We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Enough for my Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn Kodiak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Rescue, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Enough for my Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel is old and right next to the airport - you can walk across the rental car parking lot and you're at the hotel. We did not hear the airport, so there weren't issues there. The breakfast was good and quite unexpected. We thought bagels and coffee, but it was much more. Hot scrambled eggs with cheese, corned beef and hash, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Lots more than we thought. The staff was very friendly and took great care of us. We were only there for 2 nights, so we didn't need much. The only complaint we had was the walls were very thin. The people in the room next to us were very loud and we finally had to complain at 1:30 a.m. The noise subsided and we were fine. It was good enough for our short trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanaka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    13
    8
    0
See reviews for
7
15
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Recently had a business trip to Kodiak. Naturally, it was during a terrible snow storm. The hotel was excellent. They are upgrading all the rooms and mine was beautiful. The hotel is clean, no smells, very service minded staff and affordable. This hotel is right by the airport. It is about a 10 minute drive to the center of town, but beautifu sites along the way. The parking is excellent, not like the other hotel in town, where you park on the street. The second night I was there the owner of the resturant closed due to weather. The hotel staff went back into the kitchen and found me something good to eat. The next night it was again closed due to a terrible snow storm and they made arrangments to make a pizza for me in the bar. I will always staff at this hotel when in Kodiakl!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Decent, updated hotel rooms but they need to get new TVs, great breakfast in the mornings, much better than the Best Western in downtown Kodiak, great location right near the airport, good restaurant and bar located inside the hotel, the internet was actually really quick for Alaska, the rooms do have a mini-fridge and microwave, which is a really nice touch, overall a good choice for a hotel in Alaska

Room Tip: get a room on the backside of the hotel, so you don't hear all the cars parking in the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggity15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I am a repeat customer to the Comfort (Buskin) Inn. The Management & Staff are fantastic folk, down to earth, and wanting to make you feel at home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, which I have done on several occasions with co-workers. The rooms are large with both a refrigerator and microwave, and of course a TV.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, depending on the time of year (cool/Cold), it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak Island, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I had the displeasure of staying at this hotel in June 2011. We only stayed at this hotel because they accepted pets, however, they DO NOT ACCEPT CATS! I found it quite absurd that they accepted barking dogs but no cats. The walls were paper thin and when the people staying in the next room opened and closed their door, the walls would literally shake. There was a family with children staying above my first floor room and their child stomped across the floor non-stop the entire time. It was an awful experience. I would not suggest anyone ever staying at this hotel. The complimentary breakfast was ok, except for the expired refriderated products (yogurt, milk, etc). Overall this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at but I'm not sure that any of the other hotels on the islad are any better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights for work on Kodiak and though it seems to be an older hotel, I was very pleased with all aspects of my stay. Keeping in mind that it's Alaska AND it's an island, I found the rates to be what I'd expect, especially for summer. The room was clean and comfortable, had a mini fridge, nice sized bathroom, and a fan (which was helpful since the room got very warm by evening when I got back). The staff was friendly and helpful - I was able to get change for laundry and they threw in laundry soap for free. It's right across from the airport but I really didn't notice any noise from planes; it is about a 10-15 minute drive to town but it wasn't a big deal (there isn't enough traffic to even make this an issue). Also, the bed was very comfortable and the decor in the room was nice.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Kodiak for two days after leaving "Bear Camp" early due to illness. Although I felt horrible, the entire staff helped me feel better by taking care of my needs. Not only did they go to the store for me, they went out of thier way to make me a very nice lunch. I would highly recommend the Comfort Inn Kodiak. Please tell Kelly I said, "Hi". Rob Miller, Sherwood, Ohio.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kodiakbearcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Kodiak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kodiak

Property: Comfort Inn Kodiak
Address: 1395 Airport Way, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Kodiak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kodiak Island
Kodiak Island Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing