonderful for me with my allergy to smoke. It is located right beside the airport but you hear nothing when you are in your room, even with the windows open. When you are ready to go to the airport, they will gladly take you. Some people walk the short distance but if you have luggage, they are happy to take you.
You won't be disappointed by the accomodations, the food or the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hayjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

If you are expecting the Ritz you won't find it in Kodiak. With that said ,this was a nice lodge. The remodel appears extensive.
The room and the inn were very clean and the mattress was comfortable.
The staff and especially the manager were extremely friendly and helpfull. Try a local grown wine or local micro-brew in the lounge. The best meal of our trip was at the inns restraunt. The new chef is very good.
We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cjbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2005

We stayed at the Buskin River Inn in September for three nights. We were to have a no smoking room. The room was so smoky we had to open all the windows and finally had to move to another room. There is NO view. The river is hidden behind lots of brush. The front window face the parking lot. The picture on there add is very deceiving. We were so excited about staying there, what a let down. The complimentary breakfast was poor, we ended up going into town to eat. We had dinner there one night and it was worse. It is close to the airport but that is about all. The rooms were small and not too clean. I guess it is good for hunters or fishermen. Next time we will stay at the Best Western in town.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank janella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyHKodiak, Manager at Comfort Inn Kodiak, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2007

The Buskin River Inn was bought by the new owners 10/2005. After more than a million dollar renovation, the hotel put up the Comfort Inn flag, in May of 2006. The only thing that remains the same as the Buskin River Inn is the location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Aquele sem carpete
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodiak Island hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
4.7 mi away
Shelikof Lodge
Shelikof Lodge
#5 of 5 in Kodiak Island
31 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kodiak Russian River Lodge
Kodiak Russian River Lodge
#11 of 20 in Kodiak Island
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Kodiak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kodiak

Address: 1395 Airport Way, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Price Range: $119 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn Kodiak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kodiak Island
Kodiak Island Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing